LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics 42GA6400

42" Class Cinema 3D 1080p 120 Hz LED TV with Google TV (41.9" diagonal)
Overall rating:
4.561 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(82 reviews) 79
93%76 of 82customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for 42GA6400
Review 1 for 42GA6400
This review is from60GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Albuquerque, NM, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very Happy with this tv"
PostedSeptember 24, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Pic. quality is great, remote is very simple and easy to use, very easy to set up. I've had this tv for 1 year now and have no complantes. The picture still blows me away when watching blue ray and HD content. and the 3D works really well, even when converting a regular pic to 3D. Overall I am very pleased with it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 42GA6400
This review is from55GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this tv"
PostedSeptember 11, 2014
Pros: easy to use
My tv is great I've had it for a while now , no problems or anthing it's still running strong could ask for a better tv
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 42GA6400
This review is from50GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this TV-"
PostedSeptember 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The 50GA6400 is amazing! The HD picture, wifi connectivity, and app features are all top notch. This was the best entertainment purchase I have made in years.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 42GA6400
This review is from50GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Okatie, SC 29909, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love this TV!"
PostedAugust 22, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is our second LG. We have been so pleased with our first one we bought the exact same TV for another home. Clear picture, great controls and we are used to Chrome browser from our computers so its easy to navigate.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisiana
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has some really great features."
PostedAugust 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
The only drawback I have with this television is the lack of support for Google TV. The service never really took off so the number of apps has not increased. The lack of Hulu Plus is also a drawback. Other than those issues, I am very happy with my purchase.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GOOGLE TV ! ! !"
PostedAugust 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
When I first bought this TV, I was wondering if this TV can perform all the functions specified in the features. And finally yes it does for us............ Easy to use Interface, Great Resolution, Full QWERTY Keyboard remote, easy to use with Voice search (Yes I can send aloud instructions to my TV... My family love this), 3D Technology & I got free 3D glasses along with my TV. I don't need a separate chromecast to cast videos from my Tab & smartphone...... Loaded with loads of cool features.............
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mesa, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Many features"
PostedMay 3, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings
When I had to replace my TV I was overwhelmed by all the features and criteria to select from when making a choice. Rather than be confused by a sales person I used the top rated TV in my desired screen size by Consumer Reports. I found it on-line and had it delivered to my door step. The 3d is a fun feature. Voice commands help me find features. But I still have not mastered the purpose of the keyboard on the remote. There are so many features available and I don't like having to study the manual.which I know I will eventually have to do if I am get my monies worth. Picture is great and I was able to get rid of my TV EARS since sound is good even when using my DVD player. I had to call tech support when I thought I needed to connect my TV EARS and response was time was short and tech rep was knowledgeable.
+4points
4out of 4found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:SARASOTA FL
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"FOR ME A GREAT PICTURE"
PostedApril 19, 2014
I THINK THAT THE PICTURE IS GREAT, I LIKE THE SIMPLICITY OF THE SET UP, I LIKE THE SUPPORT, WHEN I HAVE MADE AN ERROR. I HOPE THAT IT CONTINUES TO BE A GREAT PERFORMER OVER THE COMING YEARS. THIS WAS A GOOD DECISION TO BUY THIS TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 42GA6400
This review is from60GA6400.
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Toms River, NJ
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Remote is great, tv could be too"
PostedApril 15, 2014
Pros: easy to use, best remote
I've had this tv for a few months now and overall am not thrilled with it. The first unit I received was defective where there were large bright spots on the screen. I was able to exchange it through the point of purchase. The second unit ended up having the same issue, although not as bad initially and the audio out would not work. I again tried to exchange for a different model (retailer refused, not lg's fault). I had to go through LG service, which was smooth, but the same issue is now occurring with the screen so I now need to call again and have it sent out for repair a second time. This may not sound like a huge deal, but it is very noticable when the picture pans. I watch a lot of sports and thats a pretty constant thing.
Overall the picture quality has not quite been what I thought. I haven't been wowed at all and I would say about 6' in from the edge of the picture seems blurry. This is on Satelite, gaming and blu ray. I've used calibration blu rays as well as the picture wizard, but am never really pleased with the picture. The motion blur definitely makes a difference, but crashes every time I try to adjust the settings.
The 3d is very cool and I picked an LG because of the 2d to 3d conversion, which does work very well. It's defintely fun to watch 3d movies and shows.
The smart tv aspect was definitely better before the update. Now there is no flash, chrome crashes all the time and no HBO GO (which was shown on th ebox for the tv come on...). You Tube, Netflix, etc are cool and very nice to have so conveniently available. Apps are very limited though. Do not think every app on the play store will be available.
The remote is by far the best part of this tv. It is absolutely awesome and I love it. Voice commands work well and having the keyboard remote with a smart tv is absolutely the way to go. No clue why more don't do it.
