LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT5070CW

4.7 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity High Efficiency Top Load Washer with WaveForce™
Overall rating:
4.602 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(864 reviews) 852
92%793 of 864customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
160 Questions | 272 Answers
Customer reviews for WT5070CW
Review 1 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Georgia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"I HATE this washer!"
PostedOctober 23, 2014
Pros: Style/Design
I have had this washer for 2 months now and keep hoping that I will start to like it, but not yet.
Whenever I do a load of black clothes they come out with white spots, almost like the soap didn't get absorbed. With so little water the clothes do not seem to be clean. I also do not like the fact that the lid locks and you can't open it to add that stray sock that you find on the floor.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT5070CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Las Vegas
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Love LG but this Washer is Junk"
PostedOctober 21, 2014
I never write reviews, so it takes a lot to get me to do this. I have many rental properties, so I buy a lot of appliances and generally I like LG. When it came time to buy a washer and dryer for my own house, I bought this washer, after a lot of research and I thought, based on a good track record for LG appliances. What a mistake! Junk from day one. I bought it from Lowes and had it installed, but from day one it was very finicky with the self balancing system and I would have to be very careful to load the machine to make sure that everything was evenly balanced before starting the wash cycle. This is way more effort than my old machine and frankly a pain in the neck but I liked the fact that this LG washer was nice and big and quiet. Now, almost exactly two years to the day that I bought the washing machine it has quit working. Obviously the self balancing system has finally given up the ghost. Save yourself time, aggravation and money and look elsewhere for another washing machine. This one is not going to be a reliable investment.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product does a great job at cleaning"
PostedOctober 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
this washer is the best washer I have had in many years. the washing action gets my things very clean
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia Beach, VA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"MY WIFE IS VERY HAPPY"
PostedOctober 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I needed to replace a conventional top loader and had read about consumers not accepting HE washers ability to thoroughly clean without fully submersing the dirty clothes. They were wrong. This LG is the best washer ever. Not only am I saving money on water usage but am also saving on electricity when drying the clothes. The direct drive spin practically dries the clothes before being placed in the washer. Our old washer sometimes required extra spins and still did not get close to the performance of our LG washer. My wife is very happy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Florida, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedOctober 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer is fantastic. The large tub is great for bedding, and with so many settings, it accommodates all types and sizes of laundry. I particularly like the soak cycle - clothes come out clean as a whistle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A great value"
PostedOctober 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, a great washer
I bought my washer six weeks ago. I would give it an excellent rating in every category but I don't have the information regarding long-term usage. If the washer is performing at the levels it is doing as a new washer in five years I will submit another review. I have read other reviews regarding this product and I would like to address the complaints concerning the washer's ability to get the clothes clean. The washer has all the features necessary to get clothes clean but there is very little that can be done about the condition of the water. Hard water is detrimental and it leaves a residue that causes odors and makes the soap stick to the clothes. The other complaint was the mushroom effect that happens after the spin cycle. One of the excellent features of this washer is that it attempts to redistribute the clothes before it begins a cycle. Unfortunately if there is a heavy load it can't do it alone. It's important to place the clothes as much as possible away from the center of the drum. Also, it is important not to use too much soap in the HE models. If hard water is used it's tempting but it will only cause long-term problems with the washer. If possible get a water conditioner if you are going to buy a HE washer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Waxahachie, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer - after initial kinks"
PostedOctober 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I did a lot of research before purchasing this washer, including talking with a few different appliance sales venues, as well as Consumer Reports. It works well and is very efficient - overall, I've been happy.
However, my friend purchased the same washer about 2 months prior to me, and upon arrival off the truck, her drum was cracked. She had to wait for the washer to be replaced.
When I recieved my washer, I watched it be taken out of the box in my driveway and unloaded/installed in my laundry room. On the 2nd load of laundry I did, the washer locked up, suspended the cycle, and the display froze. I finally unplugged the washer to see if it would reset, and it would no longer turn on. The self-diagnostic feature will only work if the washer will turn on, so I was unable to use that. The washer also never unlocked itself, so I couldn't get my laundry out. I had to wait for another washer to be delivered, so a load of 2 sets of sheets with soapy water had to sit in my washer for 3 days until a new one could be delivered. The delivery man had to use a screwdriver to bust the lock in order for me to get my wet sheets out. He said it was the 3rd washer he'd had to do that on. I did notice that the self-closing lid slammed more than the display model in the store, and the spin cycle was louder than I anticipated. When my 2nd brand new washer was installed, it has worked great. Lid doesn't slam (a big selling point for me with little ones that like to help), and spin cylce is very quiet, and more efficient than the first washer that was delivered.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Des Moines, IA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Wife says it's the tops"
PostedOctober 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Wife likes everything about this washing machine & is very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This Washer has been great!"
