LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.559 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(826 reviews) 808
91%752 of 826customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
135 Questions | 240 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 21 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ky
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good features"
PostedMarch 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, Quality
at first wasn't sure we were going to like this washer it was so different we've had it several months now once we got use to the different settings the washer works great
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Disappointing not up to par with LG reputation."
PostedFebruary 28, 2015
Pros: Style/Design
I purchased this machine just over a year ago and for about nine months it was FABULOUS!!! Then something went wrong. I cannot complete a load without continuing to stop and redistribute the clothes over and over and over because the UE warning signal continues to illuminate. Sometimes I've spent 30 minutes a load just trying to complete a cycle. There have even been times I've just drained the tub and waited until later to deal with the washing issues. I've even tried it with just water and nothing inside the tub and still get the warning. I've had no problems with the companion dryer but wish I had not purchased this expensive washing machine.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 23 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Haven, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product"
PostedFebruary 26, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought a package with gas dryer-DLG4871W. Cannot speak highly enough about either product. These are fantastic products. Way to go LG!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Rio Rancho, NM, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Different, but works great"
PostedFebruary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
This washer had a different type of drum set up. It uses very little water and the washing action is different. Wish it had a clear lid so we could see the water level and washing action. The lid locks, so you cannot just lift it to see the levels and washing action. Because it uses less water, it may take around 1.5 hours to wash a load when the old style washers would do it in 35 mins. The clothes are clean and well spun out for the dryer. Sometimes you almost don't need a dryer. It tells you not to wash items that are water proof or repellant. So shower curtains and the like are not supposed to be washed.
We're still trying to figure out the setting and when to try to activate them. Seems changes cannot be made once started unless you stop and drain everything and start over.
Overall, considering the time it takes to wash, it seems to be the new thing in energy efficiency.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Lakeland, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best Washer"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've used a good amount of washers in my life and this is the best one to date!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bronte, TX 76933, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Worst washer i have ever bought"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
I bought this washer a year ago and it has messed up twice. I feel like buying this washer was a waste if money. I have a family of 6 and really need a good working washer. One of the 4 technicians that came to fix my washer said you can only wash large loads aad there is a certain way to put clothes in the washer. This washer also goes off balance very easy. One technician also told me since i ro not have a concrete foundation my washer would keep messing up. I dont have $800 just laying around to just throw out the window. Im truely in tears. Washer has a 10 year direct drive motor warranty so problem is covered by warranty but yiu have to pay for extended warranty to cover the cost for technician to come out to diagnose then wait a month after diagnosed the replace part. So waiting about 2 months for washer to work and paying more money for warranty is not what i have time or money for. I do not recommend anyone to waste money on this product.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
Review 27 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tennessee, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The best washer I have ever purchased"
PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have never had a washer that worked this great. I would recommend everyone to purchase one. I love it.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 28 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ahwatukee, Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Unbalanced Load is really painful"
PostedFebruary 9, 2015
Pros: unbalanced load
I bought this to replace LG Tromm front loading washing machine. However, I t started with really troublesome unbalanced load, even when there is no apparent reason. After a service call and replacement of the Main PCB it does better. However, unbalance load is still a painful frequent ritual.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bishop, GA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"terrible"
PostedJanuary 31, 2015
Far and away the worst washer I have ever owned. It is also the most expensive. The washer is supposed to save water and energy it does neither due to its inability to balance a load of laundry. No exaggeration, 9 out of 10 loads will not balance. Big loads, small loads, clothes, sheets, towels, it doesn't matter, you get the dreaded 'UE' code. I've owned washers that were less than half this price that worked infinitely better. This thing is total junk. I bought it with a matching dryer, that thing works pretty good. It's a good thing too, because it's always having to dry clothes that weren't spun properly.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Manteca, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great features and easy to use."
PostedJanuary 24, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Replaced old washer with new LG. The new LG performed better than I expected. Very simple to use and everything comes out clean with no problems. I would definitely recommend this washer to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:utah
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This Washer does a great job"
PostedJanuary 20, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I just replaced my washer after 15 years. I wasn't sure what was out there and was not familiar with the current technology used for washers. I read reviews and checked with other friends who had this type of washer and they said they loved it. After, I have had it for about a month so far its lived up to its reputation. It has gotten my clothes cleaner than my old washer and is gentle on my clothes. I have enjoyed having this washer and hope it will last for a long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Middleville, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good... washing capacity is HUGE!"
PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Quality, huge capacity
We have had this unit about a month and had zero problems... Seems to wash well and do everything as advertised!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Virginia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall an excellent product"
PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer combines looks and efficiency at a great price. Excellent value
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Texas, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"New Technology is so good"
PostedJanuary 7, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased this washer and matching dryer about 6 weeks ago and the performance is much better than the old type.
The units are high-efficiency with large load capacity and the washer is much quieter than any I have ever used.
In our area the Elect Power Co. installed smart meters which allows me login and monitor our daily elect use. In the past I could always see laundry day but now it is no greater than any other day.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Independence
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Money saver"
PostedJanuary 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
Love this product for its efficiency & available options for wash cycles. Saving money on energy costs & water usage are added bonuses.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fairfax, VA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Washer"
PostedJanuary 2, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
I love this washer. It's easy to use and very nice looking. It has the ability to do really large loads which is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New York, NY
I've owned this product for:A few years
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Washer has great features"
PostedDecember 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Washer is very quiet. When it spins machine is stable
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Doesn't clean - Can take hours to do a load"
PostedDecember 26, 2014
We have given this expensive "modern" washer every chance possible. We were sold on this by Lowes as the washer of all washers.
I don;t care how you follow the directions of specifically "placing" every items of clothes in the washer, you are gong to get the UE sign. This means it is off balance and it could not balance itself. It will fill the tub back up wit water to try to balance. More waste, more headache and a load could literally take you 2-3 hours if you do not monitor it.
normal load will take you an hour and 10 minutes with fabric softener - that's on a good day. it's fickle as all get out. You will be frustrated at least 50% of the time.
Clean clothes - not so much. The clothes suppose to gently rub against each other for cleaning. Light stains - okay. Anything else a few cycles. Highly disappointed and will probably craigslist this one and cut my losses.
Pros - pretty quite
No mechanical issues after a year.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 39 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Carolina, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good"
PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
I have had this washer for about two months now. But, so far I'm really liking my new washer, a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"purchase the washer & dryer"
PostedDecember 18, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
this washing machine is not that bad. I rated it a 4/5 because I do agree it does not get most stains out. I had to hand wash a few items to make clean. Majority of the washing time are very long. overall the machine is quiet when washing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 41 Next>>