LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT5070CW

4.7 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity High Efficiency Top Load Washer with WaveForce™
Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(648 reviews) 634
92%593 of 648customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
165 Questions | 279 Answers
Customer reviews for WT5070CW
Review 1 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chatsworth, IL 60921, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"No problems at all"
PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pros: easy to use
My wife and I have 7 children we do lots of laundry this load capacity has reduced time tremendously. Never had a problem with this device. We use the correct amount of HE soap and let the machine do its job. It has corrected its own balance without any disruption/interference from us. Read the manual and let it do what it was designed to do.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Alaska
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Don't purchase."
PostedFebruary 27, 2015
This machine has to be balanced most of the time by hand, time consuming to do a load. The washer might look good but dont let appearances fool you, nor all the positive reviews. Its not worth the extra time you'll have to put in if you buy this washer. If you want to spin only it'll rinse again then spin. Waste of time to wash clothes.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, IA, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Worst washer I ever owned"
PostedFebruary 21, 2015
Pros: no good washer
This new technology of no agitator is all wrong. My towels and sheets form an air bubble in the middle of the washer. There is not enough water to clean the clothes. They come out with deodorant marks still on them so you know the rest of it isn't clean. Doesn't rinse out soap well. Have to use 2 rinses. Gets off balance easy. Doesn't handle blankets well either. I've had it a year. Donating it to charity and buying a front loader of another brand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Atlanta, GA, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"you decide"
PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
Owned this machine 2 years and 7 months. Bought new in 2012 for the current list price. Good features but constantly out of balance. At times, had to stop the wash cycle to avoid damage to adjacent paired LG dryer which still works fine.
No longer have to worry about the unbalanced issue - washer went dead this week. LG's technician just quoted more than the list price to fix it. Oops - didn't buy the extended warranty
This machine will be picked up and recycled when the new washer we bought today is delivered
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bonners Ferry, ID 83805, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This washer makes washing clothes fast and easy."
PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
My old Maytag died and I had a Home Depot gift card. I bought this washer and it is amazing. What used to be a dreary chore is now something I look forward to. The clothes come out clean and smelling wonderful. I have washed sheets, blankets and rugs in it and it has never been unbalanced. I actually look for enough clothes to do a load. I absolutely love it. Error has never showed up on the screen.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Calgary, AB, Canada
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Constantly unbalanced"
PostedJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, not recommended
This machine looks good and has lots of features, but after a few months we've found it to be a poor performer. All the reviewers who like it had written after their initial few months. Let's see them write after the first year. It is constantly unbalanced, it keeps repeating its wash cycle after every spin, and consequently takes double (triple# the amount of water. Sometimes takes 2-3 times the amount of time to do a load also. You need to stand over the machine and shut it off as soon as it starts to refill after the spin stops. After reading countless reviews with the same complaint, it's obvious that this is a known problem with LG. Too bad; it looked like a nice washer #in the store). Definitely NOT recommended.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anna, IL
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"I hate this machine"
PostedJanuary 15, 2015
I have had this washer for about 3 years. I initially loved it. There was a recall on the washer several months after we purchased it. We had it fixed. It has UE error's on every load. No matter the size of the load, it will have an error. It will wash the same load for hours if I don't stand over the machine and stop it. This machine is not efficient in that the machine will fill up multiple times in an attempt to balance itself. I have moved the clothes around and tried to balance them but soon after it starts spinning it will have an error again. I am now to the point where I stand over the machine when it finishes the rinse cycle and starts to spin. As soon as it stops and starts to refill with water, I just turn it off and put the clothes in the dryer. This is causing my dryer to have to run twice as long as well, but the washing machine will keep filling for hours if you don't stop it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Thomasville, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this Washing Machine!!!"
PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am very pleased with my LG washing machine. It balances loads, which is awesome!! It has so many features that I have yet to try them all yet. I love how quiet it is and the "Slow Closing Lid" feature!! Very nice addition. Very pleased with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GOOD LOOKING,SEEMS WELL MADE GOOD VALUE"
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
MY WIFE AND I PURCHASED THIS WASHER BECAUSE IT LOOKED WELL MADE AND AT THE TIME WAS ON SALE. WE ARE AN OLDER COUPLE AND AT FIRST THE CONTROLS SEEMED OVERWHELMING, THIS WAS FOUND TO BE UNTRUE AFTER USING IT A COUPLE OF TIMES,THE OPERATION IS QUIET,IT SAVES WATER,THE CLOTHES ARE CLEAN,AND WE ARE VERY HAPPY WITH IT AND WOULD RECOMMEND TO OTHER PEOPLE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT5070CW
This review is fromWT5070CV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this new type of top load washing machine"
PostedFebruary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This new 'waveforce' washing machine works great and is EXTREMELY quiet. I work from home and right next to the washer/dryer area, and you can't hear a thing. No longer do your clothes and undergarments need to get wrapped up in the old agitator style washing machine which makes them show wear and tear before their time. Now the only wash action the clothes receive is the 'wave action' caused by the short bursts of stopping and starting which creates a 'wave force' that gets all of your clothes clean. I must admit, when I first got this home I thought I probably had made a mistake, but after using this for the past 4 months....I LOVE IT. It still removes all of the stains from clothes, and runs whisper quiet all the while using 1/2 as much water to do this job. Time to move into the 21st century...try this style washing machine and you won't be sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT5070CW
This review is fromWT5070CV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois, USA
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"WORST MACHINE EVER"
PostedFebruary 5, 2015
Pros: very bad performance
I have had this machine for about 21/2 years now & I wish I can return it. Consistently goes off balance. I feel I am tied to my machine the days I do wash, I am always rebalancing clothes so that it doesn't refill with water. What a waste of money & water this machine is. Also not good to do very small loads, you have no control over water level.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Westchester, NY
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Sleek and Efficient"
PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Washer is a good size and has a very modern look. It washes efficiently with little interaction.
