LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics DLGX5171W

7.3 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity SteamDryer™ (Gas)
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(155 reviews) 153
98%152 of 155customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for DLGX5171W
Review 1 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NW, Indiana
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Features and Load Size!"
PostedAugust 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
This Dryer has all the functions you could ever want/need and the size is big enough to handle comforters and all types of bedding including 2 king size pillows with room to spare!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:central coast of california
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"OK"
PostedAugust 9, 2014
Dryer doesn't seem to be able to handle the large loads that its accompanying washer can. Sheets tend to ball up so that the center is not dry unless you keep monitoring the load. Clothes tend to come out more wrinkled but that is because the washer wrinkles them more unless you use the lower spin cycle. I find that using a dryer sheet along with softener in the machine helps the wrinkling. Like location of lint trap--in the doorway. Steam feature appears to spray water unevenly on load and takes a long time. I've thrown in a couple of damp washcloths and gotten just as good or better results much quicker. Love the chime that rings when it is done.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Houston, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great features."
PostedJuly 31, 2014
Pros: Performance
I like the conveniently placed water dispenser. Steam cleaning works well. The dryer runs quietly and very efficiently. Clothes are not wrinkled.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Omaha, NE, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This is the only dryer to have"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Have had this dryer a little over two months now and we have loved it since the first day we used it. So so easy to operate. It is a steam dryer where you add the water in a container on the top. I like this much better than having to have someone come out and run a water line to the dryer. We haven't used the steam function yet but it will be very easy to use and we will definitely be using this steam function. When setting the time for drying a certain type of load it will show so much time to dry but with the sensing system the time showing at the beginning of the cycle is usually cut in half. Our clothes come out and they are not wrinkled like they were with our old dryer. This dryer is very very quiet. We love it and our matching LG washing machine. A great product from LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:California
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent product!"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This dryer is great--I love the stainless steel drum and the see-thru door. The features are easy to use and the combinations are endless. The dryer is extremely well built and I would buy it again, along with the matching washer, in a heart beat.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Dayton, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Multiple drying option allow for customized drying"
PostedMay 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
I have been very pleased with this dryer and the many drying options it offers. If I'm in a hurry I can select one of the standard options or when I need to be a bit more particular, I can tailor my drying choices. We also have an LG washer, purchased at least a year before the dryer, and have been pleased with it. No problems yet. Have not used the steam process. The dryer filter does need cleaning frequently.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Canyon Lake, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this dryer"
PostedMay 15, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Features/Settings
Great dryer....costs a lot, but it has a lot of great features. My favorite, the light in the drum. Too many cycle selections, but I wanted all the bells and whistles. Put this machine on a surge protector...it's not just a dryer, it's a computer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NJ
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very satisfied with this dryer"
PostedMay 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I read many reviews of different dryers and have to agree with the consistently positive reviews of this dryer. Lots of drying options, easy to use, dries well and the drying rack is great. I've only had it for several weeks, so I can't comment on durability or long-term use, but I am happy with this purchase and plan to look at a matching LG washer; this was my first LG appliance purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Minnesota, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"sensor dry"
PostedMay 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I had set the dryer for a 41 minute dry following removal of a large bathroom rug from the load of clothes previously run. I was upset to hear the dryer stop within ten minutes. Upon checking the clothes, they were all dry. The dryer turned itself off responding to the sensor dry feature. My dryer is in an out of the way location so I was totally unaware and pleasantly surprised by this feature. Just another perk.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Madison, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very Happy"
PostedApril 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We've had the dryer for about a month and are very happy with the purchase. It's a significant upgrade from our previous dryer and I am very please with how easy it is to use! I would recommend this product!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Burbank, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG has the best dryers! I have the best sister!!"
PostedMarch 3, 2014
Boy, do I have a story to tell about this dryer and it's mind-blowing features.
I received the dryer, along with the matching washer, as a Christmas gift from my sister, as my old washer had gone south and was not worth fixing.
After having washed a couple of loads, I was extremely upset and disappointed to find that it literally took hours to dry a load of clothes. I was also dreading telling my very generous sister about my disappointment.
I eventually contacted LG and they diagnosed the problem over the phone, with the Smart Diagnosis feature, as a clogged dryer vent.-- I was somewhat skeptical, as my old dryer was still drying the loads just fine, before it was relegated to the garage sale pile in the garage. However, as the LG man explained, the new dryer has a sensor that turns down the heat to prevent a fire when the vent is clogged, and that my old dryer, in fact, had no such feature.
Needless to say, after having the vent cleaned out, my skepticism vanished, as did my wet laundry. The dryer works wonderfully and I could not my happier with my new LG washer and dryer.
I would definitely say that LG has the best appliances and that I have the best sister ever.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, OH
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"amazing dryer"
PostedJanuary 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is the first dryer I have ever had that actually is able to dry a load of clothes before the washing machine completes a load. It is very quiet while operating. the clothes seem to have fewer wrinkles, and are dry when the machine shuts off, not like my previous dryer. The steam feature is really useful, and gets used frequently at our house.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Bern NC
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
DLGX5171W: Owned and used for 30 days+. Easy to use controls, good selection of drying options. Not noisy by any means but does make noise while it runs. I'm happy. LG does a good job with customer contact, provides good information on how to optimize the product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Norco, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Dryer & Extremely Happy with our choice."
PostedDecember 27, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love my new LG Dryer model # DLGX5171W.
It dries our clothes great and is very easy to use. The control panel allows me to choose/program how and/or how long I want our clothes to dry. Our laundry comes out dry and basically wrinkle free no matter how large or small the load. I am very happy with how well this dryer preforms. Glad we chose this dryer to replace our old one. Highly recommend to anyone looking to get a new one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very flexible options"
PostedNovember 14, 2013
Pros: Quality
However, this dryer leaves many of our waistbands and socks damp on automatic settings. I'm back to basic timer functions. :(
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Coleta, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love the "HAPPY TUNE" when its done."
PostedOctober 23, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This dryer is HUGE! I haven't used the steam option yet so can't rate that. But I love my new LG washer & dryer. The signal when they are done is a happy little ditty that you can adjust the volume.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Fast Drying"
PostedOctober 15, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I am very happy with this dryer. My clothes dry in half the time of my old one. They all dry too. I used to have some wet ones among the dry ones.
I was intimidated by all the buttons and features when it was first installed in my home. But very soon realized they were harmless and it is VERY EASY to use.
It is very quiet while operating. I also like the look of it.
The door can be reversed to open in the other direction if necessary.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DLGX5171W
This review is fromDLGX5171V.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rockledge, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"excellant machine"
PostedOctober 24, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
this dryer surpasses all of my expectations in what a machine is capable of doing. I have the tendency to mix loads due to its large capacity so I use the timed drying selection quite a bit. I check the load at a certain point and remove the lighter weight items as they are dry, the heavier will go the length of whatever time I have selected, and I might add that time is not a long one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to operate"
PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This dryer is simple to use. Easy to operate features and great directions. dries efficiently. dries delicates as well as heavy duty items. great quality in sturdiness. great glass door to monitor tumble if desired. great product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DLGX5171W
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Katy, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"All The Bells and Whistles we need and MORE"
PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
Has everything we need and more in a dryer! Easy to set up and use. Lint filter is large and sturdy compared to the other dryers we have had. Wife loves it and the matching washer!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>