LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics.

LG Electronics 42PN4500

42" Class Plasma HD TV (41.6" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.578 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(64 reviews) 59
94%60 of 64customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 42PN4500
Review 1 for 42PN4500
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Natchitoches, LA, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"This product is terrible. Not worth it at all."
PostedMay 4, 2015
This television is not worth it had mine almost 2 yrs its mounted on wall and the funny thing I have two And both are having the same problem I hate I got these televisions.
-2points
0out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Nort Carolina
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"very good guality"
PostedApril 1, 2015
On Monday 03/30/15 windsor electronic came to our home and kindly repaired the promblem that we had. He also (mike) given us a six month warranty and one month labor that was truly honorable by lg. 04/01/15
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Basic Plasma is better than LED"
PostedJanuary 18, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After auditioning 2 different LED sets in my home, I chose to go with a plasma display.
It is unfortunate that these are no longer being manufactured, but I'm fortunate to have been able to purchase a plasma TV before the stock was completely depleted.
There is no motion blur with this plasma TV and the colors are accurate. I would have preferred to have more HDMI inputs on this TV, but I made up for it by connecting the TV to an AVR.
I really don't like the fact that this TV only has a digital audio output. Analogue outputs are much more useful, as they can be used with headphones, a legacy audio system, or even the latest and greatest AVR.
The digital audio out leaves a noticeable gap between the dialogue from an OTA and the dialogue being output to whatever device is connected via the digital optical audio output.
That is my main gripe with this TV.
The picture quality is very good for a "bargain" priced TV. The audio quality is ok. I like the built in swivel stand / base. This is a very good looking TV. The menu system is a little basic, but it is easy to follow.
This tTV allows the user to get into some very technical picture quality settings, and I really appreciate that this feature is available on this TV. This is , perhaps, one of the most important features to include in a TV set and LG got this part right.
I would definitely recommend this TV to a friend.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great picture quality"
PostedJanuary 15, 2015
Traded ' down' to LG... Super excited about the extra vivid super awesome picture. I don't even pay for cable. Just stream from xbox and roku. So very go we bought LG :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tuxedo, N.Y.
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"What a wonderful product!!!!!!!"
PostedDecember 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, on line support and tips
I cannot tell you how much we are enjoying our plasma TV!!! Even our kitten enjoys watching it. It is so easy to program and use. The picture is so crisp and the sound is far superior to other tv's I've had. I would recommend this product to anyone who is looking for an affordable, top notch TV. Keep up the good work!!!! Oh and the online support and tips are a fantastic added bonus.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Spring Hill, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great 1st HD TV"
PostedDecember 14, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
This is our first HD-TV and it has performed to all of our expectations. The size is perfect for our Family Room; not too big, not too small. And, we have a great view of it from our Breakfast Nook. LG has been great. Our first one had a receiver problem but it was replaced without any hassle by HH Gregg under the extended warranty we purchased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Brookfield, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"" Finally A Change ""
PostedOctober 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I surprised my sister by ordering this tv to replace a console set from 1986! At first she was cool to the idea of new technology, but after seeing the picture and hearing the sound we tossed the console away! She now has a great viewing experiance every night of the week. Thanks LG!!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:United States
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Plasma TV"
PostedOctober 4, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is my first plasma TV and an upgrade from an older LCD that stopped working. Easy setup, still need to adjust some of the settings but the picture is great so far. Decent sound even without external speakers. Excellent overall value for what it is - highly recommend LG products!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Narragansett, RI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A beautiful, sleek TV with a fantastic picture!"
PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this product to replace a much smaller TV that had died on me. Once I set it up and turned on the TV, I was hooked on the incredible picture. After making a few adjustments to the settings, I had the picture that suited my tastes exactly. Very easy to use and mounting it wasn't as hard as I thought it would be. It is heavier than a comparable sized LCD/LED TV so you may want to get some help lifting it. I would recommend this TV to everyone!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Canastota, NY 13032, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Just a great television for the price I paid"
PostedAugust 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This LG plasma is my first HD TV and I couldn't be more delighted with the fantastic picture, great sound and ease of setting it up and selecting the choices of pictures and sound. It is a tremendous value and am so glad I made this purchase. Instead of just watching movies and games I feel like I'm right there. AWESOME.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Oceanside, CA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Loved the 42 so much, I bought a 60"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
I bought this 42 LG to see if I liked plasma before spending a lot on a bigger TV. It worked great, very satisfied with it, so I upgraded to a 60 LG, putting this TV in a guest bedroom. It's the perfect size for a smaller room (13x13)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42PN4500
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Knoxville, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Nice TV till it went crazy"
PostedJune 18, 2014
I have had this TV just over 12 months. This week it went crazy. When you push the input button on remote it shut itself off, when you touch the mute button or the vol on the cable remote it shuts itself off, it stays off for 4 to 5 minutes then comes back on and the mentioned buttons work correctly for about 10 minutes. There may be other buttons that shut it off and I have just not run across them. I expected better from this TV than to go bad two weeks after the warranty ran out. Consumer reports had listed it as excellent. I probably won't buy LG brand again after this
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Baltimore, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This TV is GREAT!!!"
PostedJune 1, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
I got this TV for my bedroom only because I had bought a larger one for my living room first, also an LG. The LG was really easy to set up and their support was easier to deal with then some of the other manufacturers.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Puerto Rico
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Repair Support"
PostedJune 8, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
The TV has excellent features like color and audio setting. Easy of use setting control. The picture for a 720P TV is excellent. My TV stpo working at 45 days of shipping. Made a service ticket by phone and next day LG techsupport arrive to my house and in 8 days my Tv was repaired. Excellent service and tech support.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Detroit, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superb design and features"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Could not be more pleased, love the screen size, my first 42inch plasma TV. The clarity and color out of sight, I actually went into the dealers store for a specific LG 42inch in mind, but, they were out of stock in that model. I was then offered this model at the same price and made an instant decision to buy...really excited to get home and found how easy the set up was, excellent instructions. I absolutely LOVE my LG, and also have a 32inch LG, which I use as monitor for my computer. I'm one HAPPY old senior, relaxed and enjoying both !! Yay.....
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Addis, LA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great product for the price we paid for it."
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Quality
this product is excellent for the master bedroom. The picture shows very well in a nice cozy environment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:san gabriel
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superfine Picture"
PostedApril 11, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I started with a 32" LED and now have the 42" plasma. this TV is so easy to set up and the results are perfect. I'm glad I stuck with LG.
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42PN4500
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New York, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedApril 1, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Great sound and wonderful clarity of picture. The two HDMI ports also make it very easy to play streaming video from my Surface! I would suggest this TV to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42PN4500
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good buy"
PostedMarch 22, 2014
only problems i have had, is remembering how it all works and where to find it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42PN4500
This review is from50PN4500.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Islamabad, Pakistan
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"No one can judge that it is NOT 1080p"
PostedApril 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, very smart look, simply splendid, lovely
I own this tv for three months. Everything is splendid but the audio level is a little less i feel and due to this reason i have to buy home theater system to cover the thirst of amplified audio.
My all relatives got shocked with joy to see its stunning video and audio quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>