LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics DLGX5171W

7.3 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity SteamDryer™ (Gas)
Overall rating:
4.806 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(144 reviews) 142
98%141 of 144customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for DLGX5171W
Review 1 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: tjamund
From:Madison, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very Happy"
PostedApril 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We've had the dryer for about a month and are very happy with the purchase. It's a significant upgrade from our previous dryer and I am very please with how easy it is to use! I would recommend this product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: mebeelover
From:Burbank, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG has the best dryers! I have the best sister!!"
PostedMarch 3, 2014
Boy, do I have a story to tell about this dryer and it's mind-blowing features.
I received the dryer, along with the matching washer, as a Christmas gift from my sister, as my old washer had gone south and was not worth fixing.
After having washed a couple of loads, I was extremely upset and disappointed to find that it literally took hours to dry a load of clothes. I was also dreading telling my very generous sister about my disappointment.
I eventually contacted LG and they diagnosed the problem over the phone, with the Smart Diagnosis feature, as a clogged dryer vent.-- I was somewhat skeptical, as my old dryer was still drying the loads just fine, before it was relegated to the garage sale pile in the garage. However, as the LG man explained, the new dryer has a sensor that turns down the heat to prevent a fire when the vent is clogged, and that my old dryer, in fact, had no such feature.
Needless to say, after having the vent cleaned out, my skepticism vanished, as did my wet laundry. The dryer works wonderfully and I could not my happier with my new LG washer and dryer.
I would definitely say that LG has the best appliances and that I have the best sister ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Jim
From:Cincinnati, OH
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"amazing dryer"
PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is the first dryer I have ever had that actually is able to dry a load of clothes before the washing machine completes a load. It is very quiet while operating. the clothes seem to have fewer wrinkles, and are dry when the machine shuts off, not like my previous dryer. The steam feature is really useful, and gets used frequently at our house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Lpcollins
From:New Bern NC
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
DLGX5171W: Owned and used for 30 days+. Easy to use controls, good selection of drying options. Not noisy by any means but does make noise while it runs. I'm happy. LG does a good job with customer contact, provides good information on how to optimize the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Syl's suds
From:Norco, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Dryer & Extremely Happy with our choice."
PostedDecember 27, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love my new LG Dryer model # DLGX5171W.
It dries our clothes great and is very easy to use. The control panel allows me to choose/program how and/or how long I want our clothes to dry. Our laundry comes out dry and basically wrinkle free no matter how large or small the load. I am very happy with how well this dryer preforms. Glad we chose this dryer to replace our old one. Highly recommend to anyone looking to get a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: TBDB
From:Chicago, IL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very flexible options"
PostedNovember 14, 2013
Pros: Quality
However, this dryer leaves many of our waistbands and socks damp on automatic settings. I'm back to basic timer functions. :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Mayor
From:Coleta, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love the "HAPPY TUNE" when its done."
PostedOctober 23, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This dryer is HUGE! I haven't used the steam option yet so can't rate that. But I love my new LG washer & dryer. The signal when they are done is a happy little ditty that you can adjust the volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: L.A. Homemaker
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Fast Drying"
PostedOctober 15, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I am very happy with this dryer. My clothes dry in half the time of my old one. They all dry too. I used to have some wet ones among the dry ones.
I was intimidated by all the buttons and features when it was first installed in my home. But very soon realized they were harmless and it is VERY EASY to use.
It is very quiet while operating. I also like the look of it.
The door can be reversed to open in the other direction if necessary.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DLGX5171W
This review is fromDLGX5171V.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Bobby B
From:Rockledge, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"excellant machine"
PostedOctober 24, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
this dryer surpasses all of my expectations in what a machine is capable of doing. I have the tendency to mix loads due to its large capacity so I use the timed drying selection quite a bit. I check the load at a certain point and remove the lighter weight items as they are dry, the heavier will go the length of whatever time I have selected, and I might add that time is not a long one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to operate"
PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This dryer is simple to use. Easy to operate features and great directions. dries efficiently. dries delicates as well as heavy duty items. great quality in sturdiness. great glass door to monitor tumble if desired. great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: ou812mp
From:Katy, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"All The Bells and Whistles we need and MORE"
PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
Has everything we need and more in a dryer! Easy to set up and use. Lint filter is large and sturdy compared to the other dryers we have had. Wife loves it and the matching washer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DLGX5171W
This review is fromDLGX5171V.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Dryer!!!"
PostedOctober 15, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Great Dryer. In the default setting the clothes doesn't all come out dry especially when you have large load. The sensor stops based on the moisture content in the fabric. However it is not measuring all clothes in the dryer so there are times I have noticed it should have been running longer. I have found putting this to very dry setting it comes out dry. But that is two notches higher than default setting. Other than that it has been very nice experience.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: ACK0710
From:Alpena, MI 49707, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Completely satisfied!"
PostedAugust 6, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Very easy to understand settings, super quiet running, and it even plays a song when it starts and stops!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DLGX5171W
This review is fromDLGX5171V.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Floyd
From:Chanhassen, MN
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Machine"
PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, sweet
This is an excellent Dryer. It is quiet, super easy to use. It looks sweet and the door shuts so smooth. The design and layout of control panel makes it very easy to operate. See through doors lets you keep an eye on things.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: JoeBlow
From:Redwood City, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very happy with this dryer"
PostedJuly 8, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use
The capacity is great. It is very quiet and have the washer and dryer in our kitchen so this was a major consideration on choosing this machine. The steam drying is a nice feature.
One thing I really like is that a carry on suitcase will fit on the drying rack. It may sound crazy, but I travel alot and brought home bed bugs from a nice hotel once. It cost over $5,000 to exterminate them. When I come home from a trip now, the first suitcase goes right into the dryer for 20 minutes. That will kill the bugs.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: LisaMc50
From:Milwaukee, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent product"
PostedJuly 7, 2013
Pros: Features/Settings
This dryer works much faster than my old dryer. Much more efficient.The sensor prevents the dryer from drying at too high of a temperature,and stops eary if the cycle is done quicker. Many drying options to select from for any kind of load. When cycle is done it plays a tune instead of a buzzer. I like that, it is not annoying and loud. I have had this dryer for 3 months and really love it!! Great value!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Nell
From:Louisiana
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good Dryer but buzzer you cannot hear."
PostedJuly 3, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
It runs well and very quiet. The buzzer is like a musical tone. I cannot hear it unless I am on top of the dryer when it goes off even though it is set to loud. I wish they would fix that. I hate missing when a load is ready to come out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Dryer"
PostedJune 21, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
This dryer is great. Very easy to use. Just one thing I would change.......the tune it plays when the cycle is done could be louder. I have to be in the same room to hear it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Eileen18
From:California, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This dryer is fun to use."
PostedMay 26, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use
This dryer was purchased as a match to the washer and I love it! It drys a large load of, say, cotton in no time. And all the clothes come out smelling fresh like they were hung outside on the line. Really!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Dashepard
From:Wayne, NJ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Interesting"
PostedMay 20, 2013
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Easy to operate and looks like a car's dashboard in the dark .. and it sings, too!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>