LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT5170HW

4.7 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity High Efficiency Top Load Washer with WaveForce™
Overall rating:
4.659 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(325 reviews) 317
93%302 of 325customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
35 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for WT5170HW
Review 1 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Delta, OH 43515, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is high quality and well worth it."
PostedNovember 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love this washer!! The features are very nice. Everything is high quality. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT5170HW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisiana, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"LG made me hate laundry more than before"
PostedNovember 18, 2014
Pros: nothing but problems
If you want a true unbiased review, look on Amazon. The reviews for this washer are way different than the LG website. When I bought over a year ago, there weren't many reviews of this machine out there. It gets off balance a minimum of 5 times per load. It doesn't seem to matter what I am washing or what settings I use. I despise laundry because I can't leave the kitchen. It seems to do a decent job washing the clothes once it actually finishes a cycle but washing one load now takes twice as long. I do however love the matching gas dryer. It is very hot. About half the time I have to give up spinning in the washer because I have to re-balance every 2 minutes and dry the dripping wet clothes an extra long time. I'm sure that's why my gas bill now so high:)
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Salisbury,NC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Everything great in a wash machine!"
PostedOctober 5, 2014
Pros: Performance
Nice and quiet and it NEVER gets off balance! It does get clothes clean!!! Some may say it don't have enought water. But this machine knows what it is doing. I love my LG wash machine so much I went back and bought the matching gas dryer with stream! A great investment. This tub is so big I can never fill it up. With the old washers even the biggest tub was to small. Big bedspreads for a king size bed, fits just fine with room to spare. It's worth every penny!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Antonio, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is great!"
PostedNovember 10, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I'm very pleased with my new LG washer and dryer.
The washer runs very quietly, leaving our clothes
clean and fresh smelling, and the dryer leaves our clothes wrinkle free, especially when we use the "steam fresh"
button.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pleasant Plains, IL 62677, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"quite and efficient, worth every penny"
PostedNovember 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Its so nice to be able to do such a large load of clothes. Also very quiet, and it gets the clothes nice and clean. And believe me with 3 and 6 year old boys we put it to the test!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Fabulous features tumble and spin out the best!"
PostedNovember 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, audible sounds
I love the visible choices displayed for each load.
I so prefer the stainless steel drum and no agitator to prevent any clothing damage.
The load sensor keeps me honest.
The music @ the end of the load is pleasant.
I can see my choices well with the lighting on the control board,
The load paused when I had an uneven load and saved me a probable repair.
The extra option buttons are nice to have for special load occasions.
I love the graphite lid on my white washer - looks so pretty and makes washing clothes fun!
I am fortunate to have found and purchased a luxury appliance @ a reasonable price!
Luke, my salesperson, taught me all about the washer and answered (in detail) every question that I had before my purchase. When my new washer arrived I was prepped and ready to go to use my washer @ home.
Happy with my choice - thank you!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mount Vernon, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very efficient. A real step up."
PostedOctober 14, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
This machine is much more efficient than what we used in the past. Larger loads, less water, cleaner laundry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Maryville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love washer, glad i replaced"
PostedAugust 9, 2014
Pros: fun to use
the washer is so superior to previous one, which was a top end appliance, in that it has so many options that are actually usable. i would buy again with no hesitation. and i was leary when there was no middle agitator but it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT5170HW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Calgary, AB, Canada
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"problems"
PostedJune 10, 2014
Better make sure you read the manual thoroughly before use. This machine does not use enough water during a cycle! They design washers they claim are good for the environment because they use less water. However, in the manual they suggest selecting up to two extra rinse cycles if your clothes has too much soap build up! AND they suggest selecting extra water as well. I have definitely ran into the problem of my clothes starting to smell a little musty, due to soap build up. Even when using very little liquid detergent. Make sure you clean the tub monthly by selecting the clean Tub button. AND use extra rinse AND extra water. With all the extra water, AND the extra long time a cycle takes....not so efficient i'd say. Oh how I miss the old washing machines. I would NOT recommend this washing machine.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Omaha, NE, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"One of a kind"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We have had this washing machine for a little over two months now. We've had several washing machines in our lives and not one of them compare with this one.
This washing machine is so quiet that I have to walk down the stairs and physically look at it to see if the load is done. Our clothes come out so fresh and clean and we can hardly believe how little detergent and water we use. I believe this washing machine will pay for itself in no time at all with the money we save on detergent and water. This is the first LG appliance that we have had and from now on I will replace all of our appliances with LG.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Colorado
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Yes, this washer is THAT good!"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After researching different washers in January, we decided this machine was the one for us! We are extremely pleased with the cleaning as well as the capacity. I believe I have washed a dozen pairs of jeans and khaki pants in one washing! ( I can't wait to get the matching dryer!) our clothing is softer and dare I say fluffier!! Even the lint in the dryer lint screen is fluffy!!
