LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42PN4500

42" Class Plasma HD TV (41.6" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.585 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
95%39 of 41customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for 42PN4500
Review 1 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Willi_B
From:Detroit, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superb design and features"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Could not be more pleased, love the screen size, my first 42inch plasma TV. The clarity and color out of sight, I actually went into the dealers store for a specific LG 42inch in mind, but, they were out of stock in that model. I was then offered this model at the same price and made an instant decision to buy...really excited to get home and found how easy the set up was, excellent instructions. I absolutely LOVE my LG, and also have a 32inch LG, which I use as monitor for my computer. I'm one HAPPY old senior, relaxed and enjoying both !! Yay.....
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: keekee
From:Addis, LA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great product for the price we paid for it."
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
this product is excellent for the master bedroom. The picture shows very well in a nice cozy environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Rudeez
From:san gabriel
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superfine Picture"
PostedApril 11, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I started with a 32" LED and now have the 42" plasma. this TV is so easy to set up and the results are perfect. I'm glad I stuck with LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: knsh
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good buy"
PostedMarch 22, 2014
only problems i have had, is remembering how it all works and where to find it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: rishi2002
From:Islamabad, Pakistan
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"No one can judge that it is NOT 1080p"
PostedApril 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, very smart look, simply splendid, lovely
I own this tv for three months. Everything is splendid but the audio level is a little less i feel and due to this reason i have to buy home theater system to cover the thirst of amplified audio.
My all relatives got shocked with joy to see its stunning video and audio quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Herb 64
From:Sparta, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent TV for the price we paid."
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We replaced an older 50 inch LG Plasma tv that could be used as a space heater in a small room with a 42 inch LG plasma that runs much cooler and costs a lot less to run. We chose plasma because of the high refresh rate and good viewing angle. My eyes are more sensitive to motion blur at lower refresh rates. The 42 inch doesn't show the finer detail that the 50 inch did but is still excellent. Receiver sensitivity is excellent which we needed because we use an outside antenna. Sound is good but would be better with a sound bar. Would like to be able to fine tune a little better for a more crisp picture. Some people like the smooth look but I like detail. Detail in this tv is good but a little more ability for user tweaking (fine tuning)would be nice. Inputs are enough for us but evaluate your needs before buying. If you have the money (we didn't) go for the 50 inch. We are satisfied with and would recommend this tv.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: ddigger
From:okanogan, wa
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"We were very surprised and pleased with this TV!!!"
PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, clarity
Surprised by the ease of set-up, perfect size and clarity. Very pleased with the remarkable, realistic colors and the picture seems to transport you into the scenery on the nature shows.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"5 thin vertical line inches apart on my plasma tv"
PostedMarch 7, 2014
Purchase 2 years ago not bad I hope some read and contact me my TV is a 50 " class TRU Slim Plasma. Although I can still see my picture some times the line is visible if the background is light yellow or white on the screen.
Mark
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42PN4500
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: jjb1952
From:california
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"plasma tv"
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
although the picture quality is great i don't care for the amount of heat generated by the unit. LCD units are much more efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: billyfx
From:Madison, WI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"42" Plasma"
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We love this Plasma TV. We needed a new TV in the basement and because it is dark down there we have no issue with any reflection. The 20 degree pan on the stand works awesome.
Features are great. It practically set itself up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: John C
From:San Antonio, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Features without the price"
PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We wanted a TV we could view from the side, with a high refresh rate, was good in bright light, and that would fit it in our 42" wide TV cabinet. This TV was the only TV on the market I could find to meet those criteria, and I am really glad I found it.
I wish it was 1080p, but you can't really tell the difference unless you're 3 feet away.
Its easy to set up, and I get internet TV by hooking it through HDMI to my internet enabled Blu-Ray.
All in all, a great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: matahari93
From:Fort Smith, AR, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has a great picture"
PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Very good picture and sound. Style is very thin and sleek. Sound is very good. My son would like to have had more options for fine tuning everything but is still pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Lee
From:Sun City, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Value for the Money!"
PostedNovember 20, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
My husband and I are so satisfied with our new LG Plasma flatscreen....the picture quality and clarity are outstanding!! The cost undercut all those comparably compared. We highly recommend this product and will purchase from LG in the future!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Bill
From:North carolina
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"VERY GOOD PICTURE"
PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Very good picture. Has 2 hdmi ports a plus. could use some more jacks for 1 more component.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Tamara-2013
From:Chesterfield, MI 48051, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This television is a FANTASTIC Value for the price"
PostedOctober 17, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
My husband and I have been wanting a larger, flat screen television for some time but couldn't afford one, at least we thought we couldn't. Then our 32inch old school, heavy, picture tube television finally died so we had to get a new TV. We looked and looked and everything we found was small and very expensive. Then it happened--We found this TV. It was bigger than we thought for the price and it has a beautiful picture. It is the same price as many of the smaller TV's, we couldn't believe it!! We were so excited, we actually found a 50 inch TV, plasma, fantastic picture and sound, made by a great, reputable company LG Electronics. It was a great feeling walking out of the store with a television 20 inches larger than we thought we could afford. We are definitely the most satisfied customers. Thank you LG!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: runner
From:Las Vegas, NM 87701, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good Picture"
PostedOctober 3, 2013
Pros: easy to use
We wanted a low cost plasma TV. This TV was VERY reasonably priced and has a very good picture. Due to the low price, it is the bottom of this line so there are a minimal number of features. The upper model has more features but this is exactly what the doctor ordered.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Mike000
From:New Hampshire, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV at a Great Price"
PostedJuly 24, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Not sure why this is priced so low, because it's value far exceeds the amount I spent. The biggest drawback is that I can't leave the couch now!
Great blacks and colors, very easy to set up, and auto-offs so no image burn.
The only issue I have with it is the lack of audio-out options. The only sound system you can hook up is a optical-out system.
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Dallas
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This is a great product."
PostedAugust 27, 2013
This is a great tv. I only have one complaint about it. If you are playing Xbox 360 and switch HDMI channels it will reset your Xbox.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: GranPop
From:Ruston, LA 71270, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture! Some issues"
PostedJuly 12, 2013
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
We absolutely love the picture of our new 42" LG Plasma TV. Our children gave it to us as a gift and we are so happy that they did! It is a little bit harder to turn on than our previous TV. You have to aim the remote much closer to the bottom left corner than we were used to with our previous TV, but we are getting more used to that. We tried to set the TV up so that the closed captioning text would come on whenever we muted the TV (something that our previous TV would do and we used quite frequently), but our installer was not able to get this TV to work that way. Unfortunately, after only a few weeks, our TV started turning off for no reason. You could turn it right back on, but it was obviously a nuisance. Luckily, our children purchased the TV from a local store named Best Way and they have wonderful customer service. They came out immediately. At first they thought the problem was with our DirecTV service, but they ruled that out. They were not able to figure out the cause of the problem so they swapped out our TV for a new one. So far so good with the new one! We still love the size and quality of the picture!!!
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Jenn01
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Happy with LG T.V."
PostedAugust 22, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am very happy with my LG Plasma 50" T.V. The picture and sound quality are great and so was the price! It was also very easy to set up.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 Next>>