LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics BP530

3D-Capable Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Smart TV and Wireless Connectivity
Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(109 reviews) 101
85%93 of 109customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
94 Questions | 93 Answers
Customer reviews for BP530
Review 1 for BP530
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Regina, SK, Canada
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"Junk"
PostedJuly 2, 2015
Pros: garbage
BASICALLY ONLY USEFUL AS A BLUE RAY PLAYER!!!
But what do you expect for the price.
YouTube is barley functional, the player keeps signing you out forcing you to go to the computer and entering a code, similar issues with NetFlix the player constantly drops internet connection whether on WiFi or LAN.
no browser app so you can surf the net from the sofa.
Constantly overheats and freezes up I had to modify an old computer aluminum Heat sink and use good thermal compound to fix the problem. I also had re fix some cold solder joints to many useless per-installed apps you cant get rid of that suck up memory making overall performance slow. All in all spend a little more money and buy something better!!!
LG Should have thought this one out a little better.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Tobyhanna, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superior"
PostedJune 25, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Excellent quality and value. Have adopted LG for all
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BP530
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Kentucky
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Works But Has Poor Remote"
PostedMay 23, 2015
The player seems to work in every mode; however the remote is very poorly designed. The problem is with its power. The remote takes only one AAA battery and must be pointed directly at the unit with nothing in the way to be able to work. I don’t know how many times I’ve pushed a button the same way I push the buttons on my other DVD players, cable box, audio amplifier, VCR, etc. and nothing happens. Then I have to stop, carefully point it directly at the unit and push again.
This is not my first LG Blu-Ray player. I actually have three. The LG 335 has the same small remote, but I use it in a very small space where I am very close to the player. I have found however, that my oldest unit, a BD-670, has a remote that will work with this one without having to be so carefully used. Now I just have to find one.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NYC
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Inexpensive but you get what you pay for."
PostedMarch 18, 2015
Extremely basic model with limited connectivity. Good bang for the buck though.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:PA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Increased my Entertainment options"
PostedFebruary 14, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
I have used my new Smart DVD Blu-Tooth player everyday since I received it. Great product.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wheaton, IL
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great device"
PostedFebruary 7, 2015
This device is great for the price. The only problem I have is trying to figure out how to delete an app after downloading :)
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Dundalk, MD, USA
I've owned this product for:Over a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Everything it was advertised to be. I especially love the fact that I can update its firmware online through the player.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Phoenix, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Tiny but mighty!"
PostedJanuary 14, 2015
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
I've really enjoyed using this machine. It's super-simple to hook-up, and the on-screen interface is extremely easy to navigate.
Picture quality (which includes 1080p up-sampling) is very good.
This machine has wi-fi, and that's easy to set-up as well. We have a DLNA-capable wireless router and we've been able to watch videos and listen to music on our TV via the BP530.
I highly recommend this machine.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fayetteville, NC, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Blu-Ray DVD Player"
PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is a very good Blu-Ray player but it does come with Amazon Prime app, which we wanted. Nor is the app available from the LG download site.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Long Island, New York, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"I like the slim design and the quality"
PostedDecember 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
No complaints.....except...it seems the remote does not always turn the unit on and off even when I make sure it is pointed right at the unit. I've learned to live with it. Nice streaming and I love the slim height of the unit.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Southern Indiana
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Drive hub not holding DVD"
PostedDecember 20, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
DVD drive has a problem keeping disk centered and slipping on the hub. Piece on cover comes apart.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Kansas City, MO, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great 3D blue ray player"
PostedOctober 26, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use
This player and my 60" LG TV make great pictures together.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Denver, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best 3D Blu-ray player out there"
PostedOctober 5, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
No matter the price of more expensive units , this Smart 3D player does the same as the pricey ones. The price was right and I bought the 3D movies with the savings on my purchase. This player made me smart. I will never leave my home 3D system for another. GO LG you ROCK.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Fresno, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great features"
PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this blu ray player because I wanted it to go with my LG TV. It was also a deal I couldn't pass up, great price. I love the features, I can watch new blu ray movies as well as my old DVDs all on the same player. I love that I can also hook it up to the internet and watch Netflix.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jupiter, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Superior performance and adjustable sound quality."
PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Quality look & performance. Terrific sound options. Enjoying features/benefits as we become more familiar w/operation. Seamless integration w/existing TV system...should purchased an LG TV. No issues thus far.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"this product has very good features"
PostedAugust 20, 2014
Pros: Performance
This is my second LG blueray player. I love the brand and features
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Smart Features Add Value to this Excellent Unit"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
I have found this excellent unit to be a great addition to my home entertainment theater. I have over a 1,000 Blu-ray Discs and this player loads fast, remembers the last played chapter and the 3-D is amazing.Due to its Smart features I find myself watching more and more streaming videos. It is also easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jamaica, Queens, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good"
PostedJuly 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
3D Quality, features & value...in one word..it's great. also, easy to use. I like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BP530
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Wisconsin, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Horrible smart blu-ray player"
PostedJuly 10, 2014
All I can say is at least it works some of the time....some blu-ray discs it won't read, it constantly drops internet, and when it is connected it is SLOW!! Looking for a replacement(not LG), extremely disappointed in LG that they'd sell such a poor performing product
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Apache Junction, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome Blu-Ray Player!!!!"
PostedJune 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Have no issues or problems, works great! Love watching 3D movies on this player.
Great value for the price!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 Next>>