LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WM8000HVA

5.2 cu. ft. Mega Capacity TurboWash™ Washer with Steam™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(311 reviews) 306
99%307 of 311customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
107 Questions | 127 Answers
Customer reviews for WM8000HVA
Review 1 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jonesboro, AR, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product performs"
PostedMay 27, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This machine will handle all of a families wash. The steam feature is nice but the great thing is that it will based on the selection it will determine how much water and how long of a run cycle to use. Cuts down on guess work. Also saves a lot of water in the long run. We have had LG laundry appliances in the past and they just keep getting better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Blind River, ON, Canada
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Heavy Duty Star!"
PostedMay 25, 2015
With a family of 7, I run about 14 loads a week through this machine. We've had this washer for a year now and it has done everything I've needed perfectly without a moment's worry. This is my second front load washer and is superior to the first brand I purchased. That machine failed early and did not allow me to drain the tub and clean the filter without a major maintenance job. That was the death of the machine. The LG engineering has thought of everything and I love doing laundry now (at least the washing, anyway)! I save water and time with this machine (40 minute loads are a huge help). And I love that it sings to me, sigh! Thank you LG!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:CA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Amazing Washer!"
PostedMay 22, 2015
This washer is huge! No more problems washing a CA King comforter any more - it easily fits! This washer also cleans clothes very well - gets tough stains out. The best thing is I've had it several months and it doesn't smell! I've had other washers that have been disgusting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Frankfort, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is AMAZING!!!"
PostedApril 18, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
First of all, my water bill has went down tremendously. I don't nearly use as much soap detergent, bleach, and fabric softener as I did before. People may look at the price of it, but its worth it in the long run. Even my cleaning bill has changed. I don't need to put my comforters in the cleaners anymore. I have seen many commercials on T.V. about HHGREGG. I decided to visit the store because I needed a washer and dryer. It was amazing how the salesmen work with you to make sure that you came to get what you want. They have a plan for everybody.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"my laundry time has been cut down"
PostedMarch 31, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
I had a set of old top loading washer and dryer. It use to take me ALL day to do laundry. Ever since I bought my lg washer and dryer, I have a lot more time to do other stuff on a busy stay-at-home's list. I no longer have to pick load size, even check to see if my clothes are dried. It can sense it all.
Additionally, I'm saving money by not having to take my pillows, king comforters and bulky items to have it washed due to the size.
The only inconvenience I'm experiencing is the spinning cycle; if the washer isn't stuffed tight, it can become off balanced and not spin properly.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pennsylvania, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Take my advice, get the best!"
PostedMarch 15, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Well let me start by saying I owned and used this washer very hard for the past 4 months. I ran it through the tests, quilts, sheets, comforters, regular wash and even the destroyed construction work clothes, and let me tell you. As long as you read the manual and follow the proper procedures and proper detergent in the correct amount, this washer will exceed your expectations. No more need to use more soap for the very dirty clothes. Less is more in this washer! don't overload it by shoving stuff inside, just toss it in, when it looks full, its full! I have nothing but praise for this machine! I am just a regular Joe and I bought this machine because consumer reports had good reviews for it. Haven't had a problem with it yet! Smartest choice I've made for the year!!! I use Gain powder detergent with the addition of a very small amount of powder oxi-clean for the really dirty stuff. Also for the bulky items, 1 extra rince will do for the total removal of all soap, and remember try and use less soap, I use about 1/2 cup and always does the trick!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Mankato, MN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great machine thus far"
PostedMarch 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings
We purchased this machine to replace a Whirlpool with which we were terribly disappointed. Thus far the LG has worked great with a variety of load sizes and types. I appreciate how it automatically adjusts to load sizes. I also appreciate the length of the cycle times.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Columbia, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Quiet Quality"
PostedMarch 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer is amazing! My husband is a very tall man with very tall clothes and it has cut our laundry load in half. It is very quiet while it runs--our laundry room is directly off of our living room and I barely notice when it is running. I love the different settings to choose from and it does a great job with the spin cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"It's clean & big!"
PostedMarch 8, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
Yes, this guy is a big one! But it tackles a huge load of laundry. The wash time for 1 load seems long, but in perspective it's like doing 2.5 loads of laundry in one shot! The turbo wash is really cool! It's quiet and cleans well. All the cycles are perfect for anything we've had to tackle.
Only con is I wish it showed the estimated wash time sooner prior to starting the load.
I will caution, make sure it fits in your wash area, cause this one is a big one!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Porter Ranch, Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love the steam sanitary feature!"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Great washing machine. Very efficient, quiet, and vibration free.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WM8000HVA
This review is fromWM8000HWA.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Johns Creek, GA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best Washer I've Ever Owned"
PostedMarch 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality, quiet
Fantastic washer - loads of features and most of all - QUIET! You really can barely hear the darn thing run at all! Lots of capacity, even handling quilts, etc. Easy to use, love the sanitation and allergy options as well. Great washer overall.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WM8000HVA
This review is fromWM8000HWA.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:So-Cal
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedMarch 15, 2015
Pros: Performance
Every thing about the washer is excellent accept when the washer fills with water. It turns the water on & off about every second, about 5 to 10 times. This causes the water pipes in the house to hammer. Other than that it is the best washer I have ever owned. Great capacity and the laundry comes out very clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Massachusetts, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We gave our daughter our old washer/dryer so we researched purchasing new for ourselves. This was the best rated machine we found. We really like the size, the look, the way it cleans the clothes.
