LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT5070CW

4.7 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity High Efficiency Top Load Washer with WaveForce™
Overall rating:
4.632 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(639 reviews) 626
92%589 of 639customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
163 Questions | 276 Answers
Customer reviews for WT5070CW
Review 1 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anna, IL
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"I hate this machine"
PostedJanuary 15, 2015
I have had this washer for about 3 years. I initially loved it. There was a recall on the washer several months after we purchased it. We had it fixed. It has UE error's on every load. No matter the size of the load, it will have an error. It will wash the same load for hours if I don't stand over the machine and stop it. This machine is not efficient in that the machine will fill up multiple times in an attempt to balance itself. I have moved the clothes around and tried to balance them but soon after it starts spinning it will have an error again. I am now to the point where I stand over the machine when it finishes the rinse cycle and starts to spin. As soon as it stops and starts to refill with water, I just turn it off and put the clothes in the dryer. This is causing my dryer to have to run twice as long as well, but the washing machine will keep filling for hours if you don't stop it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Thomasville, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this Washing Machine!!!"
PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am very pleased with my LG washing machine. It balances loads, which is awesome!! It has so many features that I have yet to try them all yet. I love how quiet it is and the "Slow Closing Lid" feature!! Very nice addition. Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GOOD LOOKING,SEEMS WELL MADE GOOD VALUE"
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED THIS WASHER BECAUSE IT LOOKED WELL MADE AND AT THE TIME WAS ON SALE. WE ARE AN OLDER COUPLE AND AT FIRST THE CONTROLS SEEMED OVERWHELMING, THIS WAS FOUND TO BE UNTRUE AFTER USING IT A COUPLE OF TIMES,THE OPERATION IS QUIET,IT SAVES WATER,THE CLOTHES ARE CLEAN,AND WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND TO OTHER PEOPLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Westchester, NY
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Sleek and Efficient"
PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Washer is a good size and has a very modern look. It washes efficiently with little interaction.
The only potential downside is that the washer uses additional water to re-balance any bulky loads. For those that are on a water budget or well with water use limitations it could increase the water consumption based on how often you use it for very bulky items, as this machine does have a fairly large capacity.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Columbus, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love this washer"
PostedDecember 9, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer has some great features and has been very easy to learn to use. Most of all the large capacity is a big time saver. I was concerned about the washer becoming unbalanced but this has yet to happen even after many loads including king size bedding, pillows, etc. Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Miami, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Machine, well designed and works very good."
PostedDecember 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased 05/3013 and still working excellent, I experienced a fault due to the EEPROM (stands for Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory computer) overloading the cache with accumulated fault codes and causing the washer to quit operations on the rinse /spin cycle time (20-18 minutes before end ). Service Tech performed a factory reset to the motherboard and machine is working perfect, recommended use of less detergent and fabric softener HE approved, This is an excellent well made machine, I am very satisfied with it's performance and quality. Always purchase the best extended warranty for the just in case moments, they were quick and responsible, very professional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Terrible machine"
PostedDecember 1, 2014
I will state that this machine is very quiet. It does not shake and rattle my house even though it is situated in an upstairs laundry room. It is also pretty to look at. Other than those two characteristics it is awful.
First, you cannot take advantage of the large capacity because it always goes off balance. It takes a degree in rocket science to load it so it doesn't become off balance, so now my kids can't help with the laundry. I have tried 4 and 5 times to get some loads to balance and have read the directions multiple times. It is impossible to "correctly" load.
Secondly, sheets and towels become so twisted and contorted that they become damaged. I cannot mix sheets or towels with any clothing so I have to do MORE loads.
Also, I have found spots of detergent left on clothing and simple drool marks left on sheets. If it cannot remove drool, then what is it able to clean?
Finally, it also has significant water left in the detergent drawer and bleach compartment that create a musty, moldy smell in my entire laundry room. I have to manually dry the compartments out after each load.
Additionally, since there is no delicate or small load you cannot wash just one item.
My last machine was the cheapest, lowest end machine offered and worked like a horse. This was supposed to be an upgrade. I would love to have that old machine back!!!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT5070CW
This review is fromWT5070CV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Joppa, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"A big waste of money"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
This machine twists everything up in a knot.You cant wash a single item without a full load cycle.Everything has to be ironed, and the clothes are not clean because they are twisted into a pretzel.i would never buy this again.I would take it back if i could and get my money back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Circleville, OH 43113, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product exceeded our expectations!"
