Product Reviews

42LA6230

42" (106cm) Full HD Smart 3D LED LCD TV
Overall rating:
3.964 / 5
4
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
28 reviews Rating breakdown
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
4
20 of 27(74%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for 42LA6230
Review 1 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 60LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rahmster
fromBrisbane QLD, Australia
Posted21 March 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:Yes
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
the tv I had to have
Posted21 March 2014
"I did my research and knew this was the tv I had to have. I figured to get the same desirableso from another set I would need to speNd twice as much and probably would still have lost out. Ironically it almost came to this as I almost left my run too late. Christmas and boxing day had come and gone and I was left in the pre Easter abyss. Fortunately my wife tracked a solitary unit some 30kms away. Chances were scarce and I paid top dollar but didn't hesitate. Once calibrated the picture quality blows you away -each and every time you use it. I think my wife now regrets her good deed but even she is slowly learning to love the beast too. My friendso think it is jaw dropping. Be warned though that out of the box it appears pedestrian. Once tweaked however I believe it is beyond compare. Would not trade it for anything else! Never thought I'd be saying this but -good job LG!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 50LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jason
fromAdelaide
Posted18 February 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Very Happy with the purchase
Posted18 February 2014
"Was a little nervous picking this unit up because of the negative posts on gaming response times...... I play COD and BF4 on a PS4 online and have no issues with input lag ......... picture is great and has all the extra's required ........"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byJason
Adelaide
on23 March 2014
I have Fifa as well and don't have any issues with it ........... have been watching the AFL recently and it all looks good
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byAshley
Perth
on11 March 2014
Hi, good to hear about the gaming issues with the TV as i am also looking to buy this TV
My only concern was with games like FIFA 14 and watching Sports, is there any lag with a game like Fifa if you play it?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 3 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jasassin
fromBrisbane
Posted1 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Great for gaming (and other stuff!)
Posted1 January 2014
"After reading the anti gaming review, I was a bit dubious, so I took my PS3 and my games to the shop to test it. It was fine in store, and at home, works beautifully with the games I've tried so far. (Sykylanders swap force: 720p, Mortal Kombat: 720p (in 3D) and Gran turismo 6: 1080p. No lag issues what so ever, and the true 3d is awesome! I haven't tried the split screen / dual play thing, as JB were out of the special glasses needed for this (which I didn't realise you need until I read the manual.) The only time I noticed an oddity, was in using the virtual remote through my iPhone and iPad (which is really cool BTW...) whereby the audio and picture went slightly out of sync. It was easily adjusted in settings and when I turned off the tv and started the next day, all was normal. Syncing to my Yamaha AMP's ARC function via HDMI took a bit of faffing, but if you get stuck, there's 2 steps on the TV once you set up the AMP... go to the simp link section in quick links and turn it on (Manual doesn't tell you this bit) then go to sound output and change it to the external speaker/ARC option. now the TV remote turns on the AMP and sends audio back through the HDMI to the amp. otherwise, everything is super easy to setup. I'm very happy."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJMiko
fromVIC
Posted30 December 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Fantasic for price
Posted30 December 2013
"compared the specs for this tv vs other tv's the quality and price isreally worth it!!
can't go wrong!!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jackson
fromMaryborough, QLD
Posted26 December 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
This product would be great to watch but gamers steer clear it's no good.
Posted26 December 2013
"I recently bought this television it was beautiful quality and the 3D was awesome.
BUT
when I attempted to play a game on my PS3 the response time was shocking could not play at all."
+2points
9of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
Posted byjasassin
Brisbane
on1 January 2014
Hey Jackson, I was worried when I read your review, but I tried with PS3 at store and bought it and find it it is amazingly quick and responsive. MK, Tekken, GT6 etc. When I first plugged the PS3 in, I reset the Display settings, (which were 30fps) to the suggested framerate (which is about 69 0r so fps - can't remember exactly) works great for me. The dude at the store said if you have more than a few meters of HDMI cable or a cheap cable or interference, you may get lag.
Hope this helps.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
Posted byMichael
Gold Coast
on29 December 2013
Not Sure what you were playing Jackson on your PS3.... considering no doubt your old TV most likely would have had a refresh rate at 50 Hz and the your LG Smart TV has a rate of 100 Hz. The game most likely would have had the same problem on the old TV more so. Maybe ask the Nice people at LG.. for assistance.
Maybe time to toss out the old School PS3 machine and upgrade to something modern such as a PS4...
I play games on a 50 Hz LCD TV using a Dual core PC and also a AMD 8 Core PC with no problems... Waiting to pick up my 42LA6230 3D TV ... LG looks awesome. All the Best
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 6 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 60LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jmc
fromMelbourne, VIC
Posted24 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Fantastic TV and Smart functions are excellent
Posted24 January 2014
"I can't praise this TV highly enough, it's fantastic. I can stream all my media to it from via DLNA. It relays DD5.1 through the SPDIF optical digital output to my amp. I can remote control via my iPhone. Easy to browse the web on it using a $25 Logitech wireless keyboard and mouse. Excellent youtube integration, I can pair the TV with my laptop and send the videos straight to the TV from the laptop. Very impressed."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Golf-n-cricket guy
fromMornington Peninsula, Vic
Posted5 December 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:Yes
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent TV and sound quality
Posted5 December 2013
"Screen size is very good for a medium size family room. Great picture quality. Slight window light reflection annoying initially but eyes used to it very quickly."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 55LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
appu
fromin earth
Posted18 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:No, I do not recommend this product.
