LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.608 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(617 reviews) 609
93%571 of 617customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
129 Questions | 236 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 1 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ky
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good features"
PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, Quality
at first wasn't sure we were going to like this washer it was so different we've had it several months now once we got use to the different settings the washer works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Disappointing not up to par with LG reputation."
PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design
I purchased this machine just over a year ago and for about nine months it was FABULOUS!!! Then something went wrong. I cannot complete a load without continuing to stop and redistribute the clothes over and over and over because the UE warning signal continues to illuminate. Sometimes I've spent 30 minutes a load just trying to complete a cycle. There have even been times I've just drained the tub and waited until later to deal with the washing issues. I've even tried it with just water and nothing inside the tub and still get the warning. I've had no problems with the companion dryer but wish I had not purchased this expensive washing machine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Haven, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product"
PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought a package with gas dryer-DLG4871W. Cannot speak highly enough about either product. These are fantastic products. Way to go LG!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rio Rancho, NM, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Different, but works great"
PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
This washer had a different type of drum set up. It uses very little water and the washing action is different. Wish it had a clear lid so we could see the water level and washing action. The lid locks, so you cannot just lift it to see the levels and washing action. Because it uses less water, it may take around 1.5 hours to wash a load when the old style washers would do it in 35 mins. The clothes are clean and well spun out for the dryer. Sometimes you almost don't need a dryer. It tells you not to wash items that are water proof or repellant. So shower curtains and the like are not supposed to be washed.
We're still trying to figure out the setting and when to try to activate them. Seems changes cannot be made once started unless you stop and drain everything and start over.
Overall, considering the time it takes to wash, it seems to be the new thing in energy efficiency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bronte, TX 76933, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Worst washer i have ever bought"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
I bought this washer a year ago and it has messed up twice. I feel like buying this washer was a waste if money. I have a family of 6 and really need a good working washer. One of the 4 technicians that came to fix my washer said you can only wash large loads aad there is a certain way to put clothes in the washer. This washer also goes off balance very easy. One technician also told me since i ro not have a concrete foundation my washer would keep messing up. I dont have $800 just laying around to just throw out the window. Im truely in tears. Washer has a 10 year direct drive motor warranty so problem is covered by warranty but yiu have to pay for extended warranty to cover the cost for technician to come out to diagnose then wait a month after diagnosed the replace part. So waiting about 2 months for washer to work and paying more money for warranty is not what i have time or money for. I do not recommend anyone to waste money on this product.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 6 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tennessee, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The best washer I have ever purchased"
PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have never had a washer that worked this great. I would recommend everyone to purchase one. I love it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Manteca, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great features and easy to use."
PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Replaced old washer with new LG. The new LG performed better than I expected. Very simple to use and everything comes out clean with no problems. I would definitely recommend this washer to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:utah
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This Washer does a great job"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I just replaced my washer after 15 years. I wasn't sure what was out there and was not familiar with the current technology used for washers. I read reviews and checked with other friends who had this type of washer and they said they loved it. After, I have had it for about a month so far its lived up to its reputation. It has gotten my clothes cleaner than my old washer and is gentle on my clothes. I have enjoyed having this washer and hope it will last for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Middleville, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good... washing capacity is HUGE!"
PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Quality, huge capacity
We have had this unit about a month and had zero problems... Seems to wash well and do everything as advertised!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall an excellent product"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer combines looks and efficiency at a great price. Excellent value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Texas, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"New Technology is so good"
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased this washer and matching dryer about 6 weeks ago and the performance is much better than the old type.
The units are high-efficiency with large load capacity and the washer is much quieter than any I have ever used.
In our area the Elect Power Co. installed smart meters which allows me login and monitor our daily elect use. In the past I could always see laundry day but now it is no greater than any other day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Independence
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Money saver"
PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
Love this product for its efficiency & available options for wash cycles. Saving money on energy costs & water usage are added bonuses.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fairfax, VA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer"
PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
I love this washer. It's easy to use and very nice looking. It has the ability to do really large loads which is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Doesn't clean - Can take hours to do a load"
PostedDecember 26, 2014
We have given this expensive "modern" washer every chance possible. We were sold on this by Lowes as the washer of all washers.
