LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics WT4870CW

4.5 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Top Load Washer Featuring Powerful StainCare™ Technology
Overall rating:
4.59 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(624 reviews) 616
92%574 of 624customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
130 Questions | 236 Answers
Customer reviews for WT4870CW
Review 21 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Doesn't clean - Can take hours to do a load"
PostedDecember 26, 2014
We have given this expensive "modern" washer every chance possible. We were sold on this by Lowes as the washer of all washers.
I don;t care how you follow the directions of specifically "placing" every items of clothes in the washer, you are gong to get the UE sign. This means it is off balance and it could not balance itself. It will fill the tub back up wit water to try to balance. More waste, more headache and a load could literally take you 2-3 hours if you do not monitor it.
normal load will take you an hour and 10 minutes with fabric softener - that's on a good day. it's fickle as all get out. You will be frustrated at least 50% of the time.
Clean clothes - not so much. The clothes suppose to gently rub against each other for cleaning. Light stains - okay. Anything else a few cycles. Highly disappointed and will probably craigslist this one and cut my losses.
Pros - pretty quite
No mechanical issues after a year.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 22 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Carolina, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"So far so good"
PostedDecember 21, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
I have had this washer for about two months now. But, so far I'm really liking my new washer, a lot.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 23 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"purchase the washer & dryer"
PostedDecember 18, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
this washing machine is not that bad. I rated it a 4/5 because I do agree it does not get most stains out. I had to hand wash a few items to make clean. Majority of the washing time are very long. overall the machine is quiet when washing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 24 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Utah
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"we love this washer and dryer"
PostedDecember 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love the auto water level and the lock when running. Keeps the grandkids out. The new wave force does a nice job cleaning too. Runs quiet as a mouse.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 25 for WT4870CW
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:calif.
Would you recommend product? No
"washer"
PostedDecember 16, 2014
I HATE it! I would NOT buy it again. I fail to see how it is 'energy efficient" when it can take up to 1hour and 11 minutes to wash a load? You CAN NOT just put your clothes in the tub, you have to pack them around the sides in order for it to wash? It DOES not wash them clean! I WANT MY OLD ONE BACK! If I could I would give it back to you! I tell everyone NOT to buy one of these kind.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 26 for WT4870CW
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Saint Louis, MO, USA
Would you recommend product? No
"It's Okay... I wouldn't buy it again though."
PostedDecember 13, 2014
I've had this washer for a little over a year. It's an okay/decent product. There haven't been any mechanical issues so that's a plus, but the actual washing of my clothes isn't the best. Let me explain. I use to have the old school washing machine with the agitator. I then got a king bed and wanted a washing machine that would wash a king comforter. That's how I got this new washing machine.
I'll give the large capacity an A+ but sadly there is a negative to this (no agitator)
If you're washing normal, none stained clothes, then the machine works fine, I suppose. But if you have clothes with stains or any little mud spots, don't expect much. My husband is a landscaper and comes home with jeans that have mud and other stains. The washing machine will not get any of the stains out. I have to manually scrub the jeans in my kitchen sink with hot water.
Maybe I expect too much. But going from the old school machine to this new one, I expect the new one to at least perform slightly better. It's worse! The old machine removed the stains. I'm a true believe the agitator is needed.
I also get error messages about the weight being uneven. The wash will stop and I have to move the clothes around and "hope" the machine will work. Sometimes it does, sometimes it doesn't.
One day I used the express cycle. I put a load in (normal load that I do all the time) and came back about 20 minutes later, there was an error and it was just sitting there. Error after error about the weight. I'm thinking if there was a real agitator this wouldn't have happened! My speedy cycle that was supposed to take 35 minutes took over an hour and I eventually just had to start the whole cycle over!
I've also done lots of normal loads that came out just fine, but that is what is supposed to happen. I shouldn't be excited that my washing machine works, that's the machines job! I wouldn't not buy this machine again. It's not a bad product but I'm just not impressed.
If my husband had it his way, he would throw it out now and go find our old washer we gave away for free!
Oh and another thing, when I had my old machine, I could fill it with water, add clothes, let them soak, all while the lid was open. I don't think you can do this with the new machine. The lid needs to be closed for the cycle to start. Another annoying feature (or maybe I'm missing something)...
