LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT5170HW

4.7 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity High Efficiency Top Load Washer with WaveForce™
Overall rating:
4.663 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(318 reviews) 310
93%296 of 318customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
32 Questions | 62 Answers
Customer reviews for WT5170HW
Review 1 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Maryville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love washer, glad i replaced"
PostedAugust 9, 2014
Pros: fun to use
the washer is so superior to previous one, which was a top end appliance, in that it has so many options that are actually usable. i would buy again with no hesitation. and i was leary when there was no middle agitator but it works great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT5170HW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Calgary, AB, Canada
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"problems"
PostedJune 10, 2014
Better make sure you read the manual thoroughly before use. This machine does not use enough water during a cycle! They design washers they claim are good for the environment because they use less water. However, in the manual they suggest selecting up to two extra rinse cycles if your clothes has too much soap build up! AND they suggest selecting extra water as well. I have definitely ran into the problem of my clothes starting to smell a little musty, due to soap build up. Even when using very little liquid detergent. Make sure you clean the tub monthly by selecting the clean Tub button. AND use extra rinse AND extra water. With all the extra water, AND the extra long time a cycle takes....not so efficient i'd say. Oh how I miss the old washing machines. I would NOT recommend this washing machine.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Omaha, NE, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"One of a kind"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We have had this washing machine for a little over two months now. We've had several washing machines in our lives and not one of them compare with this one.
This washing machine is so quiet that I have to walk down the stairs and physically look at it to see if the load is done. Our clothes come out so fresh and clean and we can hardly believe how little detergent and water we use. I believe this washing machine will pay for itself in no time at all with the money we save on detergent and water. This is the first LG appliance that we have had and from now on I will replace all of our appliances with LG.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Colorado
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Yes, this washer is THAT good!"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After researching different washers in January, we decided this machine was the one for us! We are extremely pleased with the cleaning as well as the capacity. I believe I have washed a dozen pairs of jeans and khaki pants in one washing! ( I can't wait to get the matching dryer!) our clothing is softer and dare I say fluffier!! Even the lint in the dryer lint screen is fluffy!!
Several reviewers complained about the washer--out of balance or wrinkles. You MUST read the manual thoroughly before using!! Pretend there is an agitator in the center when loading. As you load the clothes, think of balancing the weight. Place heavier items of the load in the bottom. Fold pants and jeans and such to help prevent tangling. In three months, I have had only two loads go out of balance. It just takes a little time ... don't dump and run.
Regarding the wrinkling issue some reviews complained about.... You do have the ability to alter the preset wash settings! For clothing I use a medium spin and when I move the items from washer to dryer, I give the item a shake before it goes in the dryer. Those two steps eliminate wrinkling!
Yes, I highly recommend this washer! It can handle your laundry needs and treat your clothing with care. Read your manual and follow the instructions and you will be happy with your washer, too!
+8points
8out of 8found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT5170HW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Valencia, Santa Clarita, CA 91355, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good"
PostedMarch 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I'm writing this because I agonized over buying this washing machine. I read every review and while most were positive, I had trouble with the few negative reviews that were extremely negative. I got the impression, you either love it or hate it.
Areas of concern were:
- Out of balance spin cycles
- Water levels not correct
- Clothes not cleaned.
- Takes too long
- No waterproof items
I had it for two weeks now and nothing is out of balance so far. The water levels seem to work perfectly. My clothes are clean, but it does take a while. It's about an hour to an hour and a quarter per load. Since I knew it took extra time, there was no shock for me. I actually prefer the washer to take longer than the dryer. It means the clothes are already folded before I put in the next load.
My guess is there are a few lemons out there, or people are just angry because that is who they are. I have not tried anything that is waterproof. If I do, I will turn off the spin cycle and let the dryer work a little more. I also noticed that many of the negative reviews were for different washers. Maybe angry users are just bashing all of the machines. I don't really know. I do know that this seems like a great washing machine so far.
The washer holds a ton of laundry and is quiet. The only time I hear it is when the spin is starting up and slowing down. It makes a few minor noises as it sloshes the clothes around, but I only hear that if I'm in the same room.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Scottsdale, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has everything you need."
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love how easy it is to use. The features and settings are perfect for any use. It is a little louder than expected. It is on the more expensive side but it is worth every penny.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Holland,MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Happy Customer!!!"
PostedApril 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased the Washer and Dryer together and have loved the decision since. It takes me nearly half the amount of time to do laundry and my clothes come out very clean. I was hesitant about having no agitator in the washer and realized shortly after my first wash that these were very efficient at getting the job done. I think he bad reviews on this page are silly most complaints that I have read looks like they did not read the directions on the correct settings for their loads. This washer spins fast enough to virtually dry the clothes so much that dryer times are half as long. Great product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Toronto
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Very Poor Machine"
PostedMarch 28, 2014
Pros: Performance
I am sorry to say that this machine is very poor. We have had it now for 2 months, and have tried multiple wash loads of various sizes and fabrics and various settings. Unfortunately, it seems EVERY time, we do not have a full 3/4 + tank of very common clothes, it alarms UE on EVERY spin cycle. The spin cycle seems to be over sensitive no matter what you are trying to wash- i.e. towels, kids load, delicate, blanket, etc. I bought it because of the large capacity, with the option to be able to wash blankets, however, any other wash load, it does not like. As well, I do not find that it gets the clothes as clean as a front load or other style machines.
