LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics BP530

3D-Capable Blu-ray Disc™ Player with Smart TV and Wireless Connectivity
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(484 reviews) 479
91%440 of 484customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
88 Questions | 87 Answers
Customer reviews for BP530
Review 1 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Illinois
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Smart Features Add Value to this Excellent Unit"
PostedJuly 19, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
I have found this excellent unit to be a great addition to my home entertainment theater. I have over a 1,000 Blu-ray Discs and this player loads fast, remembers the last played chapter and the 3-D is amazing.Due to its Smart features I find myself watching more and more streaming videos. It is also easy to use!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Jamaica, Queens, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good"
PostedJuly 16, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
3D Quality, features & value...in one word..it's great. also, easy to use. I like it.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Apache Junction, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome Blu-Ray Player!!!!"
PostedJune 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Have no issues or problems, works great! Love watching 3D movies on this player.
Great value for the price!
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 4 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ohio, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Deal for the price, software updates can be tricky"
PostedJune 8, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I purchased this unit in November 2013 & have had little problem with it UNTIL recent software updates which often cripple the HuluPlus app, all the other apps seem to work normally still (don't know about Netflix, don't use it).
My primary reason for having bought this unit was to not only replace my old failing DVD player, but to also stream my subscription with HuluPlus w/o needing to use a computer. For the prior, it still functions much better than I had anticipated. For the latter, I'd like to either see a software update that fixes the problem or a way to revert/reinstall an older version of the software from prior to the one that caused the problems.
The only support I could find here on the LG.com website about problems with HuluPlus is in regards to streaming issues of content, which doesn't apply since the app won't fully load to even stream the content. The site offers answers to common problems, but seldom address specific issues which require better answers & methods to fix the problems. This is one of those issues that needs to be addressed for when any apps used on LG products fail to load properly.
Contacted HuluPlus about the problem & was informed they are aware of the problem & that they have been receiving multiple complaints from people who own LG devices of problems preventing the HuluPlus app from getting any further than the initial splash screen telling you it's loading (which if left alone can continue for hours). They have been trying to fix the problem but since it only seems to be a problem with LG devices, they can only offer suggestions & possible workarounds (which are still hit or miss). LG really needs to work better with it's industry partners to ensure product compatibility.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:North Attleborough, MA, USA
Would you recommend product? Yes
"An excellent Blu-Ray Player"
PostedMay 30, 2014
Pros: easy to use
This Blu-ray player has the features that I need. It has worked flawlessly for the past 10 months.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bethel, CT, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great little machine"
PostedApril 13, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
The unit is small which is one thing I needed. The features are what I was looking for in a unit with respect to what I wanted to pay. It was ease to set up. You can't ask more of a product. Thank you LG
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great features"
PostedApril 12, 2014
Pros: easy to use
This product was very easy to set up with my converter box, xbox and smart tv. Shows great visually and can access Netflix through it. Can't go wrong with that. 5 stars!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Michigan, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"It's a nice little player"
PostedApril 3, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Quality
It loads much more quickly than the previous player we had. There were some problems when we first got it, though they could have been the result of the cold. LG helped get it straightened out in no time, and now it works well.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Product is OK"
PostedMarch 5, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
Player is easy to use and has good playback of DVDs, Bluray and 3D discs.
It does however have an annoying icon that pops up randomly during disc playback. I have not been able to figure out how to get rid of it. It seems to be related to WiFi. I have not been able to find anything in the support center that would fix this.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for BP530
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Kansas
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Good picture; machine freezes often"
PostedMarch 4, 2014
Pros: Features/Settings
Machine is great when it works. Nice apps, too. However, it completely freezes up with some regularity and requires that I unplug the unit to make it work again, so I can't recommend it. I keep checking for software updates, hoping for some kind of bug fix. None available that I've found. I've not had that problem with my first (and much cheaper) BD player or my DVD players.
-1point
0out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for BP530
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Washington, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"LG-Like Garbage"
PostedFebruary 18, 2014
The bp530 freezes halfway into every movie I watch. The only way to get out of freeze is to start from the beginning. Search the web and you'll see this happens to all of them. LG has lost my business!!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for BP530
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Baltimore, MD
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Unacceptable for using via network"
PostedFebruary 15, 2014
Pros: dlna not working
I bought this model mostly for watching recorded shows on my d-link server connected to my home network. I still have another LG model BP530 which works great. So I needed another one but BP530 is no longer available. After I connected BD530 I realized that it displays me some files I deleted a long time ago. When I tried to play some of the existing files it hangs and the only way to wake it up is to either unplug or click on the eject button. This one goes back to the store.
Did not test internet features because the only feature I need is DLNA
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Maryland, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"product has great features"
PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This product was exactly what I was looking for. I love the size of the player and it makes all of the movies I watch nice and crisp and clear. product is great.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product at a good price"
PostedFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Easy to set up, picture is amazing if ur serious about blu ray and 3D this is the one to have.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Kissimmee, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great value for the money"
PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This was a great deal and has mny more features that I had hoped for.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for BP530
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"works well"
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
works very well my first did not work returned next one worked very well love using it
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great feature and ease of use."
PostedJanuary 1, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have enjoyed using this BluRay player and all of it's features. It was easy to set up. It is easy to use and provides me with a great deal of enjoyment.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great product"
PostedDecember 5, 2013
Pros: Features/Settings
We had to upgrade to a 3d bluray player after purchasing a new TV. We could not be happier with our choice.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for BP530
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Easy to use!"
PostedNovember 9, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
This product is very user friendly. It is very simple, yet has a lot of nice features. I am happy with the product!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for BP530
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"junk"
PostedOctober 23, 2013
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings, Quality, useless
This player is junk I do NOT recommend you buy one apps like Pandora disappear from the menu and no way to get them back. you cannot connect to nas storage drives with media server over a wired network, the wirles network sucks it keeps disconnecting. over all performance is slow and it tends to lock up while in the menus causing you to pull the power plug
+4points
5out of 6found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>