LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.624 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(601 reviews) 593
93%559 of 601customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
128 Questions | 232 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 21 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pottsboro, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great machine"
PostedSeptember 6, 2014
I have been very pleased with this washing machine. It is easy to use and does a great job. It has cut my number of loads of laundry by half because it holds so much more clothing. I love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 22 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Leonard, MI 48367, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it!"
PostedAugust 30, 2014
Pros: Quality
After suffering 12 years with a moldy front loader, this machine is like a dream! The clothes smell so fresh, and with the large capacity, I'm spending much less time with the laundry.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Vermont, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"extremely disappointed"
PostedAugust 28, 2014
Before purchasing this washer we bought an LG dryer, which we love. Based on our experience with other LG products and many positive reviews of this washer, we went with this one. What a disappointment it has been. The first couple of times the UE signal came on, I figured it was my fault. I simply redistributed the clothes and pushed start again. Well, after dozens of times doing this, too many hours wasted waiting on a single load of laundry, countless gallons of water wasted as the machine tries to re-balance itself and numerous articles of clothing destroyed during the never ending cycles...I can say that I DESPISE this machine and am completely turned off from LG products. I have four children and do not have the time or resources for the nonsense that this machine consumes. A load that should take an hour can take up to a whole day as the machine continues to add more minutes and water repeatedly and then shuts itself down. Annoying does not begin to describe this machine. Clothes that have gone in on the delicate cycle have come out misshapen and stretched out and still soaking wet. What is the point of the cycle? The tub clean cycle is a joke. It takes all day because the machine continues to say it is unbalanced. What could possibly be unbalanced- there aren't even clothes in it during the tub clean cycle!!! Yet it continues to refill with water and then shut down as the UE code comes on over and over. By no means is it energy saving with the amount of time and water it spends on a single load. And the bleach cup? I have NEVER ruined clothes with bleach until I had this washer. I don't know if the cup doesn't empty completely or if it doesn't run the bleach through all of the way elsewhere in the machine but it is pretty much guaranteed that the next load will also have bleach in it whether intended or not. After numerous articles of clothing coming out with bleach spots during a cycle that I didn't add bleach to, I have had to stop using bleach. That is ridiculous in a household full of active kids. As a parent, I have taught my children to not use the word "hate" as it is often too strong to express how one truly feels beyond the moment of anger, but I will say that after months of frustration, irritation, and yes, anger- I HATE THIS MACHINE. I wouldn't recommend it at all. It was not inexpensive and for the price and LG name I certainly expected a better quality product. Or at least one that functioned properly without costing me time and money. We are done with LG.
+9points
10out of 11found this review helpful.
Review 24 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very Nice Washer"
PostedAugust 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This washer has a very large capacity. It is very quiet and has very little vibration. I enjoy the settings options and it is easy to use. Clothes do come out twisted together though. You will have to spend some time untangling some of your smaller delicate items.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Acworth, GA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedAugust 24, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This product does a GREAT job of washing everything we put into it, including pillows, comforters, clothes, towels, shoes, etc. The only problem we have had is, as another reviewer mentioned, it seems a bit easily out of balance. Sometimes it will continue to finish the wash cycle, sometimes not. It will then need a Rinse and Spin cycle added on. Otherwise, GREAT piece of equipment. We also bought a matching dryer a few months after this purchase, and it has performed SUPERBLY often drying a whole load on medium in 30 minutes. Highly recommend both of these, ESPECIALLY the dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Radcliff, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great product at an affordable price"
PostedAugust 22, 2014
Pros: Performance
Here is a great washing machine. it has alot of great features without having a control panel like a jet fighter. all the controls are easy to understand and use.capacity is sufficent for king-size bedding, and keeps up with a family of five with no problems. the clothes come out nice and clean everytime regardless of how full the load is. it also is very quiet during operation and seems to very efficient in its water use. the soft close lid is another great feature,we have all dropped a toploader lid and heard the bang it makes. not with this one though. it has gotten alot of use in the time we've had it and never once has it gone out of balance.
So what you get is a really good machine that does its job and at a way lower price than some other brands we looked at.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 27 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Norfolk, MA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"I love this new washer!"
