LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.558 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(824 reviews) 806
91%750 of 824customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
132 Questions | 236 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 1 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Massachusetts, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"E6 code"
PostedJuly 28, 2015
After researching in Consumer Reports, this LG WT4870CW washing machine was highly rated. We bought this machine and its matching dryer. We purchased it at Home Depot in Oxford,MA We bought their five year extended warranty on both products and thank goodness we did. I enjoyed this washing machine but after only two years of ownership, we are getting an E6 code which the manual says is a "clutch error" We called Home Depot and it will be 5 days before a repair person can come and fix our machine. My former washer, which I used for 17 years (with an agitator), never had repair problems. I washed rubber backed rugs in it and in this washer you cannot. Would I buy an Electronic HE washer again? ABSOLUTELY NOT, Sorry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Texas City, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent product for the money"
PostedJuly 25, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
The LG washer is an excellent product for the money. It runs very quietly. Love the end of the cycle reminder. Instead of being some harsh electronic buzzer it plays a little tune. The washer does a good job of getting our clothes clean.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Georgia, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superb"
PostedJuly 24, 2015
Pros: Performance
Outstanding washer. Only complaint is that it is about 30% slower than the old machine. Worth the wait.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:RI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So quiet!"
PostedJuly 22, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, quiet
Love, love love this washer! I had a front load washer for 15 years and got used to the hovering helicopter sound every time it spun. I can barely hear this washer. It spins the clothes better too, they are nearly dry when i put them in the dryer. The only negative I found was with an extra large load, it didn't clean as well as my old washer. But when I put on the extra rinse/water plus it cleans just as good. I like it also has a soak cycle, which can't be done in a front loader. I bought a top loader because I thought I didn't need the large capacity anymore since all the kids are at college most of the year, but I think this washer is bigger than my old one! Overall, I think this is a great washer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlestown, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer and a good price"
PostedJune 29, 2015
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought this washer about a month ago after replacing a 15 year old front loader. My wife wanted a top loader and we found this one after looking at a number of brands. We have not been disappointed, It has a large capacity and a variety of cycles. Most importantly it gets your clothes clean without wearing them out. The cycle length is normal for a high efficiency washer. Yes I recommend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sierra Vista, AZ
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Hate, hate, hate my WT4870C washer"
PostedJune 28, 2015
The only good thing about this machine is being able to wash my king size comforter. It will not wash small loads.....unbalanced every time and refills with water. I have to squeeze the water out.
This is the most frustrating machine I have ever had. Wish I could afford a new machine with an agitator. Don't buy this machine!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT4870CW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Collins, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"This product doesn't clean very well."
PostedMay 28, 2015
This product cleans like a cheap washing machine. I like to use the Arm & Hammer pods. This washer does not dissolve the pod leaving soap on the clothes. I have to rewash the clothes with an extra rinse cycle. When I use the liquid dispenser the clothes don't get clean. Again I have to rewash the clothes. I am now using the Arm & Hammer pods, but dissolving them in warm water in a shaker bottle and then pouring that mixture onto the clothes before starting the wash cycle.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Katy, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Stain care, ha!"
PostedMay 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
This machine does not remove stains, not even simple stains that have been pretreated. So frustrating. I'm not expecting it to remove red wine from a white shirt, but you would think something as simple as dirt (just plain garden dirt from my 2yr old wiping her hands on her shirt or sitting on the concrete outside), chocolate milk or banana (with a little dirt mixed in) would come clean from pretreating and washing. I have had better luck socking clothes in a sink with some oxy. But in reality, who has time to soak every stain from 2 kids BEFORE putting it in the washing machine. I thought it was maybe the detergent, however I have tried 3 different kinds, and still nothing. Not what you expect when buying a new washer described as "stains used to be a pain."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Waleska, GA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Only One Issue"
PostedMay 27, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've had this machine for about a year or so. I really like it. Features are great, and I love that I can wash heavy, bulky loads that I couldn't wash before. BUT . . . I dislike the balance issues we have with the machine. If the load is too small, it goes on and off balance throughout the entire cycle; you have to get up and move the clothes around each time. Kind of a pain. Let's face it; sometimes you need to wash a smaller load of clothes. Gets thrown off balance sometimes with larger loads as well. We also can no longer use the tub clean feature due to the same issue - it continually goes off balance throughout the cycle, and there aren't even any clothes in there!!! I looked at the manual and all the troubleshooting tips, and there doesn't seem to be anything that speaks to this problem. Still a great machine, but I'm a little frustrated with the whole balance thing.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Metro Chicago, IL USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has easy to use features..."