The only potential downside is that the washer uses additional water to re-balance any bulky loads. For those that are on a water budget or well with water use limitations it could increase the water consumption based on how often you use it for very bulky items, as this machine does have a fairly large capacity.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Columbus, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love this washer"
PostedDecember 9, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer has some great features and has been very easy to learn to use. Most of all the large capacity is a big time saver. I was concerned about the washer becoming unbalanced but this has yet to happen even after many loads including king size bedding, pillows, etc. Highly recommend
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Miami, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Machine, well designed and works very good."
PostedDecember 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased 05/3013 and still working excellent, I experienced a fault due to the EEPROM (stands for Electrically Erasable Programmable Read-Only Memory computer) overloading the cache with accumulated fault codes and causing the washer to quit operations on the rinse /spin cycle time (20-18 minutes before end ). Service Tech performed a factory reset to the motherboard and machine is working perfect, recommended use of less detergent and fabric softener HE approved, This is an excellent well made machine, I am very satisfied with it's performance and quality. Always purchase the best extended warranty for the just in case moments, they were quick and responsible, very professional.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Terrible machine"
PostedDecember 1, 2014
I will state that this machine is very quiet. It does not shake and rattle my house even though it is situated in an upstairs laundry room. It is also pretty to look at. Other than those two characteristics it is awful.
First, you cannot take advantage of the large capacity because it always goes off balance. It takes a degree in rocket science to load it so it doesn't become off balance, so now my kids can't help with the laundry. I have tried 4 and 5 times to get some loads to balance and have read the directions multiple times. It is impossible to "correctly" load.
Secondly, sheets and towels become so twisted and contorted that they become damaged. I cannot mix sheets or towels with any clothing so I have to do MORE loads.
Also, I have found spots of detergent left on clothing and simple drool marks left on sheets. If it cannot remove drool, then what is it able to clean?
Finally, it also has significant water left in the detergent drawer and bleach compartment that create a musty, moldy smell in my entire laundry room. I have to manually dry the compartments out after each load.
Additionally, since there is no delicate or small load you cannot wash just one item.
My last machine was the cheapest, lowest end machine offered and worked like a horse. This was supposed to be an upgrade. I would love to have that old machine back!!!
+2points
4out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT5070CW
This review is fromWT5070CV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Joppa, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"A big waste of money"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
This machine twists everything up in a knot.You cant wash a single item without a full load cycle.Everything has to be ironed, and the clothes are not clean because they are twisted into a pretzel.i would never buy this again.I would take it back if i could and get my money back.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Circleville, OH 43113, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product exceeded our expectations!"
PostedNovember 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We purchased this product to replace our 7 year old whirlpool washer. This is our 1st Lg appliance product and we have been more than happy with it so far.This washer has so many features we like including the "no slam" lid! It handles large loads of laundry with no problem. And does a excellent job of washing our clothes and has saved us so many $$ on laundry detergent in the past 5 months we have owned it. We would highly recommend this washer to anyone.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Plymouth Meeting, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This washer can handle large loads easily"
PostedNovember 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Quality of workmanship seems excellent, no problems so far, self leveling was easy. Machine will warn user when a larger load is loaded unevenly, machine stops the cycle and display shows a code the letters UE ( uneven load ). Quiet, efficient, very easy to use. Plenty of settings. Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Indiana, USA
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Fleece - the worst thing for this machine"
PostedNovember 17, 2014
I share the exact same sentiments as previous reviewers relative to uneven loads. Fleece is the worst thing for this machine. We have four dog blankets made of fleece, bathrobes and sweaters made of fleece...this machine will NOT complete a wash cycle with ANY item of fleece in the load. Uneven load for hours on end, two years later my husband and I have had enough. Every weekend, we have to go through torture trying to SPIN ONLY an uneven load. It doesn't spin ONLY. It rinses and spins on the SPIN ONLY cycle. LG, I'll take my consumer spend to another brand never to buys yours again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Portage, IN
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So many options available."
PostedNovember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
The washer overwhelms you at first with all the buttons and available options. However, all those options turn out to be great features and the machine is very user friendly. You can wash the smallest to the largest load with equally great results.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 32 Next>>