PostedAugust 21, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After our front loading washer broke down after only 6 1/2 years, we researched other front loading washers. We did not want to buy a top loading machine. However, we learned that front loading machines issues were very common and not repairable. When we looked at the top loading washer, we liked the quality, warranty, and recommendation. We have had the new washer for a month now and LOVE it! This washer is easy to use, has many features, and washes well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Concord, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedAugust 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
I love this washer, great on big loads, only threw an error once wife washed sheets + clothes. do separately.
I have 5 people in this house hold.
no complaints since I've owned it in the two months time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sioux Falls, SD, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Happy, happy, happy"
PostedAugust 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've only had my machine for about 3 weeks, but I'm just so happy with it. It's replacing another major brand that's only 3 years old and never did clean my clothes. This LG is fantastic as long as you follow the directions for use. As with most things, it's only as good as the person at the controls. I really, really like my new LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bloomington, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best Purchase for a quality product"
PostedAugust 16, 2014
Purchased washer July 4th. Delivery was completed in two weeks. We have been using our new washer since then and love it. Very quiet and does a pretty good job leaving the clothes almost dry. Warning to all new purchasers. Make sure you read the manual and follow the instructions. Also, it is important to not think of the old way of washing your clothes if your old machine had an agitator. This does not so you need to place the clothes in the machine as shown by the manual. Test it out first with a few pieces of clothes. Remember, this is a HE machine so it is important to follow the instructions. We love it and are very happy with its performance so far.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 31 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Denver,NC
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"all around great product"
PostedAugust 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
My wife and I are very happy with the washer,great features only problem it does such large loads , had to go back and get matching dryer.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Central Florida, FL
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Lots of great features!"
PostedAugust 14, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
Very happy with my washer. My favorite features are the delay feature (very useful when you want your clothes washed at a later time); coldwash water technology feature and smart diagnosis feature.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Denver, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedAugust 14, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
I have been very happy with my washer. I have only had it a few months, but I have not had any trouble with it. The clothes come out clean, and it is extremely quiet. It does take 57 minutes to wash a load of cotton clothes, which is longer than I am used to.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 34 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:SC
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent product."
PostedAugust 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We have used the washer about a month and find it quite good. We've done several heavy loads without trouble. It took a little get used to the different sounds compared to the old agitator machine but we like the washer very much.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 35 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jacksonville, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great features for the price"
PostedAugust 13, 2014
Pros: Quality, value
Large tub, great features, quiet. Great machine for the money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wesley Chapel, FL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great with the combo dryer that we also purshed"
PostedAugust 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, life's great
I have to ask my wife if the washing machine is on because it is so quiet. She is glad we upgraded to this machine from another washer from a different company. LG: Life's Great!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 37 for WT4870CW
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cape Cod
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Frustrating machine"
PostedAugust 11, 2014
We purchased this machine less than a year ago. We have always enjoyed LG products, and have been satisfied with their quality. However, this washer is most frustrating. It is supposed to balance loads automatically, and, as careful as I am putting in clothes - with heavier clothes on bottom, as recommended, the machine ALWAYS stops with error, and clothes need rebalancing. Every once in a while the machine works flawlessly, as it is supposed to do. But that's a rarity.If I could I would return and/or sell, and go back to my old agitating washer.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 38 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Wrinkle issues and length of wash cycle"
PostedJuly 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
We like features, ease of use, settings, etc. BUT, my wife is very displeased with the problem of the clothes being wrinkled when we wash items that are wash and wear that didn't wrinkle with our old machine. Athough this type of machine appears to be consistent in terms of design of other similar machines on the market,the older type of machine we had did not present us with the same wrinkle problem. The wash cylce for most loads is also inordinately long compared to our previous machine.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 39 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wauseon, OH
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great features"
PostedJuly 29, 2014
Pros: easy to use
This washer is easy to use. I love the soap and softener dispensers. You just load it and go.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? No
"I would not recommend this washer"
PostedJuly 22, 2014
This washer does not go through a cycle without a uE error which means the load is out of balance. I have placed the clothes carefully in the washer and it says out of balance and continues to add water trying to re balance. It never rebalances, so I need to take all the clothes out and put them back in again. This washer requires babysitting.
+6points
6out of 6found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 30 Next>>