internet streaming out of memory
Posted18 January 2014
"sucks out of memory msg when streaming online movies"
-3points
5of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 50LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris
fromWollongong
Posted16 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:Yes
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent picture quality, easy to set up
Posted16 January 2014
"Excellent picture quality, easy to set up and good value. Optional LG sound bar well worth the additional cost"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 55LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tikboy
fromSydney NSW
Posted9 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
definitely consider this
Posted9 January 2014
"if you are in for a 55" tv that has all the bells and whistles, definitely look at this. price is also very reasonable. easy to setup, i find myself watching more tv than usual because of this tv. would highly recommend this. also get the magic remote to get the full LG tv experience"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 55LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ricko
fromnsw
Posted4 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
love this tv
Posted4 January 2014
"great in all aspects for gaming, music plus more sound is great love love love it thanks lg :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 55LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Keillerwhale
fromAdelaide
Posted3 January 2014
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Great TV!!!
Posted3 January 2014
"This is a beauty, all the mods and a great price!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 50LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maggie
fromHobart TAS
Posted2 January 2014
Gender:Female
Promotional Emails:Yes
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Great TV
Posted2 January 2014
"Fantastic Picture Quality, 3D is just Awesome, Easy to set up, Set it up to your home theater system and its just Supurb"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ROZIE
frommelb VIC
Posted23 October 2013
Gender:Female
Promotional Emails:Yes
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
LOVE IT
Posted23 October 2013
"PERFECT. HAVEN'T HAD ANY TROUBLE WITH THIS MODEL. I don't even look at other brands, your products speak for them-self. One very happy loyal customer!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!"
+12points
14of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 60LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
esskay
fromquirindi
Posted27 November 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
very reliable
Posted27 November 2013
"very good tv' we purchased a 160 watt lg sound bar to go with it. very happy with that, watched Top Gun in 3d, sound was excellent. worth a thought"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jsmith17
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
Great tv!
Posted29 July 2013
"Seriously why is everyone having a whinge about the sound? It's fine! This is great tv I'm really happy I bought it :)"
+1point
9of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark
fromGeelong
Posted28 July 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:Yes, I recommend this product.
42LA6230 Awesome
Posted28 July 2013
"Fantastic Tv for the Price.
Sound isn't the best but who uses standard audio these days. Works seemingless with 7.2 surround sound. Picture Quality is fantastic and I can't say enough for the 3D. It's a fantastic tv in its price range. my previous tv was made by a company that makes consoles and lets just say the picture quality wasn't anywhere near as nice. Very Happy LG Customer."
+1point
8of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 32LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jeff
fromBrisbane
Posted5 September 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:No, I do not recommend this product.
What's happening
Posted5 September 2013
"My 2nd in on 2 an a half weeks.... Keeps turning off an on, might I add BRAND NEW. An this new keeps pausing on while trying to set up wifi connection. Might sell it on gumtree."
-22points
8of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byRizvan
Auckland
on27 November 2013
I have same problem happen to my TV AS Well. with my LG55LA6230
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 19 for 42LA6230
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Disappointed
fromCairns, QLD
Posted19 July 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:No, I do not recommend this product.
LG going backwards.
Posted19 July 2013
"A friend of mine just bought me this tv to replace
one he accidently broke. The broken one is only
last years model ( 42LM6410 ).
The new model seens like a cheep knock-off.
The picture quality doesn't seem as good especially from an angle.
The sound is much smaller and volume needs to be at a much higher number to be the same volume.
I don't have the magic remote and the standard one looks almost identical to my old one except for a couple of buttons changing place. Even though it looks the same it needs to be pointed straight at the tv where as old one worked brilliantly without needing to be pointed at the tv at all.
The program guide on this latest model is really annoying, it has a top and a bottom. It can't cycle through so when you flick to the guide you have to go up through the channels and then back down just to see all channels. This also happens in the other menu's too.
I'm not sure If this has anything to do with
quality but the new model is much, much lighter.
and last years is actually slimmer.
Overall this new model just feels cheap.
I never wrote a review for my old one But had I
would have given it 5 stars.
The fact that the new one cost more and doesn't
impress at all makes it seem like a real step backwards for LG quality.
I'm giving this one one star.
"
-2points
18of 38voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for 42LA6230
This review is for the 32LA6230.
Users gave these average ratings:
Rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mark
fromCentral Coast, NSW
Posted18 August 2013
Gender:Male
Promotional Emails:No
Would recommend:No, I do not recommend this product.
This product is not for me
Posted18 August 2013
"I didn't choose this product, it was provided to me by my insurer as a "new for old" replacement after a house fire.
The SMART button on the remote is too close to the UP button, which is very annoying, keep accidentally going back to main menu.
It would also benefit from remote keyboard access for ease and speed.
Sound quality is average, not great.
All in all, disappointed.
"
-9points
5of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Posted byDip Bhattacharya
Noble Park
on19 August 2013
Hi, Just buy a cheap 20 dollars wireless keyboard with mouse from Dicky or JB, plug the wireless cheap to the TV and you have your remote typing easy! The remote is definitely annoying. Also, I found it is missing some very important apps like Google Chrome.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>