LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

LG Electronics DLEY1201V

7.3 cu. ft. Ultra Large Capacity Dryer with Front Control Design and SteamFresh™ Cycle
Overall rating:
4.859 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(269 reviews) 259
98%263 of 269customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer questions and answers:
23 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for DLEY1201V
Review 1 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:The Colony, TX
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? No
"Steamfresh NOPE!"
PostedJuly 26, 2013
Pros: steamfresh
I purchased both washer and dryer. It looks great washer is awesome. Dryer is very nice!!
The SteamFresh simply is not steamy fresh! Nope, it dries for about 5mins then a spray of watermist sprays your clothes but do not expect to see steam! The repairman (certified) came out and ended up calling the LG main phone to service the unit... they offered no help on the SteamFresh cycle/unit. If you think you are going see steam you won't! You end up with wet spots of water and damp clothes.
** The Colony, TX purchased from Conn's **
+9points
9out of 9found this review helpful.
Review 2 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:martinez ca
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"what an improvement"
PostedMay 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
replaced an aging dryer. this model has worked fine. easy to use. filter clean a breeze. quiet as could be.
very satisfied, would highly recommend
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 3 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Florida, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"AMAZING FILTER SYSTEM"
PostedApril 26, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Quality
We bought this dryer as a duo with the matching washer in February. Yesterday at 6 am my son mentioned that his clothes left overnight in the dryer had not dried. The 'check filter" light was on, so I pulled out the filter, cleaned it and tried to put it back. Something was obstructing so I put my head in to check and there is was: a red and white tail. I got a torch to look and there was a snake in the filter. I had to call a trapper to get him out. it was a non-venomous, 4 ft long, red rat snake. I have it on video!The trapper told me that he could have got out and into the drum, or worse into the house if it had not been for the secure filter which trapped him in. I mean, seriously, what a dryer!! :)
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 4 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:ATL, GA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"SUPER WASHER AND DRYER SET"
PostedJuly 16, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have the matching washer as well and they are a perfect pair. The features on these machines are excellent. My issues with the dryer are that the Steam Fresh feature left the clothes damp and spotty which was not what I had envisioned for this feature.
When the dryer is installed it is a bit deeper than stated in the specs and the semi-rigid duct that was recommended for it was too rigid and needed to be replaced with regular flexible duct in order to fit in the space.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GREAT PURCHASE"
PostedJuly 3, 2013
I had this for a month now and I'm very happy with it. The only con is that the wrinkle free setting made the clothes to be too wet. I thought with that setting I would be able to wear my clothes after it's done. Other than that it is working great.
+3points
3out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 6 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Laconia, NH
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent new-age dryer"
PostedOctober 4, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Bought this lovely dryer along with matching washer. Dryer is all I have ever wanted in a dryer. Great front controls. The machines sit nearby, but not in the kitchen, by matching looking appliances...a cool plus for that stainless look.
Appliance dealer made me aware of something I never knew and must pass along. Never, never use dryer sheets in a dryer with a drying sensor as it will leach chemicals that stick to the drum and sensors, building up over time and forcing your dryer to work harder and take longer to dry. It is, however, simple to remove by soaking a small towel with rubbing alcohol and scrub your sensors and drum. Heard your cloth will look black from this problem, even though the inside never showed such a color.
Happy clothes drying.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 7 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Colorado, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"location of controls is perfect"
PostedAugust 6, 2014
Pros: Style/Design
I am not happy will sensor feature of this dryer. The sensor will override what you select. I select "very dry" and heavy duty every time and my towels are still not completely dry.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 8 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Manton, MI 49663, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"can't hear buzzer"
PostedJuly 31, 2014
I cannot hear the music when the dryer stops and I go in and the clothes aren't dry and now they are all wrinkled. I even had the panel replaced and still can't hear it unless I am in the laundry room. So I have to set the timer on my stove for about the same time as the dryer runs. This is just wrong. They should have volume control.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 9 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Seminole, FL, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Product"
PostedDecember 3, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Features/Settings
Only drawback was that I needed to replace the electrical breakers in the control panel with 30amp breakers instead of 20. It was constantly popping a breaker when drying cycle was on high or medium heat.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 10 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pittsburgh, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Often doesn't dry completely"
PostedOctober 15, 2013
Pros: Style/Design
We've had this dryer, and the matching washer, for about six weeks. It has a good range of cycles (including permanent press, which the washer is somewhat inexplicably missing), huge capacity, and is fairly quiet.
