LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics.

LG Electronics 50LA6970

50" Class Cinema 3D 1080P 120Hz LED TV with Smart TV (49.5" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.58 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 49
94%47 of 50customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 50LA6970
Review 1 for 50LA6970
This review is from55LA6970.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anaheim, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great all around tv."
PostedJuly 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Everything on this tv is great. I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about it. The Magic Remote takes some getting used to, but once you get it down it works just as well as a regular remote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bronx, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love all the features"
PostedMay 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
I brought the TV refurbished and there was a couple of issues but LG was great when it came to customer service, timely response to issues, and great service technicians who fixed the problem. All done with out a dime out of my pocket. The TV is LED, 3D, and WiFi ready. There are apps preloaded which makes it easy to access apps I use daily. All of the settings and controls are user friendly. I will buy more products from LG. Very impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50LA6970
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"The picture is great. The magic remote is awful."
PostedApril 16, 2014
Pros: picture
Good picture, but the magic remote is one of the worst features ever. I finally order a regular remote which they made me pay for (very bad customer service), but now I am happy with the features and function. The sound is very difficult to set correctly and the is no easy way to get it correct. On Fios the foley work is loud and clear, but the actors can't be heard. After a couple of hours I found non-automatic settings and now it is fine. An LG product should not be this difficult to get right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Features! But The Magic Remote Is A Bit Slow"
PostedMarch 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings
OK so i understand that this product has something called a "Magic Remote" Right? When I am using said product and i go to select the inputs list I run into a few problems: A) When i hit home I have to hit home multiple times to get the screen to go to the home page.B) When i go to my...Hot bar lets say I have to click on the button labeled inputs list multiple times, A effect of bad sensors. Also when I go to hit the inputs list sometime the sensitivity makes it so that I start dragging the button instead of just clicking on it. Setting aside the sensitively problem this is a great TV! 3-D, Internet, Netflix, all the goods. To the average Joe I would recommend this TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Escondido, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best Value 3D Smart TV on the Market"
PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After many weeks of researching 3D Smart TV's I made the decision to purchase the LG 50LA6970. After owning and using for a few weeks I know I made the right choice. The video quality is the best I've seen in 3D, HD and SD. The 2D to 3D even looks excellent. Has almost every connection you need (WiFi, LAN, WiFi Direct, Miracast. HDMI, USB, Component and even Composite) I just wish it had an analog audio output as well but no big deal. The 3 Speaker (2.1) System is another reason this TV stands out. The Sound quality is excellent and has many settings to get the sound just right including an equalizer. I've had no problems with WiFi and I can watch movies from my PC without any problems. If you are still trying to decide on 3D Smart TV then I highly recommend the LG 50LA6970.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Diego, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"excellent product. we are really enjoying it."
PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We needed a TV for our backyard bar. We are really enjoying all the great features that this set offers. We definitely would recommend this set to someone else. Great job LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Omaha, NE, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Outstanding TV!"
PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love the picture and the features. I can't say enough good things about this TV, love the remote and ll of the features.
I highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Hutto, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best 3D TV"
PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: all of the above
This is the best 3D TV I have seen. The price is great and the features are spectacular. Easy to operate. Love it and would buy again! You have it all, great picture, great features and great price. Nothing more to be said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Buena Park, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best 3D HDTV"
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Iv'e had this for over a month, Christmas present, love the picture so much brighter and more color that my old LCD, have it connected to Home Theater works great with it. 3D is great, love how the glasses from the theater works with this Tv. LG is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pinckney, MI 48169, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Outstanding picture !"
PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have nothing but great things to say about this tv. Set up was a breeze, picture is awesome, Very easy to navigate smart tv. I would highly recommend this set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50LA6970
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Austin, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? No
"Great TV with one MAJOR flaw"
PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
Like jgibson521 said .. My TV also has a large White cloud like patch whenever the screen turns black or during dark scenes on anything thats playing on it.. It is very very annoying. I got my TV from sams club.. thought it was a defective TV replaced it the next day. Turns out the replaced TV also has the same issue.
