LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics.

LG Electronics 42LN5400

42" Class 1080p 120Hz LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(483 reviews) 457
97%470 of 483customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 42LN5400
Review 1 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sun City, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great quality at great price"
PostedJuly 11, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Picture is bright and clear, very sharp. I have an antenna for local stations that is run through my computer and Dish satellite service. So, I have to use 2 of the inputs and both work beautifully and are easy to switch between.
I wanted a 42" screen and they were hard to find. LG had one and I will go to them first the next time I buy this or any electronics or appliances.
Pricing is very competitive and reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, IA, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Would you recommend product? No
"Panel FAILED at 13 Months"
PostedJuly 24, 2015
Awful! I purchased this TV and 13 months later, the panel malfunctioned. Service shop could not repair it. There are others who have reported short panel life for this LG TV. I will not ever purchase an LG TV again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fayetteville, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"LED Backlight died after 14 months"
PostedJuly 13, 2015
LED Backlight went out 14 months after a purchased it. This is the second LG TV in last years that died on me. Luckily, I purchased a extended warranty.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Houston, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good TV"
PostedJuly 2, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Purchased this TV in 5/2015. As of date I'm pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Aberdeen, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this TV"
PostedJune 19, 2015
Pros: Quality
The pic is bright and so clear you can see people make up on live TV this is the bomb
BUT!!!!! THE Speakers in the back to turn it up to hear it behind the set is deafening so I have to buy the LG sound bar to get the sound out the front ...that is much better .. the sound bad speaker underneath is exposed and the bass make the tv stand vibrate but all and all the tv is my baby
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:FLORIDA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"LG 47" Piece of garbage"
PostedJune 7, 2015
This TV died after 1 year and 360 days... DO NO BUY THIS
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"bright and clear"
PostedJune 2, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use
Very clear and bright screen. Always smooth with no motion blur. Watching movies is a pleasure on this tv. It doesnt have alot of un-needed plastic around edge of screen. And the remote also works with my LG bluray player. The only thing that it could use is another hdmi. Otherwise, wonderful.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5400
This review is from60LN5400.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Great features/color for 1 year"
PostedMay 31, 2015
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings
Liked all the reviews and enjoyed the easy set-up. Sound was OK for a typical flat screen TV. I purchased LG speaker system to enhance the sound. Color was great for 14 months. Picture and sound just went out and now I only get screen with vertical lines. Will be taking it in for estimate and hopefully it can be repaired.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Eagle Mountain, UT, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Hit the spot"
PostedMay 9, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This TV rocks! I didn't want a smart tv due to already having an Xbox that would do all those extra features. Plus it doesn't ping/search for wifi so i'm not competing with another device while I am using the TV. The picture quality is awesome, and the thickness is thin. Everything about the TV hits the spot that I was looking for in a TV, especially with gaming and movies. I am very happy about my purchase. Thanks LG!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:St Paul, MN
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Quality always tops"
PostedApril 15, 2015
LG 55" TV is great. Love the texture you see in the picture. With the latest technology the picture puts you right in the moment.
Installing was a snap. I always have great success with LG products.
Mary Jane H
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Athens, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"SMALL SCREEN"
PostedMarch 18, 2015
Pros: easy to use
my screen measurements horizontally is 49 inches so it really isn't a 55 in screen unless you measure it diagonally otherwise the screen is only 49 inches,I wish I had known this before I bought it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wakita, OK 73771, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product has great features."
PostedMarch 9, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
My TV is exactly what I wanted, the picture is crystal clear, set up was the easiest thing I have done and I love the 55 inch screen. I really appreciate the e-mails from LG giving tips for best viewing.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5400
This review is from55LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:The Villages, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good value"
PostedMarch 2, 2015
Pros: easy to use
If you are looking for a good tv for a good value with a nice size, this could be the one. If you want the newest features, like Smart or 3D, then keep looking.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:KY
I've owned this product for:A few months
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very pleased with this purchase."
PostedFebruary 25, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We have had this tv since Christmas. We got a really good deal on it. It has been worth every cent. I've heard good things about LG products...I now believe it. Very nice tv.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5400
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mount Vernon, OH 43050, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very crisp picture."
PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, worth the money
I love this TV.Great clarity. Perfect size for me.
Glad I bought this.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5400
This review is from50LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Texas
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: easy to use
I received this as a Christmas present, so I have no idea how much it cost, but I love it! It has a great picture and is easy to operate. My kids had been trying to get me to buy a new TV, but the old one was still working and I hated to replace it. They gave me this new TV for Christmas and I wish I had listened to them sooner!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:kansas
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great picture and easy remote set up"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: easy to use, Quality
Like this TV. My only complaint is for such a high price it should be a smart TV and have automatic streaming instead of purchasing a Firestick or Roku to go with it.
Color is bright and true and set up is quite easy.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5400
This review is from60LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Picture Quality & Sound"
PostedFebruary 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The 60"LN5400 LG TV is an excellent purchase. The TV has great sound and the picture quality is very sharp. The TV is very durable. It has MCI 240 and the 120hz makes the images look very smooth. Great TV for watching sports. The audio has an option for Sport Mode, which is great when watching any sports event. I recommend this TV to anyone interested in purchasing a high quality TV. The price is very reasonable.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5400
This review is from47LN5400.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:White Plains, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Power supply"
PostedFebruary 10, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
The power supply went off in a year and 2 months
But thanks to LG they replaced it
I would definitely recommend this to others as this is a good value for money.
The software can be a more user friendly and intuitive.
Overall an average rating because of the life of the power supply.
The stand can also be a little more stable as it does not keep the TV as sturdy as it should.
I hope this review helps.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5400
This review is from60LN5400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Quality"
PostedFebruary 4, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Easy install and very lite weight. Picture quality is awesome! Thoroughly enjoy this product and will highly recommend it. The price is excellent for the quality you get.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 23 Next>>