The only concern we have is how loud the machine is. In reading all the reviews here, everyone remarks how quiet the machine is, but that is not our experience. We called the service technician to come look at the machine after having it about one month. Apparently LG has something which shuts the water off abruptly causing the pipes to shake a little and making quite a racket. LG also has some unique feature which rocks the drum back and forth and then throws the clothes (particularly when on delay). This also makes quite a loud noise. It is not really a problem unless you want to do laundry at a quiet time of day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WM8000HVA
This review is fromWM8000HWA.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pasadena, MD USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Washer"
PostedMarch 8, 2015
Pros: Performance, Quality
This washer is a great buy. I have went from 5-7 loads of laundry a week to two. The clothes and items that I wash come out very clean. The spin cycle takes out most of the water leaving less moisture to be removed in the dryer. I have washed pillows, comforters and loads of clothes. I am very happy with the performance of this machine. It is also very, very quiet.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisiana, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love the Quiet"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
One of the first things that I noticed was how quiet it ran. The size of the tub allows me to wash my comforter so that I don't have to carry it to have it wash somewhere else. The only thing I can say that is a little bothersome is that it tends to tap during the spin cycle due to unbalancing in the tub. It seems to happen more than I thought it would.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Francisco, CA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Sleek, modern and efficient"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased this because of it's high reviews and how it was awarded an Energy Star Most Efficient for 2014. I've only owned it less than 3 months but in this short time I am extremely happy with my purchase.
My clothes have come out reliably clean. I mainly use the Sensor setting to determine water and how long the wash should run and that's a great feature to have.
Overall, amazing craftsmanship! Highly recommended
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Seattle, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good looks and great function, too!"
PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love the look and extra capacity of this machine. Have only had it for a couple months so far, but so far so good. Love the delay wash; looking forward to checking out the steam feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rhode Island, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Outstanding performance and value"
PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
We decided to purchase a new washer and dryer set after our 14-year-old set finally started to break down. After copious research and reading up on all the consumer-review sites, we decided to go with the mega-capacity of the WM8000HVA washer and its companion dryer, the DLEX8000V. We've had them for over a month now and they have performed flawlessly. The mega capacity is great because it allows us to wash an entire king-sized set of bedding at once, which was essential - no going to the laundromat in order to wash a king-sized comforter! In addition to simply being able to wash more clothes with less water, you also get a bevy of modern features, such as Steam Clean, which is nice for animal bedding. Yes, wash times take longer, but so what? These things are so efficient, and so much easier on your garments, that its well worth a little extra wait. No problems with musty odors, since they have a little magnet built into the door that allows it to stay ajar without swinging open. And anyway, just following the directions by wiping down the door and seals after each wash and a monthly clean with a bleach solution and nothing in the washer keeps everything tip-top.
Highly recommended!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"large and quiet"
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, time saver/more capacity/less time
Cons: a plastic shroud came off was found in driveway after the delivery boys left, and they used the standard delivery tools, the 2-man lift strap thingy. Tub springs can be heard bouncing during spin cycle which worries me about its quality. My old one sounded like a jackhammer during spin cycles and not once was i worried that it was gonna break. The tub bounces a lot more than my old one also, could be weaker springs probably. seems to have harder time finding center balance.
Pros: no water hammering as others have reviewed could just be my personal setup but my old one had major water hammering so i expected it but it didn't have an issue. Clothes come out nice and clean with no residue. Almost super quiet, my old one sounded like a jackhammer in the basement, this one was soo quiet you hardly notice it. I had to use the flashlight to verify that it was using water after the initial water filling cycle because after that u don't hear a thing and i was sitting 5 inches from the washer when i tested it for the first time. The direct drive does make a whirling sound but you don't notice it unless you are listening for it, like i said i was next to this washer and didn't notice it until every thing else was quiet, and even then you only hear it if you are next to it. My old washer lasted 15 years and was still working but needed parts for worn out ones which ended costing in total more than what i paid for when i bought it, so i decided not to repair and just bought this new lg model. I use to do 2 wash loads and i don't have a lot of clothing with my new lg i only do one load now perfect size for my needs saved me an hour of time. NOTE, the hoses and leveling tool for is included in the tub so look for it. The delivery guys was a third party so they knew zero about my washer and told me my washer didn't come with new hoses. Also make sure your washer is perfectly stable as it will not start the spin cycle if the washer wobbles even at the slightest shaking. My washer sits at a slant in the floor so it was hard to level, but with the included tool it was soo easy i did it in seconds. Did i mention this thing is super quiet? Lastly the washer lets you know its done with not a buzzer but an awesome little tune, the was the icing on the cake for me, lol. so far i had no problems with it and loving it, I hope it lasts as long as my old washer that thing had 15 more years in it but it just wasn't cost worthy to keep it that way anymore.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WM8000HVA
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Northeast Pacific Street, Portland, OR, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Top Washing Machine Worth Every Penny"
PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
A month ago I purchased the Graphite Steel top-of-line washer. It's a front loader and I love it. My sister and also my son and his family had told me they love, love, love their LG machines. I am waiting for the delivery of the pedestals and the dryer which should be here in a few days. Then the laundry room should be complete. The LG machine really cleans the clothes, yet is gentle on the fabrics. The tones are delightful. I am very happy with my investment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 Next>>