LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics.

LG Electronics 50PN6500

50" Class Full HD 1080p Plasma TV (49.9" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.724 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 99
95%100 of 105customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 50PN6500
Review 1 for 50PN6500
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Winnsboro, SC 29180, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Poor quality"
PostedApril 15, 2015
I am not pleased with my LG because after only a year and half. It just started turning off and after about ten minutes it comes back on. Sometimes I get up in the middle of the night and it has turned itself on. My kids are unable to play with their xbox because it keeps going off and on.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50PN6500
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jonesborough, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Product Failure"
PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Pros: easy to use
Had this TV for a little over two years and the HDMI port on the side came loose and fell into the bottom of the TV. Very disappointing and will probably look for a different brand TV next time.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Diego, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Plasma is the only way to go with TVs"
PostedFebruary 6, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
It seems like plasma tvs are going out of style with all of the LED and LCD options available. I have a brain injury and have problems with the LED and LCD tvs. Especially when the picture "pans" in any direction. I see it freeze frame for a short time, but it is enough to give me a headache. This is one of the reasons that I love plasma tvs. They don't have the glitchy "pan" that the other tvs do. The refresh rate is fast enough (even on this huge tv!) to avoid it.
The price is a great value. I almost bought the "smart" version, but with my blu ray player being a smart device, I can run everything I need directly through the blu ray.
The quality is great. I can't say enough about this LG product. I am so happy every time I turn it on that I find myself smiling. It's huge! I love it!
The features that the tv doesn't have are easily fixed with external equipment that is inexpensive to buy (if you don't already own it).
Overall a great tv that I plan on having for years!
This review is asking me to state my primary reason for purchasing the tv. I wrote online research, but it wasn't only the research I did that convinced me that this was the tv for me. The quality, the name brand, the price, the ease of customer service (my experience in the past with LG, and with this tv also), it also was highly recommended by almost every review that I read on it and by a few friends that also purchased the tv.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Iowa, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedJanuary 28, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is 1 of the best values I found and a few years later I'm still impressed
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Jersey
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Plasma enthusiast"
PostedDecember 14, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
For the price and size you can't get any better. Excellent for live sport and video gaming
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ky
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Television went out before two years"
PostedNovember 3, 2014
I loved this TV and the picture is excellent. About six months ago the hdmi port 1 stopped working and now my whole tv went out. I would not recommend because paying for a television and only lasting two years is not a bargain to me.
-2points
1out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Hastings, MI 49058, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Simply awesome"
PostedOctober 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Great features.....easy setup....really love the manual picture set up. Really easy to use. The results were great. Fabulous picture....plasma pictures are the best. I have LCD and LED's in my home too and the plasma just blows them all away.
LG makes a great product, I would recommend there products and this one in particular, to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Carolina Shores
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"outstanding picture quality at a bargain price"
PostedAugust 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Easy to set up & fine tune for best picture & sound. Simple easy to use remote. only shortcoming is that it should have one more HDMI port.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NW Ohio
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Television without unnecessary features"
PostedMay 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
This television is great. I was apprehensive because it is in a bright room, but there is no glare or reflection problem. It is the same size as my old projection unit but seems bigger because the picture is so much crisper.
Being able to quickly shift between Cable and DVD is great, as is the ability to easily jump between picture settings for contrast, etc.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Dallas, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Basic TV for people with basic needs"
PostedJune 19, 2014
Pros:
Great screen size and image quality for the money. Construction seems solid and looks good. Easy initial setup. It's heavy, but that also means sturdy, I have no fear of my 1 year old child stumbling on it and moving it.
Cons:
Sound could be better. Just 2 HMDI and 1 USB connector. If HDMI1 connector is used, plugging and unplugging the USB is a pain to do, so small available space for the fingers. Video playback on USB port is impossible due to firmare, and you can't change the firmware. The infrared detector for the remote is located in the lower left corner, and you have to aim the remote control carefully or it won't work. Screen is too reflective during daylight. I know it's not a smart TV, but I would expect at least an ethernet port. Remote control looks and feels cheap.
+3points
5out of 7found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cleveland, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome Picture!"
PostedJune 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
I had heard that plasmas were not as bright as the led's but after having this TV I know that is simply not true. Bright screen, vivid colors, rich deep black levels, and absolutely no blur, no matter what I am watching. I absolutely LOVE this TV.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture with great contrast and refresh rate"
PostedJune 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Great picture with great contrast and refresh rate
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Nashville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Amazing product for very reasonable price."
PostedApril 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
LG has produced another sleek product. I already had an LG surround sound system/Blu Ray player. The two integrated perfectly, and I could not be happier with the performance of them both. Excellent picture that truly makes the black colors black.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Redford, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Why Did I Wait?"
PostedApril 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, price
My First 1080p Full HD. I kept waiting for the price to come down and still the salesman insisted, "You can't see the difference between the 720 and 1080". The clarity and resolution of the 600Hz refresh rate has opened my eyes. Ease of setup, light weight and the many aux ports. To me it was well worth the cost. I guess he just wanted to sellout his 760's.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Schuylkill Haven,Pa
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"bang for your buck"
PostedMarch 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Price-reasonable, Picture-great, Audio-better than I expected.. I'm a sports viewer, and for me it is a great TV, no blur, sharp pictures. You should be pleased if you invest your hard earned money on this TV
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The picture takes my breath away"
PostedMarch 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality, picture quality
Received this TV as a Christmas gift and am still in awe of the color saturation and picture depth of this very slim, sweet looking TV. I wanted to watch every commercial over the holidays just to enjoy the colors! Wonderful value for your investment ~ I didn't need to pay all that extra for a smart TV...I have a smart Blu ray player so tons more picture quality here for my money.
The only negative I have encountered is that there are only 2 HDMI ports. I guess that is another reason this model is priced a bit lower ~ a bit disappointing nonetheless. LG is and always has been cutting edge so not sure why they would short their progressive thinking minions on something as inexpensive as state of the art connections. Still ~ if I had the where-withall I would put this TV in every room of my house! I'm afraid I'm now ruined for other TV's.Thanks LG!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50PN6500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Platte, NE 69101, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great price"
PostedMarch 15, 2014
Pros: Quality
Great tv for the price. I have always had great luck with lg plasma televisions.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Myers, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent picture"
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We found this TV shopping online at a reasonable price then saw it at an even better price at a black Friday. We immediately rushed out and bought it because we were afraid it would sell out. After getting it home at setting it up we realized what a great product this was. After configuring signal in HD mode we were even more pleased. This is an excellent TV - All of our friend have given us positive feedback (even the ones who cautioned us about the perceived drawbacks of plasma).
+2points
3out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GREAT PICTURE"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
Very sleek tv with a great picture.LG has hit the mark when it come to plasma tvs. Refresh rate is awsome and color is great with the smart wizard. would buy again.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50PN6500
This review is from60PN6500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cary, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV for any price and a great value"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
This is a great TV, especially for the price. The viewing angles of Plasma are way better than LCD and that was important in my room. The only complaints I have are minor and that is that there are only 2 HDMI inputs and the only audio output is optical and stereo only. If you have a good receiver with HDMI inputs and output, both of these are non issues and every other TV in this price range has the same limitation so I can't really fault LG too much.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>