LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42LN5300

42" Class 1080p LED TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.789 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(289 reviews) 281
98%284 of 289customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
65 Questions | 72 Answers
Customer reviews for 42LN5300
Review 1 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Iowa, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Overall great TV"
PostedNovember 15, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
We bought this TV when we purchased our new home in July and have had excellent luck with it so far. We have an older 50" LG Plasma that moved to our basement. The only complaint I have about this 42" LED is it only has 2 HDMI inputs where as our 50" has three. Minor but kind of a nuisance. Picture quality is great and we're very pleased.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Erie, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"VERY NICE PRODUCT"
PostedNovember 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
NICE PICTURE AND GOOD QUALITY and VERY EASY TO SET UP AND USE
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42LN5300
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Salem, OR, USA
I've owned this product for:A few years
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Solid picture, solid volume/speakers, 1 hdmi?"
PostedOctober 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Would have bumped it up to a 4, but theres no reason a TV like this shouldnt have at least 2 HDMI inputs. Otherwise, very happy for a non smart tv.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Iowa
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Especially love the color and picture"
PostedOctober 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This TV has excellent picture color and sound. I am very happy with the overall features of this TV. I purchased this TV to replace an older TV and didn't want to pay a lot of money.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42LN5300
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? No
"Bad"
PostedOctober 5, 2014
We had this tv LG42LN5300 model for 1 year in a box and after a year we decided to use it and give our big old heavy tv away. After 2 weeks of using this LG tv model all of a sudden it turns on and off automatically. I can't even turn it on and off from it's main button and remote. I called LG they dont want to repair because its out of warranty.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Augusta, ME
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedNovember 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
This is a great TV for the money and the picture is great, once you take the time to properly adjust the color and picture settings. The default settings are too dark and the color is strange, even using the simplified picture setup feature. However, once I took some time to change the settings, it's first-rate.
This set also really needs an analog audio output so it can be used to connect existing speakers, without having to purchase digital speakers, that easily cost as much as, if not more than the TV. The built-in speakers are about as good as it gets on a flat planel TV, which is to say, very tinny.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Noblesville, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great value for the money"
PostedNovember 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am very pleased with the picture controls. It gets great reception with my antenna. Chanel setup was a breeze. Wall mount was simple. The only improvement I can find is the sound volume control could be better
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Needs more HDMI outlets
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great 39" TV Picture & Sound"
PostedNovember 8, 2014
Pros: Performance
This LG tv has a great picture, great colors and excellent sound. It was easy to install, and I have enjoyed it very much over the past month since purchasing it. A truly great buy!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fall River, MA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"just what I needed"
PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: Quality
Perfect size for my den.I didn't need a tv with bells and whistles, I just needed a good quality tv and I got it.Great picture and sound.Love it!!My husband even said I did a great job picking this one.This is my 3rd lg tv and they are all winners.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Parkersburg, WV, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Purchased for daughter's bedroom"
PostedNovember 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
I purchased this tv on sale at Sam's. The price was good and the picture stood out from the other tvs around it. It has worked out great so far. It does not use a lot of electricity which is great because my daughter typically leaves it on all night. Very happy with the quality of this product and would buy this product again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent HD TV"
PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have written a review before. I have NOT changed my mind about LG HD flat screen TV's. This is an excellent product. The only thing it could have had is more HDMI inputs, but that can be overcome if needed. The TV sound is fine for down firing speakers, but a sound bar makes the sound excellent. The picture is top quality. Picture Wizard is an excellent tool for adjusting the screen. So, I am pleased at selecting this TV. When I have to purchase another TV, it will be an LG TV!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Carthage, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Thrilled with my new LG"
PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I purchased this TV about 2 months ago, and I've been very pleased. It's perfect for my size living room. The picture clarity and sound are great. I've been experimenting with all of the picture and sound options that were never available on previous TVs that I've owned. I would highly recommend this LG to anyone looking for value, picture quality and exceptional sound.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Brecksville, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product - Great Value"
PostedOctober 28, 2014
We have a much larger LG TV so when we were in the market for a smaller one for another room, we immediately checked out the LG's. We are so pleased with the picture quality and couldn't be happier with our purchase. When we looked at various brands side by side, there was no comparison in the clarity, colors and overall great picture that the LG offered. Great value for the price point and would highly recommend this TV.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Attica, NY 14011, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This LG is Awesome"
PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I've had this TV for about a month now and it has exceeded my expectations thus far. Beautiful picture and sound quality. It is easily one of the top TVs on the market for the price. I would highly recommend this product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42LN5300
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Traverse City, MI
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great picture."
PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: great picture
Pro: Great picture.
Cons: Does not have an audio output headset jack.
Does not have VGA or DVI inputs.
Does not receive weaker on-air digital signals as well as some other TVs.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42LN5300
This review is from39LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Palm Coast, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This LG 39LN5300 LED HDTV"
PostedOctober 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Easy to set-up and configure to our cable set-up, gaming system and stereo inputs. Great picture thanks to the LED backlighting, and the colors are vibrant, crisp and clear. This LG LED TV puts our other LG LCD TV to shame, with it's colors and the deep rich blacks. Gaming is a lot better too while using it, nice and bright - not cloudy and dull like the LCD.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42LN5300
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Baton Rouge, LA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great LED TV at a great value."
PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this as my first flat panel TV. The picture quality is first rate. I liked that it had optical audio output as the speakers are about the only thing I would say is "fair" about this TV. I bought a 2.1 channel sound bar that's perfect for my small apartment. The two HDMI ports are nice but a third would be even nicer. The LG BP 340 is a nice accessory. All in all a great TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Utica, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great picture"
PostedOctober 14, 2014
Pros: Performance
Excellent TV picture. If I knew the picture was going to be this good I probably would have brought a slightly larger screen size
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42LN5300
This review is from32LN5300.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Greenville, SC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great TV"
PostedOctober 14, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
We looked at a lot of TVs at the local store and this one stood out for picture clarity and the sound from the speakers
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42LN5300
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Palm Harbor, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Simple; Inexpensive; Nice Picture & Sound"
PostedAugust 27, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
Purchased this as an inexpensive replacement/upgrade for a bedroom TV. Didn't need any "smart" features. For the price, it has a very nice picture and even is bright enough to watch when the blinds are open in the day time. I was concerned that sound might be an issue but it seems to be clear with plenty of volume. As part of a home theater, you probably want a surround sound system but it works fine for watching broadcast TV and the occasional Blu-Ray in the bedroom.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next>>