LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.582 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(627 reviews) 619
92%575 of 627customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
130 Questions | 236 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 1 for WT4870CW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Collins, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"This product doesn't clean very well."
PostedMay 28, 2015
This product cleans like a cheap washing machine. I like to use the Arm & Hammer pods. This washer does not dissolve the pod leaving soap on the clothes. I have to rewash the clothes with an extra rinse cycle. When I use the liquid dispenser the clothes don't get clean. Again I have to rewash the clothes. I am now using the Arm & Hammer pods, but dissolving them in warm water in a shaker bottle and then pouring that mixture onto the clothes before starting the wash cycle.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Katy, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Stain care, ha!"
PostedMay 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
This machine does not remove stains, not even simple stains that have been pretreated. So frustrating. I'm not expecting it to remove red wine from a white shirt, but you would think something as simple as dirt (just plain garden dirt from my 2yr old wiping her hands on her shirt or sitting on the concrete outside), chocolate milk or banana (with a little dirt mixed in) would come clean from pretreating and washing. I have had better luck socking clothes in a sink with some oxy. But in reality, who has time to soak every stain from 2 kids BEFORE putting it in the washing machine. I thought it was maybe the detergent, however I have tried 3 different kinds, and still nothing. Not what you expect when buying a new washer described as "stains used to be a pain."
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Waleska, GA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Only One Issue"
PostedMay 27, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've had this machine for about a year or so. I really like it. Features are great, and I love that I can wash heavy, bulky loads that I couldn't wash before. BUT . . . I dislike the balance issues we have with the machine. If the load is too small, it goes on and off balance throughout the entire cycle; you have to get up and move the clothes around each time. Kind of a pain. Let's face it; sometimes you need to wash a smaller load of clothes. Gets thrown off balance sometimes with larger loads as well. We also can no longer use the tub clean feature due to the same issue - it continually goes off balance throughout the cycle, and there aren't even any clothes in there!!! I looked at the manual and all the troubleshooting tips, and there doesn't seem to be anything that speaks to this problem. Still a great machine, but I'm a little frustrated with the whole balance thing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Metro Chicago, IL USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has easy to use features..."
PostedMay 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I replaced a front load machine which I absolutely did not care for. This washer is easy to use and has great features. One modification I would like to see is a feature to adjust for load size. Other than that it washes clothes well and quickly!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"UNEVEN(UE) URRRRRR"
PostedMay 8, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
Had to replace electronic board after few months and the UE is making me insane. Washer is level. Takes all day to do laundry for 2 because I have to rearrange again and again and there is no signal to say that it is UE. I go to put load in dryer to find that there is 20 min. left and it is UE again. Thought of owning this for 10+ years makes me angry. Appears this is problem that LG needs to address from other reviews.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Saint Peters, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Stains don't stand a chance."
PostedApril 18, 2015
Pros: Performance
I have 2 kids and they always have stains on their clothes. I put them in the washer and poof, stain is gone. Love, love, love.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Doesn't clean clothes"
PostedApril 14, 2015
Pros: Performance
Washing machine takes too long to wash clothes and to get clothes clean, I need to put through another cycle or add more water. Whites are dingy, even after I add bleach.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anna, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG (life's good washer)"
PostedApril 7, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
This washer in two short months has helped my water bill which is awesome. I am able to put all cleaning products in at the beginning of cycle and distributed at the right times. It puts only the water needed. Most of all I no longer have to go pay 7.00 to wash and dry a comforter at the laundry. (My set is amazing) Another plus is the no agitator in the center to disfigure intimate clothing. Love love love my LG washer and dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jackson, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Ue all the time"
PostedMarch 10, 2015
My washer is barely 2 years old and I can not wash clothes any more. I have to pay to get it fix because I was not offered an extended warranty. I can not finish a load bc of the ue. My washer is level, I manually move clothes around like 15 times and finally give up and ring my clothes out by hand just to put them in the dryer. Not happy with it at all. The balance sensor went out. Now I guess I need to see how much it's going to cost me for someone 2 hours away can come and check and hopefully fix my washer without costing me an arm and a leg
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Grand Rapids, MI
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"materials are VERY poor quality"
PostedMarch 8, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
I have had this washer for 1.5 years. The bleach dispenser has already rusted out, so I had it sanded and resealed and 2 months later, it is starting to show signs of rust again. NOW, the center "cap" on the base of the basin has peeled off its faux steel cap. It literally peeled off like plastic foil. The machine, it self, washes fine, but the materials used is terrible. This machine should not be in such poor quality. I wish I could post the pictures. I'm very disappointed in this product!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ky
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good features"
PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, Quality
at first wasn't sure we were going to like this washer it was so different we've had it several months now once we got use to the different settings the washer works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Disappointing not up to par with LG reputation."
PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design
I purchased this machine just over a year ago and for about nine months it was FABULOUS!!! Then something went wrong. I cannot complete a load without continuing to stop and redistribute the clothes over and over and over because the UE warning signal continues to illuminate. Sometimes I've spent 30 minutes a load just trying to complete a cycle. There have even been times I've just drained the tub and waited until later to deal with the washing issues. I've even tried it with just water and nothing inside the tub and still get the warning. I've had no problems with the companion dryer but wish I had not purchased this expensive washing machine.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Haven, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product"
PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought a package with gas dryer-DLG4871W. Cannot speak highly enough about either product. These are fantastic products. Way to go LG!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rio Rancho, NM, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Different, but works great"
PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
This washer had a different type of drum set up. It uses very little water and the washing action is different. Wish it had a clear lid so we could see the water level and washing action. The lid locks, so you cannot just lift it to see the levels and washing action. Because it uses less water, it may take around 1.5 hours to wash a load when the old style washers would do it in 35 mins. The clothes are clean and well spun out for the dryer. Sometimes you almost don't need a dryer. It tells you not to wash items that are water proof or repellant. So shower curtains and the like are not supposed to be washed.
We're still trying to figure out the setting and when to try to activate them. Seems changes cannot be made once started unless you stop and drain everything and start over.
Overall, considering the time it takes to wash, it seems to be the new thing in energy efficiency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bronte, TX 76933, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Worst washer i have ever bought"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
I bought this washer a year ago and it has messed up twice. I feel like buying this washer was a waste if money. I have a family of 6 and really need a good working washer. One of the 4 technicians that came to fix my washer said you can only wash large loads aad there is a certain way to put clothes in the washer. This washer also goes off balance very easy. One technician also told me since i ro not have a concrete foundation my washer would keep messing up. I dont have $800 just laying around to just throw out the window. Im truely in tears. Washer has a 10 year direct drive motor warranty so problem is covered by warranty but yiu have to pay for extended warranty to cover the cost for technician to come out to diagnose then wait a month after diagnosed the replace part. So waiting about 2 months for washer to work and paying more money for warranty is not what i have time or money for. I do not recommend anyone to waste money on this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tennessee, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The best washer I have ever purchased"
PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have never had a washer that worked this great. I would recommend everyone to purchase one. I love it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Manteca, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great features and easy to use."
PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Replaced old washer with new LG. The new LG performed better than I expected. Very simple to use and everything comes out clean with no problems. I would definitely recommend this washer to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:utah
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This Washer does a great job"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I just replaced my washer after 15 years. I wasn't sure what was out there and was not familiar with the current technology used for washers. I read reviews and checked with other friends who had this type of washer and they said they loved it. After, I have had it for about a month so far its lived up to its reputation. It has gotten my clothes cleaner than my old washer and is gentle on my clothes. I have enjoyed having this washer and hope it will last for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Middleville, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good... washing capacity is HUGE!"
PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Quality, huge capacity
We have had this unit about a month and had zero problems... Seems to wash well and do everything as advertised!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall an excellent product"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer combines looks and efficiency at a great price. Excellent value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next>>