LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics LMV1683SW

1.6 cu. ft. Non-Sensor Over the Range Microwave Oven
Overall rating:
4.484 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(223 reviews) 213
91%203 of 223customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for LMV1683SW
Review 1 for LMV1683SW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:AR
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Value"
PostedJanuary 17, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This microwave works really great. It defrosts food really well and reheats food without leaving and cold spots. I definitely recommend this product to anyone who needs a new microwave. I especially like the energy save button. This microwave was also a great value compared to the other ones I looked at. I also like it's sleek design.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Central Texas
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good oven but lacks needed feachers"
PostedMarch 2, 2015
Nice looking, easy install. Quiet. But no timer? Much need for us Also door won't stay open and wants to close all the time. Really not what we wanted. Should have researched more.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Our new microwave has met all our expectations !"
PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Pros: Quality
Our new LG Microwave works great and looks good. We are very happy we replaced our old kitchen appliances with all LG products.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bristol, IN
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good microwave, eco button does not work properly."
PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
this microwave has a eco button when pushed will turn off the microwave panel in 5 minuets. It will only turn it off at the moment you push the button.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Suburban Midwest
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"wonderful appearance"
PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
This is the best microwave for the design of my kitchen remodel. Very affordable and really nice. The vent is a bit on the noisy side, but can't be beat for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Weston, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Poor craftsmanship"
PostedFebruary 24, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
Poor wiring connection caused a fuse to melt and needed to be repaired within 2 years of less than normal usage. Should not happen in product of this so-called quality. Door does not close smoothly either. Must have had bad day when they assembled this one. Would never buy another lg microwave.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Arkansas
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This microwave was easy to install"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
This microwave works and looks great. It has great features with the exception of a timer. It does not have the additional cook timer found on most microwaves.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ballwin, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it"
PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I just purchased this microwave after switching from an old model. The microwave works great and is very easy to clean. Heats up my food a lot faster and has a great finish to it. Also it's extremely quiet which is a big plus for me.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rogers, MN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Looks and works great."
PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Good cooking power, clean looks, even cooking with the turntable design, and controls are easy to learn.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Plenty of power in a smaller package"
PostedFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
There were 2 choices for a match with the new range I purchased and I went with the smaller one since I thought it would look better in my kitchen since I have cabinets over the microwave. I'm not sorry! It's plenty big enough and powerful enough too. I also like the built-in fan which is great for the range since I like to broil a lot. Very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Dickinson, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
The LG LMV1683ST microwave, completed our kitchen revamp (bought a competitors dishwasher due to LG wanting an arm, leg, and first born for theirs).
However this is likely one of the best microwaves around in it's price range. It was easy to install and the features make it easy to use. Here's the kicker... it actually does what it says it will do when you program it.
No more burnt popcorn or unheated vegetables.
The only issue I have is a concern about the "plasticky" and cheap sound it makes when you close the door. But hey, no fears of radon, or alien attacks.
Seriously though, aside from the door thing, I am quite pleased overall.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Colorado Springs, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great value, great features"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings, Quality
This oven has performed very well. We really like the add and subtract 10 second feature. A drawback is that the exhaust fan runs when the oven is operated and that increases the noise level. We asked an appliance salesman who has one at home and he said he couldn't turn his off either. Other than for that very minor beef, it's a great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Twin Cities, MN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A Very Basic Microwave"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
This is truly an entry level microwave with only the most basic features.
First, know that this microwave is extremely loud when in operation. I have yet to hear another microwave this loud. We are getting used to it but were really surprised at how loud it is.
Cook times are a bit longer than the older microwave we replaced but this is not a big deal.
What we miss is that this model has no digital countdown timer. You would think this would have been standard as it really is one of the most basic features found in microwaves over the past 20 years.
Another minor issue is that you only have one brightness setting on the oven lamp but this is probably to be expected on a basic model like this one.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Georgia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great appliance, but LOUD"
PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I love everything about this microwave except the noise. It is LOUD. But after living with an ineffectual vent system on my last microwave, I'm going to live with the noise. Those that need a gauge of the loudness? It makes conversation in the kitchen difficult.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 15 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Minnesota
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Quite pleased"
PostedDecember 31, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
We have had the microwave for about a month. It does a nice job heating things. The exhaust fan is probably not as quiet as some, but does a nice job and is reasonably quiet for the price. The light for the stove top could be a little brighter, but is certainly adequate. Overall, we are pleased with the quality and value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Elgin, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Item, missing a Feature!"
PostedNovember 22, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
I love this microwave, bought it after my 1998 died. I liked the idea of the warming rack, though don't use as much as hoped.
DOWNSIDES:
Display is numeric only so no prompts to "turn over" or anything else for that matter.
No Express Setting (1/2/3/4 minutes) of previous model.
Pizza "Button" : Really and one for melt and soften...ARGH!
There are NO instructions for AM/PM setting of clock and most sadly, there is NO TIMER.
Seriously, the timer SO important...since there is no delay start option, I can't even time my marinade then put into the microwave to start.....sort of the point of a microwave oven.
We checked the manual before we purchased the item in the store, but the item we have, doesn't have the previous mentioned.
UPSIDES:
Much lighter unit than previous unit.
Installation a breeze (with excellent instructions and all hardware options), it's quiet and was a very fair price.
Any chance of fix or update?
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Works and operates great."
PostedNovember 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Installing the item was a little challenging and you indeed need 2 people to accomplish it. I had a little problem locating the front mounting holes using the diagram but got it in the end. The only thing I don't care for is that when carrying a dish to put in the oven, you can't push a button to open it. You have to set the dish down and pull the handle. Otherwise I haven't found any problems.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great microwave!"
PostedNovember 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
This is a great microwave. Heats food items so quick we use it only a short time compared to our other model. Also very quiet. Looks good with our other appliances also. Only item I was worried about is that it does not have a timer but that has turned out to be a non issue as you use your smart phone for the timer and you can leave the kitchen and go to other areas and hear the timer. Works better anyway!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for LMV1683SW
This review is fromLMV1683ST.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Joliet, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Has a modern look in black and stainless"
PostedNovember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
This unit adds a rich look to my kitchen. It is easy to use no matter what you are using it for. A great deal for the price.
There are only two things I would change if possible: There is only one 30W light over the stove top area, which is not bright enough for anything but a night light, and it does not have an independent timer which I was accustomed to. The timer is only for cook time settings.
Because of the its size and weight, I recommend hiring someone to install it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for LMV1683SW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Westminster, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it!"
PostedSeptember 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this Microwave to replace another one that was a different Brand. So far, it has been an excellent replacement. It is quiet, cooks evenly and quickly, and it didn't break my budget.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>