Youtube app freezes quite often and I have to restart the TV but thats no big deal.
I am a avid movie watcher, gamer and tech guy. I am not happy.
The only reason I would not recommend this TV and gave few stars on quality and value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Grand Junction, CO, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Customer Service
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This TV is the Best of the Best Excellent Picture"
PostedDecember 24, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This TV does everything it is totaly Amazing. It does every thing for you. Would definately buy again
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mishawaka, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Black out screen with sound"
PostedDecember 24, 2013
Have had it for 2 months and the screen went black and I do have sound. I see a several people have had the same problem with it and if anyone knows what to do please let me know. I have a service person coming out on Dec 26th that LG sending out and I will update.
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50LA6970
Overall 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Black Screem"
PostedDecember 8, 2013
Pros: Style/Design
purchased a LG 50LA6970 5 weeks ago, all was good unitl a week ago, while watching the TV the picture will go black. still have audio but no picture or menu. Turn set off and back on and sometimes the picture returns, might have picture for an hour or just 5 minutes before it goes black again. I see others have had this problem occur, what is the fix?
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Texas, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This TV exceeded my expectations"
PostedDecember 7, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I was looking for a 3D TV in the 50-60" size range. I looked at a lot of brands. The LG 3D TV fit my needs best. I prefer the passive 3D and I like the LG Smart TV features. I like the LG remote controller.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50LA6970
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bellevue, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? No
"Horrible software experience"
PostedNovember 27, 2013
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
The tv was working great for 4 weeks, until a software update was available. After the software update, I only get audio but no video or access to menu... The screen went black
0points
1out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Richmond, KY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Just Awsome"
PostedNovember 20, 2013
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I bought this tv mainly to watch hockey in HD. If I used a humidifier while watching a hockey game it would almost seem like being there.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50LA6970
This review is from55LA6970.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Antelope, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? Yes
"GREAT 3D performance, great picture quality"
PostedJanuary 2, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings
I wasn't even in the market for a new television but when my parents replaced their old picture tube tv with a new LG SmartTV I was so impressed that I had to purchase one of my own.
The picture quality is absolutely first rate, could not be happier with the way this set looks on HD movies and tv broadcasts. Here's some of my impressions of the tv:
GREAT picture quality - and TONS of available picture adjustments to fine tune to your heart's content.
The tv itself is very attractive looking - a thin black bezel around the outside, with a 'futuristically modern' stand/mount that supports it. Nice little touch with the light up "LG" logo that lights up upon turning the set on.
A nice range of apps included in the Smart section of the tv - Netflix, Hulu Plus, Pandora and a whole bunch of others. The included Wi-Fi makes it easy to connect to all of these apps and more. I'm particularly fond of Pandora music and I use that app almost as much as watching the tv itself.
3D performance on this tv is nothing short of spectacular, and really the one feature that sold me on this particular model. It's awesome. Included glasses are light-weight and pretty comfortable.
My lone criticism on this tv is the included remote - it's a rather simple remote with relatively few buttons for a tv with so many features. I think a bit could be done to simplify the process of getting to some of the controls that I seem to use the most. I seem to have to go a bit deep into some of the menus to make adjustments or to find that favorite app of mine to use. Sometimes it's several button presses, then a swipe of the remote or an additional scroll of the mouse-like cursor to find what I'm after. I think LG was going after a simple design of the remote but I'd prefer a few more buttons for some of the more common menus/controls.
+2points
2out of 2found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Peoria, AZ, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"great TV for the value"
PostedNovember 17, 2013
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
This LG has been a great improvement to our entertainment with the smart wand and the 3-D
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50LA6970
This review is from55LA6970.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:West Bend, WI, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This is a great tv."
PostedDecember 31, 2013
Pros: easy to use, Quality
This is the second 3D TV that I have bought. The 3D images are far better than the other brand that I have. It's nice not to have to worry about batteries for the glasses also. It also has all the apps that I could ever think of using. Most of these apps I would turn on my xbox for now I can use just the TV. Great TV for the price, and I would highly recommend it and will definitely buy this brand again.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 Next>>