LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42LN5300

42" Class 1080p LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.785 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(237 reviews) 230
98%233 of 237customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
61 Questions | 66 Answers
Customer reviews for 42LN5300
Review 1 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Līhuʻe, HI 96766, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very pleased"
PostedJuly 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Had my TV for over 1 month, picture quality is a bit different from how it looked in the store, but overall it is pretty good. Im very satisfied with my purchase.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Chicago, IL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"WOW!!!!!"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
What an awesome picture. Use the picture wizard as it will make things a whole lot easier to get the best possible clarity
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5300
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good starter tv"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Quality
This is a decent starter tv. The main strength is the picture quality is quite good for the price. The sound is decent; on other tv's I have had problems listening to the news, but it is generally clear. My main problem is there does not seem to be a "stretch to fit" function, so most of the time, the picture has a wide black band around it; it does not fill the screen. 4:3 broadcast sometimes fills the screen vertically, but not horizontally. Also, you have to assemble the stand and the tv does not swivel.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Southfield, MI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture"
PostedJuly 9, 2014
Only complaint is that it would be nice to have an analog audio output instead of just the digital optical one.
I had to buy an adapter to connect to some wireless head phones.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5300
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Utah
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to use"
PostedJuly 5, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
This is one of 3 tvs in our motorhome. We find it easy to reprogram when we change campgrounds.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV!"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: easy to use
I've only had this TV for a short time. It is great TV! Wonderful picture and features.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product was truly worth the price"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
I had a LG tv before and was moving to a new place and wanted to get a nice flat screen tv and the first brand that came to mind was LG but still looked at other brands and prices and when all was said and done couldn't find any other reason to go with anybody but LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tulsa, OK, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent for the money"
PostedJuly 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
This TV delivers for what I feel is a very reasonable price. I bought a 42" LG TV three years ago for about twice the price and although I haven't put them side by side, this one is as good or better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:July, 18,2014
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great display quality"
PostedJuly 17, 2014
This TV was purchased for use in my master bedroom. The brightness and clarity of the picture is amazing and is viewable without my eyeglasses. I also was impressed with the reasonable price and easy setup (being someone who is not handy with tools and not adept at attaching and running cables). I have also enjoyed viewing videos from my cel phone by using an HDMI port/cable. I highly recommend this 39" model for anyone looking for a mid-size HD TV -- it's a wonderful buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5300
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:vegas
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"42LN5300"
PostedMay 29, 2014
First off if you buy or bought this TV from walmart i'm sure they had it listed as a 120htz refresh rate, their techs will swear to you it is, but as you can see right here from LG's website or if you call LG they tell you it is a 60htz max refresh rate. LG nowhere claims it to be 120htz refresh rate but walmart will, so be careful with walmart thinking it's 120htz refresh rate if that is what your looking for like I was ( I took their word it was 120htz. refresh rate ) The picture in HD is pretty awesome, and the picture on non HD channels most channels will be very good. The sound is pretty good for a flat panel TV I really haven't heard any "sound throwing" with the virtual surround setting turned on but thats OK your not going to get true surround without a home surround system added, regular dvd's played through a regular dvd player or blu ray, I have both players but the one I use in my living room with this TV is a LG BPM33 blu ray player, dvds look awesome and blu ray disks look even more awesome. The only downside is watching sports, 42in and 60htz doesn't look as good as a 120htz TV, the worst is trying to watch soccer, hockey, baseball in that order as far as pixilation goes on non HD channels, HD channels it does a decent job. So I would say yeah if your main reason isn't to watch sports on it and you don't care it's 60htz I would get this TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Iowa, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good TV for the price."
PostedMay 24, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality
The picture quality is very good, and easy to adjust the settings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fort Worth, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This is a great TV"
PostedJuly 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Quality, good price
Great TV! Great picture and sound quality. Would highly recommend this product to anyone looking for a television for the bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Utah
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to use"
PostedJuly 5, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
this is one of 3 tvs in our motorhome. We find it easy to reprogram when we change campgrounds.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Michigan, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great second TV for bedroom."
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We bought this as a bedroom TV and love it. Great features on this model especially the sleep timer. The picture is sharp and the sound is awesome. We love this TV and highly recommend it!! This was out first LG purchase, but I wouldn't hesitate to purchase another one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Western, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best TV I have ever had"
PostedJuly 4, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, value
Great right out of the box. Only made minor changes to setup. Easy setup instructions for any changes. Great picture and sound. Would recommend this to anyone.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5300
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:New Hartford, CT, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"good tv at a good price"
PostedMay 5, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
nice picture, but the reception/ antenna system is not as good as my old analog tv and digital converter box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Imperial Beach, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love this tv!"
PostedApril 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This tv has so many great features and it is easy to use them. It had super picture quality and sound. The price was great and the size is perfect for my apartment!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jackson, TN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great set selection for the price"
PostedApril 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, easy on the eyes
My wife and I currently own four LG televisions, a 20 inch, 32 inch, 37 inch, and this new 42 inch (42LN5300). All of the sets are great with excellent pictures, however, our newest, the 42 inch is our favorite. You can purchase other LG models in the 42 inch screen size with more options on board, but we decided to invest these extra bucks into a new LG Blue Ray instead. You will not be disappointed in this 42 inch set, we highly recommend it.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Norfolk, NE 68701, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this tv has the best picture"
PostedApril 22, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Great picture! Perfect for our room. Did not receive a cleaning cloth in the box.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bakersfield, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"A MUST BUY"
PostedMay 29, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I regret not buying this tv years ago. What makes it great? Picture quality AMAZING! Great sound.....Sounds like surround sound has been added. Great remote control ergonomics. Just a overall awesome TV
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 Next>>