I don;t care how you follow the directions of specifically "placing" every items of clothes in the washer, you are gong to get the UE sign. This means it is off balance and it could not balance itself. It will fill the tub back up wit water to try to balance. More waste, more headache and a load could literally take you 2-3 hours if you do not monitor it.
normal load will take you an hour and 10 minutes with fabric softener - that's on a good day. it's fickle as all get out. You will be frustrated at least 50% of the time.
Clean clothes - not so much. The clothes suppose to gently rub against each other for cleaning. Light stains - okay. Anything else a few cycles. Highly disappointed and will probably craigslist this one and cut my losses.
Pros - pretty quite
No mechanical issues after a year.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Carolina, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good"
PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
I have had this washer for about two months now. But, so far I'm really liking my new washer, a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"purchase the washer & dryer"
PostedDecember 18, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
this washing machine is not that bad. I rated it a 4/5 because I do agree it does not get most stains out. I had to hand wash a few items to make clean. Majority of the washing time are very long. overall the machine is quiet when washing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Utah
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"we love this washer and dryer"
PostedDecember 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love the auto water level and the lock when running. Keeps the grandkids out. The new wave force does a nice job cleaning too. Runs quiet as a mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:calif.
Would you recommend product? No
"washer"
PostedDecember 16, 2014
I HATE it! I would NOT buy it again. I fail to see how it is 'energy efficient" when it can take up to 1hour and 11 minutes to wash a load? You CAN NOT just put your clothes in the tub, you have to pack them around the sides in order for it to wash? It DOES not wash them clean! I WANT MY OLD ONE BACK! If I could I would give it back to you! I tell everyone NOT to buy one of these kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Saint Louis, MO, USA
Would you recommend product? No
"It's Okay... I wouldn't buy it again though."
PostedDecember 13, 2014
I've had this washer for a little over a year. It's an okay/decent product. There haven't been any mechanical issues so that's a plus, but the actual washing of my clothes isn't the best. Let me explain. I use to have the old school washing machine with the agitator. I then got a king bed and wanted a washing machine that would wash a king comforter. That's how I got this new washing machine.
I'll give the large capacity an A+ but sadly there is a negative to this (no agitator)
If you're washing normal, none stained clothes, then the machine works fine, I suppose. But if you have clothes with stains or any little mud spots, don't expect much. My husband is a landscaper and comes home with jeans that have mud and other stains. The washing machine will not get any of the stains out. I have to manually scrub the jeans in my kitchen sink with hot water.
Maybe I expect too much. But going from the old school machine to this new one, I expect the new one to at least perform slightly better. It's worse! The old machine removed the stains. I'm a true believe the agitator is needed.
I also get error messages about the weight being uneven. The wash will stop and I have to move the clothes around and "hope" the machine will work. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't.
One day I used the express cycle. I put a load in (normal load that I do all the time) and came back about 20 minutes later, there was an error and it was just sitting there. Error after error about the weight. I'm thinking if there was a real agitator this wouldn't have happened! My speedy cycle that was supposed to take 35 minutes took over an hour and I eventually just had to start the whole cycle over!
I've also done lots of normal loads that came out just fine, but that is what is supposed to happen. I shouldn't be excited that my washing machine works, that's the machines job! I wouldn't not buy this machine again. It's not a bad product but I'm just not impressed.
If my husband had it his way, he would throw it out now and go find our old washer we gave away for free!
Oh and another thing, when I had my old machine, I could fill it with water, add clothes, let them soak, all while the lid was open. I don't think you can do this with the new machine. The lid needs to be closed for the cycle to start. Another annoying feature (or maybe I'm missing something)...
This new machine is one those buys I just tell myself to deal with it because it is already paid for....
I will say the panel with the options for the cycles is nice looking and easy to use. It also lights up pretty. But again, I need clean clothes, not just a pretty looking machine...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:SC
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"so far so good"
PostedDecember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Washer has a large load capacity that is great for comforters and such. I have had it for a couple of months and it is a dream to use. Can't wait for my dryer to go so I can get its sister. I hope it continues to preform like this but time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next>>