PostedNovember 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We purchased this product to replace our 7 year old whirlpool washer. This is our 1st Lg appliance product and we have been more than happy with it so far.This washer has so many features we like including the "no slam" lid! It handles large loads of laundry with no problem. And does a excellent job of washing our clothes and has saved us so many $$ on laundry detergent in the past 5 months we have owned it. We would highly recommend this washer to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This washer can handle large loads easily"
PostedNovember 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Quality of workmanship seems excellent, no problems so far, self leveling was easy. Machine will warn user when a larger load is loaded unevenly, machine stops the cycle and display shows a code the letters UE ( uneven load ). Quiet, efficient, very easy to use. Plenty of settings. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Indiana, USA
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Fleece - the worst thing for this machine"
PostedNovember 17, 2014
I share the exact same sentiments as previous reviewers relative to uneven loads. Fleece is the worst thing for this machine. We have four dog blankets made of fleece, bathrobes and sweaters made of fleece...this machine will NOT complete a wash cycle with ANY item of fleece in the load. Uneven load for hours on end, two years later my husband and I have had enough. Every weekend, we have to go through torture trying to SPIN ONLY an uneven load. It doesn't spin ONLY. It rinses and spins on the SPIN ONLY cycle. LG, I'll take my consumer spend to another brand never to buys yours again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Portage, IN
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So many options available."
PostedNovember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
The washer overwhelms you at first with all the buttons and available options. However, all those options turn out to be great features and the machine is very user friendly. You can wash the smallest to the largest load with equally great results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Glendora, CA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this washer"
PostedNovember 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love this washer. Having only purchased two new washers in 30+ years, I was concerned with being disappointed in quality, build, etc. The only issue I have is the locking lid. I understand why, but I do find it inconvenient when I find that dropped sock or missed towel and I cannot simply open the lid and pop it in. My clothes come out beautifully clean. The tub handled a large load of 2 large bath rugs, 2 plush bath sheets and assorted other cleaning and hand towels. I am very happy with this washer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tennessee, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Worst Washer Ever!"
PostedOctober 28, 2014
I have had this washing machine for 2 years and it is the worst ever! Since I bought it, the machine unbalances itself even when items of like weight are in the machine and it uses gallons of water (and lots of time) to rebalance or it will not spin. My husband is tired of my frustration every time that I do a load of wash. LG sent someone out to put in a new mother board but now it will not spin enough to remove all the water. This causes more time in the dryer. UGH! I am giving up and selling this washer and getting a new one( It will not be LG!)
+7points
7out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Georgia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"I HATE this washer!"
PostedOctober 23, 2014
Pros: Style/Design
I have had this washer for 2 months now and keep hoping that I will start to like it, but not yet.
Whenever I do a load of black clothes they come out with white spots, almost like the soap didn't get absorbed. With so little water the clothes do not seem to be clean. I also do not like the fact that the lid locks and you can't open it to add that stray sock that you find on the floor.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Las Vegas
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Love LG but this Washer is Junk"
PostedOctober 21, 2014
I never write reviews, so it takes a lot to get me to do this. I have many rental properties, so I buy a lot of appliances and generally I like LG. When it came time to buy a washer and dryer for my own house, I bought this washer, after a lot of research and I thought, based on a good track record for LG appliances. What a mistake! Junk from day one. I bought it from Lowes and had it installed, but from day one it was very finicky with the self balancing system and I would have to be very careful to load the machine to make sure that everything was evenly balanced before starting the wash cycle. This is way more effort than my old machine and frankly a pain in the neck but I liked the fact that this LG washer was nice and big and quiet. Now, almost exactly two years to the day that I bought the washing machine it has quit working. Obviously the self balancing system has finally given up the ghost. Save yourself time, aggravation and money and look elsewhere for another washing machine. This one is not going to be a reliable investment.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product does a great job at cleaning"
PostedOctober 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
this washer is the best washer I have had in many years. the washing action gets my things very clean
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"MY WIFE IS VERY HAPPY"
PostedOctober 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I needed to replace a conventional top loader and had read about consumers not accepting HE washers ability to thoroughly clean without fully submersing the dirty clothes. They were wrong. This LG is the best washer ever. Not only am I saving money on water usage but am also saving on electricity when drying the clothes. The direct drive spin practically dries the clothes before being placed in the washer. Our old washer sometimes required extra spins and still did not get close to the performance of our LG washer. My wife is very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Florida, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedOctober 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer is fantastic. The large tub is great for bedding, and with so many settings, it accommodates all types and sizes of laundry. I particularly like the soak cycle - clothes come out clean as a whistle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT5070CW
This review is fromWT5070CV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mustang, OK, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"so far does everything I wanted."
PostedNovember 26, 2014
Pros: easy to use
It has been great to use, very quiet and so far my clothes are coming out very clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 Next>>