LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42LN5400

42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.679 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(825 reviews) 807
98%806 of 825customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for 42LN5400
Review 1 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Wayne, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Performance"
PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
This TV looks great and the picture quality is outstanding and is loaded with usable features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedSeptember 20, 2014
This TV has a great picture and sound. It looks great also.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Summerfied, FL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent TV"
PostedSeptember 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This LG HD TV has an excellent quality picture, features and value for the money. I highly recommend this LG TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV for the money"
PostedAugust 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
We got this as a replacement TV for our bedroom and it is excellent. Easy to use with a great picture. Great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Oceanside, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it!!"
PostedAugust 12, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Our old TV was this cheap-I magnovox 30 inch that I hated!!! It has the worst sound quality and the picture was less than stellar. After buying a new entertainment center and my old TV looking so pathetic inside of it, we decided it was time to finally upgrade! The picture on this television is beautiful and the sound is great! Plus now we can play video games from our couch instead of having to sit 2 inches from the screen to try to see what we were doing. I am obsessed with this TV! And now that my toddler is more interested in watching her cartoons she loves it too. I am especially happy about the hole in the bottom of the stand for the TV if you don't wall mount, so you can secure the TV to the entertainment center. No worrying about the TV falling on top of my curious climbing toddler. Great investment. Highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Seymour, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Picture"
PostedSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
This is our first LG television and we are extremely pleased with it. The picture is great! This is also the biggest screen television we have ever owned. It is like being at the movie theater! It is easy to get the color and picture just the way you want and also the sound is very good. The price we paid was also a plus!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisville, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"TVs great good picture quality."
PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The TV has a great picture quality, easy to setup and configure.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jacksonville, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Video quality is high, audio is average"
PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
We bought this tv about 2 months ago. We have watched 30 or so movies, Streamed redbox, amazon, and other streaming programs. The video is great: it has several different video modes that can be switched to find the best mode for the show you are watching. The audio quality is average: about 80% of the time, we do not turn it up past 40 (out of 100), but occasionally when streaming or watching a dvd, we have to turn up the sound to 75 or greater to hear all of the better sound features. Love our tv!! Got it for a great price!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cumming, GA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good picture"
PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Good picture, great sound quality, works well for a master bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great color, performance, sharpness."
PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I enjoy this LED HD TV. It is everything I wanted
in size and colorful sharp picture!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Severn, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV with a terriffic picture."
PostedAugust 3, 2014
This TV replaced a 4 year old Panasonic Plasma TV of the same size that developed some serious picture problems within the last year. I am impressed with the picture this LED TV puts forth. The colors are brilliant and very stable. We have the TV set up in the corner of a 13' X 19' family room and there are no issues viewing the picture.
My only criticism, so far, is the audio. The sound from the TV speakers is very tinny and flat. I have ordered a sound bar, hopefully that will solve the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Radcliff, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great features and color"
PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is my third LG TV. 32, 47, and now the 55 inch. The 47 inch was 5 years old and nothing wrong with it, just wanted a bigger screen for my living room and the newer LED. All have great picture and colors. Believe LG is the best picture out there on any TV and calibration couldn't be any easier. Highly recommend the LG TV's and I've owned quite a few
over the years. Sound is ok but you really need a sound bar as you do with all other TV's in the market for great sounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Kettle Falls, WA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"47LN5400"
PostedSeptember 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
What amazing advances in TV's since I was a kid and our first tv was a black and white 20" screen. The colors are brilliant and the screen response is instant. No blurred action scenes. For this old man the remote control is complicated, but perseverance wins out. This is a GREAT TV, and the price was reasonable for the features it parades.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Port Richey, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Picture quality is very good"
PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I bought this TV to replace my 40 inch LED. My wife and I are surprised at the picture we have with Verizon FIOS. The only thing I wish was better was more connections for things like DVR, Wii, and Blu Ray players. We are completely satisfied with this LED TV and recomend it to anyone looking for a big LED TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ocala, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Stunning Picture"
PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We purchased this TV about two months ago. The picture quality didn't compare to the others. It is so crisp and clear. We are very happy with our LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tampa, Fl
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG 47LN5400"
PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
My third LED set and it is the best one of the three. Solid, perfect picture and the controls are easy. Speakers are ok, but that is taken care of with my sound bar. Overall, great tv. I would definitely buy it again. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bay City, TX 77414, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Just another one"
PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
After giving my dauther my pride and joy 6 year old 50+ LG, I figured I would be settling for less. I've been very happy this one too. This well built unit has an outstanding picture and sound. The only that I get tired of is the questions that I get about it when freinds are over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Another quality TV from LG."
PostedJuly 20, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I bought this television to replace my old power hog LCD. The features on this TV are great and the of out the box setting are great. The only negative thing about this TV is the lack of inputs. I have a lot of older gaming consoles so I have ton of component and A/V inputs to play with. But that is easily remedied with some switch boxes and my home theater. This is a great TV and I recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Noblesville, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Looking for new tv"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Our old TV died very unexpectedly, and we were in a hurry to replace. This TV does all we need/want it to. Has good picture, sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Maricopa, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedAugust 31, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We had already owned a 42" LCD, 720p LG tv. It is great to watch sports, esp. NASCAR and football.
I do wish that it had one more HDMI port and a computer input.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next>>