I am sure, LG will need to fix this issue in the software and change the sensitivity of the spin cycle- when they do, it will be a nice washer I am sure, but right now, I would be cautious of purchasing.
+5points
6out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to use - efficient"
PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought the washer/dryer combo last Novemberand I absolutely love it. This is the best present I ever game myself. This machine has cut down my ironing by 90%. It is easy to use, quiet, saves water. I highly recommend it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Lexington, KY
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedMarch 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings
I have just had mine for two months but I absolutely love it already! So quiet, and the load capacity is awesome.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pasadena, MD
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Can't tell is working...so quite!!"
PostedMarch 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
Purchased 2 previous top load machines with similar features and didn't like either of them.... so retuned both. When the last be returned the delivery man suggested that I look into LG units. So I found an open box discounted unit and so I purchased this one. Love the way it works...have not had any mechanical problems with unit nor the way it cleans. If you read the instructions on washing ..the unit does a great job...now off to get the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Lexington, SC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome washer!"
PostedMarch 1, 2014
Pros: Quality
We love our new washer! It has taken a little time to get used to the settings, but we shopped around a long time and are very pleased with our purchase. The capacity is unbelievable and our clothes are clean and stay new looking- even sweaters! Strongly suggest you try this washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Murfreesboro, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer"
PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I have owned this washer since early November 2013. Love the machine. Just took a long time to get to me. Luckily I was not in a hurry as we ordered in plenty of time for it to arrive at my new house when completed. Did not happen. Just beware and order in plenty of time to make sure you have it when you need it. Otherwise I am extremely pleased with the machine.
Love the way it looks and works.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:new jersey
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great washer"
PostedDecember 17, 2013
Pros: Performance
love this washer - does a great job cleaning everything so far - even the speed wash cycle
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:UT
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Works great, and looks good!"
PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've been very impressed with this washer so far. The different washing options makes it easy to use efficiently. I was worried about not having an agitator, however my clothes are just as clean without one (the size is also a big plus as well). Then to top it off, it looks great. Keep up the good work LG!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT5170HW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tennessee
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Buyer Beware....."
PostedNovember 25, 2013
Pros: Quality, beware
Have had the Waveforce for 1 1/2 years. The model we purchased was recalled for motor/electronic problems. Was corrected.... apparently. However, now cannot wash water resistant clothing now, i.e., some sport coats. And... the tub gets out of balance/uneven VERY EASILY which often delays the wash. One wash for towels took more than two hours to complete. Because of the imbalance problem, feel as if I can never walk away from the machine while it is on. Would not purchase this machine again.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Gainesville, FL, USA
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall this is a great product. We love it."
PostedNovember 24, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Quality
This has many great features and is easy to use. Only thing about it I do not like is the soap and fabric softener have to be place in a bin in the back under the lid. It would be a much easer if there were placed in the front. Not under the lid. Otherwise, we love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Washington, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Wonderful"
PostedNovember 15, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love this washer. It leaves the clothes clean and almost dry. It is so easy to use and so quiet! I would recommend this washer to everyone. My husband said I prayed for our old washer to die so I could get this new one and he was correct. Our old one was noisy, left water in the drum at least 3 inches so you would have to put it back through the rinse cycle again. I have had no problems like that at all with this new washer. We actually fight now over who gets to use the washer first on laundry day. On top of that, we have cut $10.00 a month off of our water bill and that to me is amazing. This is the third LG appliance we own. We now have a washer, a dryer and my cell phone. We got the matching dryer before we bought the washer and we liked it so much when the old washer died we wanted the new washer to match the dryer. We priced the washer at 2 different locations and in the end bought it from Lowe's. My husband and I have decided that all of our appliances will be LG from on. I can't express enough how much nicer it is to have a quiet washer that cleans as great as this one does. We have dogs and cats and the pet hair it takes off the clothes is amazing. Stains have come out that I thought never could and the fabric softener feature allowed us to go back to using liquid fabric softener again. I used to always forget to put it in before. Now I can do that at the same time I put in the laundry soap. When we first got the washer, my husband and I stood and watched it go completely through it's cycle. You would have thought we had never seen a washing machine work before. We watched it go through each of the cycles from beginning to end. I love the fact it no longer has an agitator taking up so much space in the machine. And let's not forget how little water it uses. I plan on trying the cold water wash to see if it cleans as good as the regular warm does.
Bottom line this machine is wonderful to use, wonderful to maintain, wonderfully quiet and wonderfully inexpensive to run.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT5170HW
This review is fromWT5170HV.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:concord, nh
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"BEWARE"
PostedDecember 17, 2013
Pros: Style/Design
I was excited to get a nice new high quality washer and dryer from LG and because I spent about 2x more than a regular washer dryer I expected to not have any problems. First the paint corroded around the area where you put bleach into the washer.... ok bleach is corrosive, feel like for the price that this should not have happened. Not covered under warranty. Second I notice holes in my sheets, on the pant legs of my sweats, etc. I don't trust this machine to wash my clothes without ripping them. This does not happen all the time but does happen on occasion. If I had to do it all over again I would get a basic washing machine with no bells or whistles. Keep it simple..... The matching dryer has had problems with the buttons not working, replaced the buttons once under warranty. Again, get something simple with turning knob, not a computerized touch button... not worth the headaches.
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT5170HW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Coleta, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"HUGE CAPACITY"
PostedOctober 23, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
This washer is HUGE! I can keep up with a family of 5 with no problem. The control panel gives you enough options to wash your clothes the way you want to. I love my new LG.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next>>