LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42LN5400

42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.678 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(814 reviews) 797
98%795 of 814customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
67 Questions | 60 Answers
Customer reviews for 42LN5400
Review 1 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV for the money"
PostedAugust 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
We got this as a replacement TV for our bedroom and it is excellent. Easy to use with a great picture. Great value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Oceanside, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it!!"
PostedAugust 12, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Our old TV was this cheap-I magnovox 30 inch that I hated!!! It has the worst sound quality and the picture was less than stellar. After buying a new entertainment center and my old TV looking so pathetic inside of it, we decided it was time to finally upgrade! The picture on this television is beautiful and the sound is great! Plus now we can play video games from our couch instead of having to sit 2 inches from the screen to try to see what we were doing. I am obsessed with this TV! And now that my toddler is more interested in watching her cartoons she loves it too. I am especially happy about the hole in the bottom of the stand for the TV if you don't wall mount, so you can secure the TV to the entertainment center. No worrying about the TV falling on top of my curious climbing toddler. Great investment. Highly recommend.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Severn, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV with a terriffic picture."
PostedAugust 3, 2014
This TV replaced a 4 year old Panasonic Plasma TV of the same size that developed some serious picture problems within the last year. I am impressed with the picture this LED TV puts forth. The colors are brilliant and very stable. We have the TV set up in the corner of a 13' X 19' family room and there are no issues viewing the picture.
My only criticism, so far, is the audio. The sound from the TV speakers is very tinny and flat. I have ordered a sound bar, hopefully that will solve the problem.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Port Richey, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Picture quality is very good"
PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I bought this TV to replace my 40 inch LED. My wife and I are surprised at the picture we have with Verizon FIOS. The only thing I wish was better was more connections for things like DVR, Wii, and Blu Ray players. We are completely satisfied with this LED TV and recomend it to anyone looking for a big LED TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ocala, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Stunning Picture"
PostedSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We purchased this TV about two months ago. The picture quality didn't compare to the others. It is so crisp and clear. We are very happy with our LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tampa, Fl
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG 47LN5400"
PostedSeptember 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
My third LED set and it is the best one of the three. Solid, perfect picture and the controls are easy. Speakers are ok, but that is taken care of with my sound bar. Overall, great tv. I would definitely buy it again. Thanks.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bay City, TX 77414, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Just another one"
PostedSeptember 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
After giving my dauther my pride and joy 6 year old 50+ LG, I figured I would be settling for less. I've been very happy this one too. This well built unit has an outstanding picture and sound. The only that I get tired of is the questions that I get about it when freinds are over.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Another quality TV from LG."
PostedJuly 20, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I bought this television to replace my old power hog LCD. The features on this TV are great and the of out the box setting are great. The only negative thing about this TV is the lack of inputs. I have a lot of older gaming consoles so I have ton of component and A/V inputs to play with. But that is easily remedied with some switch boxes and my home theater. This is a great TV and I recommend it to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5400
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Noblesville, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Looking for new tv"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: easy to use
Our old TV died very unexpectedly, and we were in a hurry to replace. This TV does all we need/want it to. Has good picture, sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Maricopa, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedAugust 31, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We had already owned a 42" LCD, 720p LG tv. It is great to watch sports, esp. NASCAR and football.
I do wish that it had one more HDMI port and a computer input.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mount, Pleasant, MI,48858 USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great quality,features & value."
PostedAugust 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Have has many TV's over my 72 years and this is the best I have ever purchased. Beautiful color, great sound, easy to follow instructions. Purchased it on sale so I got a great value for my money. I would and have recommended to my family and friends. And when we are in market for a newer or larger TV it will be an LG. Thank you for making such a great TV.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good TV, Short on Features"
PostedAugust 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
Picture quality is above what I would expect and is very viable, especially for the price range. I purchased in the price range knowing I didn't need a smart TV as I would be using a Chromecast anyway.
Sound quality is also subpar, which is what is expected for a form factor like this.
What I didn't know to expect was there being no RCA or AUX output to my stereo system. In addition, It could really use another HDMI or two. Keep in mind, If you are looking to improve the quality of the sound, the ONLY output is an optical jack.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Noblesville, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"TV had everything we wanted."
PostedAugust 29, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings, Quality
great picture quality, easy to operate, good price
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Weaverville, North Carolina
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A great product at a great price"
PostedAugust 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Vibrant colors, good sound, overall, an excellent TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pasadena, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"We Love Our New TV!!"
PostedJuly 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We got this TV in early June and are SO happy with the result. The picture quality is extremely clear and the size is perfect in our modest living room. We got a great deal at Best Buy, which was an added bonus. The TV was easy to set-up and we're really enjoying it! Fun to watch everything from The Bachelorette to baseball games.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Denver, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Smart Buyers will consider this LED HDTV!"
PostedJuly 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
120 Hz, great picture and sound! We had already purchased a Roku 1 and had Amazon Prime so getting a "Smart" TV didn't seem necessary. A simple TV controller to select source (Only two HDMI ports), AV for red/yellow/white RCA cable inputs and antenna for over-the-air broadcasts (which is what we are currently using). There were some complaints about the sound quality and volume (which is true about other brands), but sound seems fine with two installed speakers at the base of the TV? The 120 Hz seems crisp/clear for sports (Hockey/Baseball/Golf/Cycling) and haven't noticed blurring - which, I was really worried about. So far the TV has been great and was one of the less expensive units for it's size.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Buy"
PostedAugust 19, 2014
Pros: Quality
I have a few TV's and 2 of them are LG's I really like LG products they have gotten better and better to the point where they can keep up with the Best :) !!!!
Great buy ! We did have a few problems setting this one up picture wise but other then that.... we had to restore it twice ...now it is perfect.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:milford, mi
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"very good tv for the money, easy set up"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
our experience was very good with this set. No difficulties in setting it up. We wanted this size without a lot of extra expense for features we would not use. this is perfect for us. I would buy another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pine Grove, PA 17963, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Everything is working good,so far."
PostedAugust 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Quality
I think all these products work good at first. Let's see what happens when it is 10 yrs. old. My TV is working great, couldn't ask for better. The only thing I don't like is the way it changes the screen size for HD, I didn't buy it to have the screen go small.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mishicot, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent picture and easy to use."
PostedAugust 9, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, picture quality
the picture is among the best there is. Features are easy to understand.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 14 Next>>