Several reviewers complained about the washer--out of balance or wrinkles. You MUST read the manual thoroughly before using!! Pretend there is an agitator in the center when loading. As you load the clothes, think of balancing the weight. Place heavier items of the load in the bottom. Fold pants and jeans and such to help prevent tangling. In three months, I have had only two loads go out of balance. It just takes a little time ... don't dump and run.
Regarding the wrinkling issue some reviews complained about.... You do have the ability to alter the preset wash settings! For clothing I use a medium spin and when I move the items from washer to dryer, I give the item a shake before it goes in the dryer. Those two steps eliminate wrinkling!
Yes, I highly recommend this washer! It can handle your laundry needs and treat your clothing with care. Read your manual and follow the instructions and you will be happy with your washer, too!
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT5170HW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Valencia, Santa Clarita, CA 91355, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good"
PostedMarch 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I'm writing this because I agonized over buying this washing machine. I read every review and while most were positive, I had trouble with the few negative reviews that were extremely negative. I got the impression, you either love it or hate it.
Areas of concern were:
- Out of balance spin cycles
- Water levels not correct
- Clothes not cleaned.
- Takes too long
- No waterproof items
I had it for two weeks now and nothing is out of balance so far. The water levels seem to work perfectly. My clothes are clean, but it does take a while. It's about an hour to an hour and a quarter per load. Since I knew it took extra time, there was no shock for me. I actually prefer the washer to take longer than the dryer. It means the clothes are already folded before I put in the next load.
My guess is there are a few lemons out there, or people are just angry because that is who they are. I have not tried anything that is waterproof. If I do, I will turn off the spin cycle and let the dryer work a little more. I also noticed that many of the negative reviews were for different washers. Maybe angry users are just bashing all of the machines. I don't really know. I do know that this seems like a great washing machine so far.
The washer holds a ton of laundry and is quiet. The only time I hear it is when the spin is starting up and slowing down. It makes a few minor noises as it sloshes the clothes around, but I only hear that if I'm in the same room.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Scottsdale, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has everything you need."
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love how easy it is to use. The features and settings are perfect for any use. It is a little louder than expected. It is on the more expensive side but it is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Holland,MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Happy Customer!!!"
PostedApril 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased the Washer and Dryer together and have loved the decision since. It takes me nearly half the amount of time to do laundry and my clothes come out very clean. I was hesitant about having no agitator in the washer and realized shortly after my first wash that these were very efficient at getting the job done. I think he bad reviews on this page are silly most complaints that I have read looks like they did not read the directions on the correct settings for their loads. This washer spins fast enough to virtually dry the clothes so much that dryer times are half as long. Great product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Toronto
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Very Poor Machine"
PostedMarch 28, 2014
Pros: Performance
I am sorry to say that this machine is very poor. We have had it now for 2 months, and have tried multiple wash loads of various sizes and fabrics and various settings. Unfortunately, it seems EVERY time, we do not have a full 3/4 + tank of very common clothes, it alarms UE on EVERY spin cycle. The spin cycle seems to be over sensitive no matter what you are trying to wash- i.e. towels, kids load, delicate, blanket, etc. I bought it because of the large capacity, with the option to be able to wash blankets, however, any other wash load, it does not like. As well, I do not find that it gets the clothes as clean as a front load or other style machines.
I am sure, LG will need to fix this issue in the software and change the sensitivity of the spin cycle- when they do, it will be a nice washer I am sure, but right now, I would be cautious of purchasing.
+6points
7out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to use - efficient"
PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought the washer/dryer combo last Novemberand I absolutely love it. This is the best present I ever game myself. This machine has cut down my ironing by 90%. It is easy to use, quiet, saves water. I highly recommend it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Lexington, KY
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedMarch 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings
I have just had mine for two months but I absolutely love it already! So quiet, and the load capacity is awesome.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pasadena, MD
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Can't tell is working...so quite!!"
PostedMarch 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
Purchased 2 previous top load machines with similar features and didn't like either of them.... so retuned both. When the last be returned the delivery man suggested that I look into LG units. So I found an open box discounted unit and so I purchased this one. Love the way it works...have not had any mechanical problems with unit nor the way it cleans. If you read the instructions on washing ..the unit does a great job...now off to get the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Lexington, SC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome washer!"
PostedMarch 1, 2014
Pros: Quality
We love our new washer! It has taken a little time to get used to the settings, but we shopped around a long time and are very pleased with our purchase. The capacity is unbelievable and our clothes are clean and stay new looking- even sweaters! Strongly suggest you try this washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Murfreesboro, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer"
PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I have owned this washer since early November 2013. Love the machine. Just took a long time to get to me. Luckily I was not in a hurry as we ordered in plenty of time for it to arrive at my new house when completed. Did not happen. Just beware and order in plenty of time to make sure you have it when you need it. Otherwise I am extremely pleased with the machine.
Love the way it looks and works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next>>