However, the default settings don't seem to actually get clothes dry; almost everything comes out damp. To avoid having to run things through a second, timed-dry cycle, I almost always have to increase the "dry level" setting, sometimes by two steps. It's inconvenient, and kinda defeats the purpose of having an "automatic" dryer.
It would be a four-to-four-and-a-half star machine otherwise, but failing to fully dry loads is a pretty big failing in a dryer.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 11 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Luling, LA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This dryer has great features!!"
PostedJune 3, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Dries quick - reminds you to clean lint filter - which is in front of drum - luv it!!!!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 12 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Oregon
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love controls in the front!"
PostedMay 22, 2015
Love the controls in the front! This dryer has loads of drying options and a huge capacity. I love being able to dry down comforters with room to spare. Two things drive me crazy about it. One is that if the dryer is even 'normally' full, when the door is opened, the clothes spill out. I wish the dryer had a taller lip on the inside drum to keep the clothes contained. I also wish the top wasn't sloped. Leaving a freshly folded stack of clothers on the dryer is a bad idea. I miss using this area as a transit spot for family members to pick up their clothes and put them away. Other than those 2 things, I highly recommend it!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 13 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Clovis, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best dryer ever!"
PostedMay 16, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I love this dryer. So many options and settings. De-wrinkles with steamfresh or other wrinkle settings. Dries fast so uses less energy than other standard dryers. Senses wetness so even if you put it on heavy duty, it stops drying when it senses no moisture. Nice! It's pretty too. My only concern was the top getting scratched so I put a cover on top to keep it nice. It's slanted too so putting stuff on top really isn't a good idea anyway but I have nearly grown sons who don't care what they do to your stuff.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 14 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Vancouver, WA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great dryer"
PostedApril 25, 2015
Pros: Features/Settings
This dryer works great. It has a large capacity and does a great job of drying the clothes. It has all the featues you would want on a dryer. The only thing that is a bit of a problem is the seal around the lint filter collects a little lint and it is not easily removed. But it is a minor inconvience.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 15 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Houston, TX
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"I finally found a dryer that dries!"
PostedOctober 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have been through 3 dryers in the past couple of years in search of one I like -and I found it.
This is a big dryer and it may be over kill for small loads.
The dryer is so quiet, it gets my clothes dry and in a short time. I love the wrinkle free cycle too. We have a lot of heavy towels and it is no problem for this dryer and they come out fluffy too .
I did buy the washer that goes with this dryer - so some of the great performance may be because of the combo.
I have only had this dryer for about 1 month and the first couple of days - i was a skeptic. I kept receiving an alarm that the vent needed cleaning and it did not. My husband checked the line for the exhaust to the outside (which was a long way) and found that it was clogged. We would have never known if our dryer had not of told us. Since we unclogged it , we have not had a problem since.
Love my dryer!
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Athens, GA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Caution if you have well water."
PostedOctober 14, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Features/Settings
We needed to have service on the unit within the first 4 months and all I heard from the technician was how many challenges there are with these newer style washer with well water and pressure. Evidently the inlet valves are sensitive, require a minimum water pressure and it is recommended that you install a water line filter. The unit was repaired has been working with no issues for the past 30 days.
We love the features. Having a clear cover to the washer is a big feature that we love. I do wish the soap dispenser design was a little easier to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 17 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Louisville, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product takes the worry out of drying."
PostedOctober 9, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
So much better than any machine we've ever had. Actually gives you a certain sense of security due to it's moisture monitoring, running only until your clothes are dry. No guessing. No running to check if everything is dry, or having to run it a little longer. Also having the vent pressure monitor adds to the feel of a safe and reliable appliance.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:CA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Large Capacity, beautiful looking..."
PostedMay 3, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
I know this is an energy saving dryer... but somehow I still expected the clothes to dry FASTER.
I also wish that I could lock in my most preferred settings (most used) and just turn it on... Same issue I have with the washer.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 19 for DLEY1201V
This review is fromDLEY1201W.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Love it"
PostedMarch 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We bought both the washer and dryer They both are GREAT !!! The dryer drys fast and I love it, easy to use.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 20 for DLEY1201V
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Gibsonburg, OH 43431, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent Dryer!"
PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This is an excellent choice for a dryer! My old dryer took almost 2 hours to dry a load of towels. This dryer takes less than one hour, and the load is larger! I love having so many drying cycle selections to choose from.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 13 Next>>