Overall, I would not say I'm happy with this TV. I searched and searched for what I thought would be best. Saw this TV on display (though the smaller model) in a few stores and really expected to bring that home, but it fell flat. Between missing the wow factor and all th eissues and inconvenience of having to arrange someone to be home for all the pickups and deliveries, it was certainly taken away even more from the experience. For what this TV cost, I expected more
+5points
5out of 5found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Colorado
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent picture and versatile remote"
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
Love the picture and many of the features available on the web. The remote does take some getting used to but has powerful features. I am disappointed that many of the internet features I thought would be a available are incompatible with Google TV - Hulu Plus, Xfinity Live TV streaming, and even an update to Google Chrome!!! Hopefully programmers and vendors will see enough demand to fill these voids. Still like the product overall but really wish I didn't have to consider finding work arounds for the internet access shortcomings.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"First 3D tv and I love it!"
PostedApril 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have been wanting a 3D tv since the day I saw my uncle who lives two doors down from me bought one. when I saw this one on special at best buy I thought I give it a try. This tv is everything I wanted and more, Its easy to use, it has high picture quality, and great colors.l love the 3D and so do my friends. I love how my PS4 looks on it too. I have watched Pacific Rim in 3D like 10 times and I love it. For my first 3D tv and the price I paid for it. I can honestly say I am in love with it and would recommend this tv.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Warren, Ohio
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"No buyer's remorse"
PostedApril 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, cool
When shopping for a replacement flat screen TV, I was overwhelmed by all the options. This LG TV met all my criteria, and then some. Great picture and great sound. Easy to set up and use. The sound options on this TV allowed me to do away with my soundbar and the Google TV feature allowed me to do away with Google ChromeCast. The IR blasters, which send infrared signals to control the cable box and BlueRay player, seem a bit primitive because they are visible, but they allow the TV remote to control these components without programming codes into the remote.
Love all the features of the Google TV; from seeing exactly what is on in real time sorted by category, to browsing through 3D content and internet. This TV has everything I was looking for, and more. I am very happy with my decision to purchase this TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Baytown, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Needs Firmware UPDATE !!!!!"
PostedMarch 27, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
This is a very good product but I would like for them to update the firmware the LG 3d cinema on this TV is not good at all the newer TVs have a real good 3d cinema and also the Netflix that comes with the TV does not support 3d Netflix other than that its a great TV very good picture and the Tru 120 works real good
+1point
2out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent TV"
PostedMarch 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought this to replace a CRT.
I was not looking for 3D but this was on sale and I thought I would try it.
I love the 3D. I think the passive glasses are better than the active ones. Lightweight and comfortable.
TV has excellent picture quality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 42GA6400
This review is from55GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Nashville, TN
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great bang for your bucks!"
PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, great value!
I have been very impressed with the quality and features of our new LG television. Initial set up was a breeze and integration with our other LG electronics was quick and painless. The new remote is impressive and easy to master, would love it to have the QWERTY keybd to be back lit when in use. The 2d to 3d is really beautiful to experience and makes old movies new again. We also love that the 3d glasses are comfortable and easily fit over most regular glasses.
Going from a 32 inch LG with 60hz refresh rate to this TVs 120 hz refresh rate and higher is like going from black and white to color for the first time or having your first true Hi Def experience. We own an extensive movie collection and can't decide what to load up next!
Also a big bonus for this TV is the apps included and available for download. We love having Netflix and Amazon Instant and others built in to our TV. All in all, we are thrilled to own this TV and have recommended it and shown its abilities to our friends.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 42GA6400
This review is from55GA6400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Houston, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG and Google made TV intelligent (not only smart)"
PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The integration of Google OS to a TV make a lot of sense:
Have a Smart guide that shows you the programs based on your cable provider is now at home a requirement for next TVs when we need new ones! This is superb!
Being able to use you Google account and what your owned movies from Play is perfect!
Control it from your android device. Some applications recognize your TV like as Chromecast!
The only thing that sometimes bother me is the start up speed and non responsive remote control after you use it for a long time a opening lots of applications. I guess it needs a better CPU...
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 42GA6400
This review is from55GA6400.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Sugar Land, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"LG Google Tv has a fantastic technology."
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality, the best technology
This is a really great TV, and I am thrilled with the picture quality and overall physical design of the TV. i Can't believe the exceptional 3D effects. I LOVE IT...........
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Charlotte, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product is right choice for me. !!!"
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Overall I am very much satisfied.
Except one thing that Skype / any Video chat applications are not compatible on this model.
Hoping LG should upgrade the features, similar to what you get on SMART TV's.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 42GA6400
This review is from47GA6400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:CA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Would buy another LG TV"
PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
Overall a great tv. a bit of lag time when watching sports. could use faster processor. Would give this 5 stars if there was a mobile app for this model. Remote is good but would be great if it was lighted and rechargeable. Just thinking for next generation.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 42GA6400
This review is from60GA6400.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Dripping Springs, TX
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Very Happy With This Product --So Far"
PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
I've had this product less than a month. So far, it has been pretty good. I bought it because of the Google TV feature. I was immediately updated to Google TV over Android 4.3. But this Google TV version is somewhat different than earlier Google TV versions. Most websites think it is a mobile phone. I am a little disappointed in the "full" web browser. I was expecting to be able to go to any website and display content and videos that I can view on my PC running Windows and IE10. Sadly this is not the case. Adobe is not supporting FLASH on this platform and some other websites will not open on this device (e.g. the free Hulu site). I wish this short coming was evident in the advertising instead of saying it had a full web browser. But if you have an Android phone, the menus and settings should be familiar and easy to set up.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>