LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42LN5400

42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.674 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(686 reviews) 673
98%670 of 686customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
54 Questions | 50 Answers
Customer reviews for 42LN5400
Review 1 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Copp10
From:United States
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall Great TV"
PostedApril 14, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
This was my first LG purchase and overall, I am pleased. The sound and color are great and it is easy to navigate and set up to your liking. However, the picture is a little fuzzy and I am not too happy about the lack of HDMI connections
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: SCM74
From:Kansas
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Choice"
PostedApril 14, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Great picture, great sound, easy to install....what more could you ask for?!?!?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Pudgey69
From:Virginia, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedApril 14, 2014
Pros: Performance
The LED TV works great in my sunroom in the bright light on sunny days.
Love it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: sliver
From:Waterville, MN 56096, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"easy to set up"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Easy to operate and set up this model. Color and sound are great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
From:Kansas City, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Everything I could ask for in a TV"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
This TV is a great buy. The picture quality is excellent, it's simple and intuitive to use, and it works perfectly with my connected devices (gaming system, Blu-Ray player and AV receiver/speakers).
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: bob
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"excellent TV with good color"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance
I down-rated the Features because of the terrible owners manual included with the TV. I went online to see if there was a more comprehensive manual but didn't find one.
That left me having to fumble through the very complex menus to hopefully get the configuration I wanted.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Dana
From:MN
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"We love it!!!"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, clarity of words/numbers
We are thoroughly enjoying this LG TV, especially Dan, who has macular degeneration. Compared to our old TV, this is a miracle and he can watch sports with the ability to see the scores and other statistics.
Before the LG TV, this was a really big problem. He loves this ability to see for himself what is taking place without asking for assistance. Thank you LG TV for making him a happy man.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: BobQ
From:Attleboro, MA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great LED TV."
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is great TV. The picture and sound are what I expected. Have had no problems at all. Installation and setup was very easy. Great TV for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Randy
From:Crittenden, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"The product has a great picture!"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Purchased and installed very quickly. The picture quality is great even when viewing at an angle. One issue we had was getting the picture to fill the entire screen. It took some experimenting to get it right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: cicidog
From:Indianapolis, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is terrific !"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
The ease set set up and place the stand on the tv is great. the picture quality for the price is fantastic !
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Donald45
From:Easton, MD
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent and Dependable!"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Replaced a previous LG model and was limited to 42" maximum by built in space. High quality, easy to use, and dependable for every day use. Speakers could use some directional improvement. I would buy another. Big band for the buck.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: KJTV
From:Everett, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture; Audio, not so much"
PostedApril 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am very much enjoying this TV after 3 weeks of viewing. The picture quality and settings are excellent, and the menus, simple. The built-in audio is pretty poor, however, and that has required some significant adjustment for the set this unit is replacing. For watching the news, it's fine, but for any other viewing, I run the sound through my AV receiver, which sadly, wipes out any benefit to be gained from the energy efficiency provided by the LCD-LED screen. I would not recommend this unit if it is to be "stand alone."
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Bill
From:Falmouth, MA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"42ln5400"
PostedApril 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality, 42ln5400
Delivery from LG was prompt - three days; easy setup; excellent picture; audio quality fine; design exceptional; best feature - the price. My next appliance purchase will definitely be an "LG".
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: alan68
From:Tampa, Florida
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"All around wonderful"
PostedMarch 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Beyond any other TV on the market.....when I turn on my TV, all I can say about the picture quality is.........
"IT'S ALIVE!!!!!!!"
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: Buddy
From:Portland,Maine
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"It has all the top quality features you need!"
PostedMarch 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The clarity of the picture makes you feel as if you are a part of the picture. So many adjustment features that let you set it up that fits your desires.
A minor negative I have is that whatever adjustment you open up, the white box that appears that tells you the selection you made sometimes interferes with the view of how the adjustment is affecting the picture.
I am not able to get the slight "tinny" sound adjusted to my liking, but I can live with it because everything else is top quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: voneetoe
From:Milwaukee, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great value ."
PostedMarch 26, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
It's like watching tv for the first time . It's very crisp and clear . Easy to setup and use .
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: Maduro Dan
From:Gainesville, FL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Fits my needs perfectly !!!"
PostedMarch 23, 2014
Pros: Performance
Nothing else to say other than this is a GREAT television. I suspect that if I wanted more features, I could have spend more money and obtained them. It's been a while since I've purchased a television so the prices caught me by surprise, but LG has an excellent reputation so the value is there.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: Anonymous
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture!"
PostedMarch 23, 2014
TV has a great picture and a good value for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: DanD2
From:Fort Wayne, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Quality brand with features needed for most users"
PostedApril 15, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Using in basement for gaming, movies, tv viewing, etc. Not connected to HD cable box, but with adjusting the settings can still get a pretty good picture. Sound is OK, but would recommend a sound bar or connecting to Blu-ray surround sound system or other. Bought on sale during Super Bowl sale. Nice size for the price.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: jamen
From:Albuquerque
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Picture"
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings, Quality
This is the first LG product I have purchased. I did a lot of online research and decided to go with LG. I love the picture. I was looking for a 40" tv but found a great promotion on this 55".
A couple of minor issues with the placement of the connections and the lack of enough HDMI connections. The mounting frame blocks the connection area and makes it difficult to make connections. Two HDMI connections is not enough with all the devices that are used today.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>