This new machine is one those buys I just tell myself to deal with it because it is already paid for....
I will say the panel with the options for the cycles is nice looking and easy to use. It also lights up pretty. But again, I need clean clothes, not just a pretty looking machine...
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 27 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:SC
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"so far so good"
PostedDecember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Washer has a large load capacity that is great for comforters and such. I have had it for a couple of months and it is a dream to use. Can't wait for my dryer to go so I can get its sister. I hope it continues to preform like this but time will tell.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 28 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Corning, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent machine"
PostedNovember 27, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Excellent machine. We are very satisfied with the performance of this machine
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 29 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Detroit, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome awesome awesome!!!"
PostedNovember 27, 2014
Pros: Performance
This washer is amazing. It has a deep inside. It cleans nicely. I love that it doesn't have a full agitator. It has many cycles to choose from and I love the melody it plays when the cycle is done. The safety lock is nice too. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 30 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Oswego, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"We LOVE It"
PostedNovember 25, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
First pair we ever had and love it. Washer is easy to use and cleans great. Wish we would have got them sooner.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 31 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Greenwich, NJ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer!"
PostedNovember 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I absolutely love this washer! I bought it from HHGregg and the day it was delivered was the day my life became much easier! I can stop worrying about stains and whether my clothes will be properly cleaned. This washer does it so well! What can I say except that I am in love with my new washer! Thank you LG!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 32 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Michigan, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product cleans well"
PostedOctober 30, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
Like the way it spins the clothes so they feel almost dry before you put them in th e dryer. It is very easy to understand the directions for usage. The only draw back is the noise when it spins. Very loud.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 33 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jacksonville, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"I love it"
PostedOctober 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Best Ever! Can believe how well this machine works. I actually like washing clothes
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 34 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Edgewood, NM 87015, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Cleans very well."
PostedOctober 20, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This unit replaced a twenty year old- old school agitator washer! .The difference in how well it cleans, the reduction in water usage is excellent. Just the water saving and subsequent saving of our water softener is a great feature of this machine. I also have clothing that I though were permanently stained and after using the high tech load options they came out clean.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 35 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Big capacity"
PostedOctober 12, 2014
I am using this washer for couple month. It wasn't really quiet that I expected , but I can wash many clothing . Hope this washer works long time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 36 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Glendora, CA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Extremely Pleased!"
PostedOctober 7, 2014
Pros: Performance
We purchased this washer a month ago and are so happy! It not only cleans our laundry well and with much less water, it is large enough to do our comforters and bulky items with ease. Love the features and how quiet it is. We highly recommend this washer!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 37 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Montana
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This washer is fabulous!!"
PostedOctober 3, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The washer holds a lot of laundry, it is much quieter than my previous washers and I really like selecting the type of wash I have and adjusting the water temps, speed and soil level. It has the special feature choices to enhance the cleaning of your laundry. I have not been disappointed and without the regular middle churning type of washer, this doesn't mutilate your clothes.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 38 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great washer"
PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Works we-does a good job cleaning clothes and is easy to program
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 39 for WT4870CW
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Worcester, MA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Saving money on utility bills"
PostedSeptember 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
I've had this washer for 3 months. I've noticed a significant decrease in water & electric bills. The tub is huge so I don't have to do as many loads. I sort my laundry so some loads are small. The washer auto-adjusts the water level so it only uses the amount needed. When the cycle is over the items are not heavy with water so it takes less time in the dryer. I didn't buy a new dryer so I'm really loving this washer! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars is that we had a problem during the first week. Error message said the water flow was being blocked. There was glue blocking the pipe inside the machine at the back. It could've been something that happened during the installation or at the manufacturer. We called the store and they couldn't fix it so we called the manufacturer and they sent someone to fix it. We didn't have to pay anything to get it fixed even though we didn't purchase the extended warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 40 for WT4870CW
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Monticello, AR 71655, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The Quiet Machine"
PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have only had the washer for about 3 months, but love it thus far. It is very quiet and does a great job washing any size load. It takes much less detergent to do the same amount of clothes as previously. The only downfall that I have is where the detergent and softener dispenser is located. With the types of detergents dispensers out there you have to use a small cup to put it in the dispenser.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
<<Previous 1 2 3 4 5 ... 31 Next>>