PostedMay 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I replaced a front load machine which I absolutely did not care for. This washer is easy to use and has great features. One modification I would like to see is a feature to adjust for load size. Other than that it washes clothes well and quickly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"UNEVEN(UE) URRRRRR"
PostedMay 8, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
Had to replace electronic board after few months and the UE is making me insane. Washer is level. Takes all day to do laundry for 2 because I have to rearrange again and again and there is no signal to say that it is UE. I go to put load in dryer to find that there is 20 min. left and it is UE again. Thought of owning this for 10+ years makes me angry. Appears this is problem that LG needs to address from other reviews.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Saint Peters, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Stains don't stand a chance."
PostedApril 18, 2015
Pros: Performance
I have 2 kids and they always have stains on their clothes. I put them in the washer and poof, stain is gone. Love, love, love.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Doesn't clean clothes"
PostedApril 14, 2015
Pros: Performance
Washing machine takes too long to wash clothes and to get clothes clean, I need to put through another cycle or add more water. Whites are dingy, even after I add bleach.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anna, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG (life's good washer)"
PostedApril 7, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
This washer in two short months has helped my water bill which is awesome. I am able to put all cleaning products in at the beginning of cycle and distributed at the right times. It puts only the water needed. Most of all I no longer have to go pay 7.00 to wash and dry a comforter at the laundry. (My set is amazing) Another plus is the no agitator in the center to disfigure intimate clothing. Love love love my LG washer and dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Orange County, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome, time saving product for a family of four!"
PostedMarch 18, 2015
Pros: Performance
I love this item. I can do an enormous load of laundry in an hour. It comes out clean, fresh, and practically dry. It seems to use hardly any water AND it works almost silently. I went from daily loads of laundry for my family of two teens boys, husband, and me to a few loads twice a week. Love, love, love this machine!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jackson, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Ue all the time"
PostedMarch 10, 2015
My washer is barely 2 years old and I can not wash clothes any more. I have to pay to get it fix because I was not offered an extended warranty. I can not finish a load bc of the ue. My washer is level, I manually move clothes around like 15 times and finally give up and ring my clothes out by hand just to put them in the dryer. Not happy with it at all. The balance sensor went out. Now I guess I need to see how much it's going to cost me for someone 2 hours away can come and check and hopefully fix my washer without costing me an arm and a leg
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Grand Rapids, MI
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"materials are VERY poor quality"
PostedMarch 8, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
I have had this washer for 1.5 years. The bleach dispenser has already rusted out, so I had it sanded and resealed and 2 months later, it is starting to show signs of rust again. NOW, the center "cap" on the base of the basin has peeled off its faux steel cap. It literally peeled off like plastic foil. The machine, it self, washes fine, but the materials used is terrible. This machine should not be in such poor quality. I wish I could post the pictures. I'm very disappointed in this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:DSM IA
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"High capacity - longer wash times"
PostedMarch 5, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Thought I would really have a problem with the longer wash times, but I haven't. Nice having the capacity to do all the sheets and towels at once. Very well built product. Very quite
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ky
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good features"
PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, Quality
at first wasn't sure we were going to like this washer it was so different we've had it several months now once we got use to the different settings the washer works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Disappointing not up to par with LG reputation."
PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design
I purchased this machine just over a year ago and for about nine months it was FABULOUS!!! Then something went wrong. I cannot complete a load without continuing to stop and redistribute the clothes over and over and over because the UE warning signal continues to illuminate. Sometimes I've spent 30 minutes a load just trying to complete a cycle. There have even been times I've just drained the tub and waited until later to deal with the washing issues. I've even tried it with just water and nothing inside the tub and still get the warning. I've had no problems with the companion dryer but wish I had not purchased this expensive washing machine.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 Next>>