LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.635 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(819 reviews) 812
94%767 of 819customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
121 Questions | 223 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 1 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? No
"I would not recommend this washer"
PostedJuly 22, 2014
This washer does not go through a cycle without a uE error which means the load is out of balance. I have placed the clothes carefully in the washer and it says out of balance and continues to add water trying to re balance. It never rebalances, so I need to take all the clothes out and put them back in again. This washer requires babysitting.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great size tub and features"
PostedJuly 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
The size of the tub gives so many options for washing household items e.g patio chair seats. Features allow for customized wash cycles.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT4870CW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Hackettstown, NJ
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good wash load capacity"
PostedJuly 20, 2014
Pros: generous load capacity
This top load washer does an acceptable job cleaning everything except the heaviest soiled items. The wash cycle takes about an hour, and is slower than my last machine. If you are used to an older style machine with a center tall agitator, you may find that the clothes do not seem to experience enough friction to be effectively cleaned, when washing heavily soiled clothes. The machine has a good size capacity that easily accommodates blankets and towels.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"will not handle bulky loads"
PostedJuly 20, 2014
We bought this washer for its large uncluttered tub. However, it will not balance bulky items such as spreads, comforters, etc. No matter how we rearrange loads, it does not do its job. technicians have been out here twice and customer support on the phone. Re-balancing the machine itself helped a little, but it still does not do a good job on anything heavier then normal clothing. We did not buy a large machine for underwear and socks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Walton Beach, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer is the best we have had. It has plenty of room, and is extremely quiet. The clothes come out a lot cleaner using less soap. Its good looks only adds to the value.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Lots of room, great features"
PostedJuly 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is our first washer for first home. It has a lot of room, does the job well. Pleasant ding at the end of the cycle. I highly recommend it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Greensboro, GA 30642, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this washer"
PostedJuly 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have loved this washer ever since we bought it 2 months ago. You must read the manual to understand how to use it because it is different from the old agitator washers. It holds an unbelievable amount of items, and I've felt everything gets very clean. There are only 2 people in our house since our children are grown, and I have had no problems with small loads. I have been able to combine loads to cut down on the number of weekly loads. I am average height(5'4") and have no problem reaching the bottom like some reviews I have read. I can wash king sheets and several towels at one time. I have had no problem with items getting tangled. You need to understand the cycles and choose the right one for your items plus you can change the water temperature and spin speeds if you want for the cycle you have chosen. I highly recommend this washer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia Beach, VA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Why did I wait so long?"
PostedJuly 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
This was my first new washer purchase and I cannot believe that I waited so long! It does exactly what I need it to do and more. Super easy teaching my kids to use it too.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Extra capacity great feature"
PostedJuly 7, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
The settings I use the most are normal and delicate. We do lots medium sized loads with the occasional bulky load. Great to be able to fit a queen size comforter in the washer.
I only 4 starred the value because this is one of the more expensive models. You are paying for the extra capacity.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Nevada
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Unable to customize, long wash cycles."
PostedJuly 6, 2014
I have owned this washer (and the matching dryer which works great) for over 3 months. For washing large loads of lightly soiled clothes it works great. However, I wash cloth diapers and there is no option for a prolonged soak (cannot soak for >30 minutes) and the stain care cycle (which was recommended by the repairman for its agitation) doesn't allow for a hot wash. Many of the cycles are preset and cannot be changed or will only allow some changes. For a moderately priced washer I expected more options to customize my wash. In the end, most of my heavily soiled items get clean, but it takes a really long time (>3 hours for diapers) to get clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"very disappointed"
PostedJuly 6, 2014
This machine does not leave my clothes smelling or feeling clean, just very wrinkled, I have had to add water to a load because its "smart sensor" couldn't even get all the clothes wet. The cycles are so long the clothes should be cleaner. I bought this washer because of the positive reviews I had read, but I am very unhappy with it.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NLV
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it!"
PostedJuly 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Very easy to use. Lots of features. Pretty quiet. Has a deep tub which holds a very large load.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Salisbury, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"HE washer that washes very well"
PostedJuly 2, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
I have been using this particular washer for one year now. I agree with most people that it's difficult for short people like me to reach the bottom. However, it fits very large loads. The clothes come out pretty clean. I must say that HE washers cannot be compared to old fashion washers (fill to the top with water). But, there are few options the machine has that helps to get clothes very clean. It took me sometime to figure that out. After trying a variety of different settings, I was able to figure out how to get my clothes cleaner. The only issue I have with this washer is the rust developing around the bleach tray. I would have to think it's a design flaw especially since I rarely use bleach.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Northfield, MN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Can't even complete a cycle empty"
PostedJune 23, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I like the size and ease of use. That it for this washer. Every load has to be restarted at least 3 times. Even then it might not complete a cycle. Even with nothing in it. Now the washer smells like mold is growing in it. Because it can't get all the water out.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Albuquerque, NM, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So Good, It Even Sings to You."
PostedJune 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
I was a little hesitant about buying this due to many reviews complaining about 'out of balance' problems, but upon the advice of the salesman, I did buy it. I have had it about 7 months and we do at least 3 loads a week, usually more. In that time, we have gotten the 'out of balance' warning 0 times. None. Nor have we had any other warnings. It works great every time and gives us clean clothes. The only complaint is my 22 y/o granddaughter lives with us and she is only 5'2" tall. It is hard for her to reach the bottom of the washer tub. The tub is huge. I have washed comforters, pillows and small rugs with great results. PLUS, I got a $100 credit with the water company for buying a water saving appliance. Instead of an annoying buzzer at the end of the cycle, it plays music to you. What's not to love?
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Bern, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very pleased"
PostedJune 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
My first HE washer and I was a little nervous about my choice after reading some of the reviews, but I've had great results and no problems. I've done both large and small loads and had no problems but I'm careful to load everything around the perimeter rather than just dumping things in. Clothes always come out clean. Most loads take 54 minutes. This washer is much quieter than my old one. Haven't checked my water bill yet.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Archdale, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"major regret"
PostedJune 9, 2014
Pros: none
This washing machine was a bad buy.
My old machine was 19 years old and would still get my laundry clean.
No matter how much pre treatment I use this one still doesn't get socks and many other things clean. Most cycles on this one take forever and still don't get the clothing clean. I could have bought one similar to my old one for half the price.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Waukesha, WI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Top Notch Machine So Far!"
PostedJune 6, 2014
We've had this LG washer for about 3 months now and have been impressed. Seems to handle all kinds of loads well and has lots of ways to customize wash cycle chosen. We're undoubtedly saving money on water (which is becoming prohibitively expensive in our community) and detergent. Like the mini dispenser drawer which makes sure detergent is well-distributed in wash water.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Jose, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has many great features."
PostedJune 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We have had our washer and dryer for 10 months and we have been very pleased with their performance and ease of use. The operation panel is an easy read from left to right with large print and lights that let you know the system is set and ready to start. The regular washing programs make washing clothes an enjoyable experience. The option of changing functions when needed has been most helpful.
Who woundn't like a low energy, anti-vibration and child lock system with high performance? We are very happy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Custer, South Dakota
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"been through 3 of these in last 6 months !!"
PostedMay 31, 2014
In Nov.2013, we purchased this model...about 2 weeks later it quit working. A new one was brought to us.This new one lasted 5 months, until bolt holding the bottom plate (spinner) busted and was not repairable, Again we returned Washer, and received a New one (same model). Two weeks into 3rd machine,,,,the machine will not spin or drain !!! total Junk ...would not recommend even it were free.....DON'T BUY THIS MODEL
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 28 Next>>