LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42PN4500

42" Class Plasma HD TV (41.6" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.609 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
96%44 of 46customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for 42PN4500
Review 1 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:United States
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Plasma TV"
PostedOctober 4, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is my first plasma TV and an upgrade from an older LCD that stopped working. Easy setup, still need to adjust some of the settings but the picture is great so far. Decent sound even without external speakers. Excellent overall value for what it is - highly recommend LG products!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Narragansett, RI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A beautiful, sleek TV with a fantastic picture!"
PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this product to replace a much smaller TV that had died on me. Once I set it up and turned on the TV, I was hooked on the incredible picture. After making a few adjustments to the settings, I had the picture that suited my tastes exactly. Very easy to use and mounting it wasn't as hard as I thought it would be. It is heavier than a comparable sized LCD/LED TV so you may want to get some help lifting it. I would recommend this TV to everyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Canastota, NY 13032, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Just a great television for the price I paid"
PostedAugust 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This LG plasma is my first HD TV and I couldn't be more delighted with the fantastic picture, great sound and ease of setting it up and selecting the choices of pictures and sound. It is a tremendous value and am so glad I made this purchase. Instead of just watching movies and games I feel like I'm right there. AWESOME.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Baltimore, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This TV is GREAT!!!"
PostedJune 1, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
I got this TV for my bedroom only because I had bought a larger one for my living room first, also an LG. The LG was really easy to set up and their support was easier to deal with then some of the other manufacturers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Puerto Rico
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Repair Support"
PostedJune 8, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
The TV has excellent features like color and audio setting. Easy of use setting control. The picture for a 720P TV is excellent. My TV stpo working at 45 days of shipping. Made a service ticket by phone and next day LG techsupport arrive to my house and in 8 days my Tv was repaired. Excellent service and tech support.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Detroit, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superb design and features"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Could not be more pleased, love the screen size, my first 42inch plasma TV. The clarity and color out of sight, I actually went into the dealers store for a specific LG 42inch in mind, but, they were out of stock in that model. I was then offered this model at the same price and made an instant decision to buy...really excited to get home and found how easy the set up was, excellent instructions. I absolutely LOVE my LG, and also have a 32inch LG, which I use as monitor for my computer. I'm one HAPPY old senior, relaxed and enjoying both !! Yay.....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Addis, LA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great product for the price we paid for it."
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
this product is excellent for the master bedroom. The picture shows very well in a nice cozy environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:san gabriel
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superfine Picture"
PostedApril 11, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I started with a 32" LED and now have the 42" plasma. this TV is so easy to set up and the results are perfect. I'm glad I stuck with LG.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good buy"
PostedMarch 22, 2014
only problems i have had, is remembering how it all works and where to find it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Islamabad, Pakistan
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"No one can judge that it is NOT 1080p"
PostedApril 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, very smart look, simply splendid, lovely
I own this tv for three months. Everything is splendid but the audio level is a little less i feel and due to this reason i have to buy home theater system to cover the thirst of amplified audio.
My all relatives got shocked with joy to see its stunning video and audio quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sparta, MI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent TV for the price we paid."
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We replaced an older 50 inch LG Plasma tv that could be used as a space heater in a small room with a 42 inch LG plasma that runs much cooler and costs a lot less to run. We chose plasma because of the high refresh rate and good viewing angle. My eyes are more sensitive to motion blur at lower refresh rates. The 42 inch doesn't show the finer detail that the 50 inch did but is still excellent. Receiver sensitivity is excellent which we needed because we use an outside antenna. Sound is good but would be better with a sound bar. Would like to be able to fine tune a little better for a more crisp picture. Some people like the smooth look but I like detail. Detail in this tv is good but a little more ability for user tweaking (fine tuning)would be nice. Inputs are enough for us but evaluate your needs before buying. If you have the money (we didn't) go for the 50 inch. We are satisfied with and would recommend this tv.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:okanogan, wa
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"We were very surprised and pleased with this TV!!!"
PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, clarity
Surprised by the ease of set-up, perfect size and clarity. Very pleased with the remarkable, realistic colors and the picture seems to transport you into the scenery on the nature shows.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"5 thin vertical line inches apart on my plasma tv"
PostedMarch 7, 2014
Purchase 2 years ago not bad I hope some read and contact me my TV is a 50 " class TRU Slim Plasma. Although I can still see my picture some times the line is visible if the background is light yellow or white on the screen.
Mark
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42PN4500
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:california
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"plasma tv"
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
although the picture quality is great i don't care for the amount of heat generated by the unit. LCD units are much more efficient.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Madison, WI
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"42" Plasma"
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We love this Plasma TV. We needed a new TV in the basement and because it is dark down there we have no issue with any reflection. The 20 degree pan on the stand works awesome.
Features are great. It practically set itself up
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Antonio, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Features without the price"
PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We wanted a TV we could view from the side, with a high refresh rate, was good in bright light, and that would fit it in our 42" wide TV cabinet. This TV was the only TV on the market I could find to meet those criteria, and I am really glad I found it.
I wish it was 1080p, but you can't really tell the difference unless you're 3 feet away.
Its easy to set up, and I get internet TV by hooking it through HDMI to my internet enabled Blu-Ray.
All in all, a great value.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Smith, AR, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has a great picture"
PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Very good picture and sound. Style is very thin and sleek. Sound is very good. My son would like to have had more options for fine tuning everything but is still pleased.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sun City, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Value for the Money!"
PostedNovember 20, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
My husband and I are so satisfied with our new LG Plasma flatscreen....the picture quality and clarity are outstanding!! The cost undercut all those comparably compared. We highly recommend this product and will purchase from LG in the future!
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North carolina
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"VERY GOOD PICTURE"
PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Very good picture. Has 2 hdmi ports a plus. could use some more jacks for 1 more component.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chesterfield, MI 48051, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This television is a FANTASTIC Value for the price"
PostedOctober 17, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
My husband and I have been wanting a larger, flat screen television for some time but couldn't afford one, at least we thought we couldn't. Then our 32inch old school, heavy, picture tube television finally died so we had to get a new TV. We looked and looked and everything we found was small and very expensive. Then it happened--We found this TV. It was bigger than we thought for the price and it has a beautiful picture. It is the same price as many of the smaller TV's, we couldn't believe it!! We were so excited, we actually found a 50 inch TV, plasma, fantastic picture and sound, made by a great, reputable company LG Electronics. It was a great feeling walking out of the store with a television 20 inches larger than we thought we could afford. We are definitely the most satisfied customers. Thank you LG!!!
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>