PostedOctober 7, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings, Quality
We have enjoyed this washer. It is does a great job on cleaning, adjusted to use only the water needed, and has a variety of settings for quickwash and soak when needed.
A round of vinegar through the bleach funnel on a tub wash cycle helps address the issues that arise with the buildup that seems to be typical with HE washers.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Germantown, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this washer!"
PostedOctober 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer holds a ton of clothes and is so super smart!! I am pretty sure I have used all the features by now. It is very quiet and it gets everything clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT5070CW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Cleans well"
PostedSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
I like this washer's big tub capacity and it spins a lot of the water out of the clothes prior to drying, however I do not like that it doesn't put much water in for the wash cycle even when I push the add extra water button. Barely enough to wet the clothes and it doesn't seem to agitate well when there's not enough water in it; therefore the clothes do not get as clean as I would like.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Don't listen to any bad reviews!"
PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I put off getting a much needed new washer because of all the negative reviews of any of the current products out there. I subscribed to Consumer Reports, read 100's of reviews, and finally chose the LG Wave Force. I am incredibly happy with it! There are so many ways to get just the wash you want from delicates, to comforters, to 9 beach towels in a load. The machine calculates so that plenty of water is used. And the spin cycle takes a lot of water out of the load so that drying time is less. I have had the washer/dryer about 3 months now and certainly made the right decision!
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT5070CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mililani, HI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Can't be used to do all household laundry"
PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use
This machine can't be used to wash water-repellent mattress pads nor bath mats. It's hard to believe a manufacturer would expect anyone who has just purchased a brand new washer to have to go to a laundromat on a regular basis. Had I known, I wouldn't have even considered buying this machine.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Carmichael, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Took a while to get use to"
PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Features/Settings
We needed a computer board replacement because on the spin cycle would not quit on its own
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT5070CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New York
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Think carefully about this!"
PostedSeptember 18, 2014
This washer replaced a previous LG that after a recall "fix" went haywire on me. I fought for months for them to get it out of my home. They swapped machines last December. This machine is not for well water because when the machine goes off balance it will fill again to try to self correct and continue to do so. The old one did it for over two hours. How is this efficient? Even for city water it is a huge waste. So I babysit this machine and have to watch every spin beginning to catch it and stop it if it goes off balance. There is no rhyme or reason how much water this machine will use. I can do a light load and it fills to the top. I can put in a large load of towels and it only fills about eight inches worth of water. And I have watched a load wash in that little amount of water and you can't tell me those clothes are clean. I've seen more buoyant items go into spin that weren't even pulled under into the water. That is because I watch the machine. Try it a few times. At least I can add more water but I have to be there to do it. So I've had my children and they are grown and I am not going to babysit a washer. The machine is going come Veteran's Day when I can catch a good sale of another brand. It will probably be a front loader also with a delicate cycle which this machine does not have.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Roseville, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love the control panel"
PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
The overall appearance of the washer is a look of quality. It is very quiet. My clothes dry so much faster than before because the spin cycle does such a good job. I really enjoy using the washer. The only feature that I am not 100% pleased with is the pull out detergent holder. It is inconvenient to have to remove the liquid detergent tray in order to use the powder detergent tray. And the pullout tray doesn't dry out well between loads. That leaves potential for mold. Other than that, I like the washer a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT5070CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Missouri, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is the quietest washer"
PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
We've had this washer for a couple of months, and it does really large loads of laundry and is really quiet while doing it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Antonio, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This washer has great features"
PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The LG washer has great features with many different options. The washer's technology is excellent and it capacity is more than I had expected.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisiana
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product"
PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
Have owned for three months now and it does a great job love all the setting features available with smart technology
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT5070CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cleveland, GA 30528, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product has many great features"
PostedAugust 29, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have truly enjoyed my LG washer. I can tell such a difference in our clothes now that we have a quality washer. It has many great features I never imagined. I highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next>>