LG Electronics Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at LG Electronics.

LG Electronics 50LA6970

50" Class Cinema 3D 1080P 120Hz LED TV with Smart TV (49.5" diagonally)
Overall rating:
4.568 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(74 reviews) 71
93%69 of 74customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer reviews for 50LA6970
Review 1 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Western Michigan
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Exceptional 3d HDTV!"
PostedMarch 12, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, Features/Settings, Quality
The LG HDTV is great, the quality is very good and the picture is great. I love the Smart TV features and the 3d capability is just like going to a movie theatre. The 2d to 3d conversion is very good as well. The customer service is quick and helpful and solved my installation problem quickly and pleasantly. I recommend this TV!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 2 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Francisco
I've owned this product for:About a year
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent in every respect"
PostedJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Not only a great tv but superlative service. I called with installation issues, reached the right person promptly, a knowledgeable support person who quickly provided me a solution to my problem. Handsome set with great picture and "smart" features.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 3 for 50LA6970
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anywhere Learning, Miramar Beach, FL 32550, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Recommendation
Would you recommend product? No
"Horrible! Stay away."
PostedAugust 30, 2014
Pros: horrible remote/tv, slow processing, not smart tv
I made the mistake of buying this from Costco since it looked good. I then went away for 4 months....came back and couldn't return to Costco (only 90 days policy). Stuck with TV now.....
Problems:
TV "magic" remote is nothing but trouble....the only magic is that sometimes it works....and then you say to yourself...wow....it's Magic.....
Processing speed for "Smart" features is like using a PC from 1995....wait....wait....wait....is the only thing you do. I can't even stream a low quality video from youtube. Absolutely HORRIBLE.
I'm waiting for any excuse to get rid of this TV at the soonest possible opportunity. Maybe for a new 4K...not LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 4 for 50LA6970
Overall 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:NC
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"Smart remote best thing about lg"
PostedAugust 20, 2014
Pros: Style/Design
Lg tv 50LA6970 is a BIg piece of Junk i had to have the tv repaired 3 time before they would think about taking the tv back.. They got the tv and it took 3 week to get my money sent to me... Very bad business LG for a Junk TV will never buy one again .. First an last
-1point
1out of 3found this review helpful.
Review 5 for 50LA6970
This review is from55LA6970.
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Anaheim, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great all around tv."
PostedJuly 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Everything on this tv is great. I honestly can't think of anything negative to say about it. The Magic Remote takes some getting used to, but once you get it down it works just as well as a regular remote.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 6 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bronx, NY, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"love all the features"
PostedMay 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, easy to use, Features/Settings
I brought the TV refurbished and there was a couple of issues but LG was great when it came to customer service, timely response to issues, and great service technicians who fixed the problem. All done with out a dime out of my pocket. The TV is LED, 3D, and WiFi ready. There are apps preloaded which makes it easy to access apps I use daily. All of the settings and controls are user friendly. I will buy more products from LG. Very impressed.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 7 for 50LA6970
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Los Angeles, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? No
"The picture is great. The magic remote is awful."
PostedApril 16, 2014
Pros: picture
Good picture, but the magic remote is one of the worst features ever. I finally order a regular remote which they made me pay for (very bad customer service), but now I am happy with the features and function. The sound is very difficult to set correctly and the is no easy way to get it correct. On Fios the foley work is loud and clear, but the actors can't be heard. After a couple of hours I found non-automatic settings and now it is fine. An LG product should not be this difficult to get right.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 8 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Great Features! But The Magic Remote Is A Bit Slow"
PostedMarch 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Features/Settings
OK so i understand that this product has something called a "Magic Remote" Right? When I am using said product and i go to select the inputs list I run into a few problems: A) When i hit home I have to hit home multiple times to get the screen to go to the home page.B) When i go to my...Hot bar lets say I have to click on the button labeled inputs list multiple times, A effect of bad sensors. Also when I go to hit the inputs list sometime the sensitivity makes it so that I start dragging the button instead of just clicking on it. Setting aside the sensitively problem this is a great TV! 3-D, Internet, Netflix, all the goods. To the average Joe I would recommend this TV.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 9 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Morgantown, WV, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"This product has great features"
PostedMarch 12, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Quality
I love my 50" Class Cinema 3D 1080P 120Hz LED TV with Smart TV has great features. The picture and sound quality is perfect.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 10 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Escondido, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best Value 3D Smart TV on the Market"
PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
After many weeks of researching 3D Smart TV's I made the decision to purchase the LG 50LA6970. After owning and using for a few weeks I know I made the right choice. The video quality is the best I've seen in 3D, HD and SD. The 2D to 3D even looks excellent. Has almost every connection you need (WiFi, LAN, WiFi Direct, Miracast. HDMI, USB, Component and even Composite) I just wish it had an analog audio output as well but no big deal. The 3 Speaker (2.1) System is another reason this TV stands out. The Sound quality is excellent and has many settings to get the sound just right including an equalizer. I've had no problems with WiFi and I can watch movies from my PC without any problems. If you are still trying to decide on 3D Smart TV then I highly recommend the LG 50LA6970.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 11 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:San Diego, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"excellent product. we are really enjoying it."
PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
We needed a TV for our backyard bar. We are really enjoying all the great features that this set offers. We definitely would recommend this set to someone else. Great job LG.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 12 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Omaha, NE, USA
I've owned this product for:Several months
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Outstanding TV!"
PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Love the picture and the features. I can't say enough good things about this TV, love the remote and ll of the features.
I highly recommend it!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 13 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Hutto, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best 3D TV"
PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Pros: all of the above
This is the best 3D TV I have seen. The price is great and the features are spectacular. Easy to operate. Love it and would buy again! You have it all, great picture, great features and great price. Nothing more to be said.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 14 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Mansfield, OH, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Absolutely wonderful!"
PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I am amazed that upgrading to this TV was so effortless. This TV cost less than the original price of the TV it replaced. The picture is clear and crisp. The 3D effects are phenomenal. Sound is great. Word of advice to future owners of smart TVs; keep your wireless home network passwords shorter than a three words. I am so pleased with the performance of this TV, and still amazed at the value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 15 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Buena Park, CA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few days
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Best 3D HDTV"
PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Iv'e had this for over a month, Christmas present, love the picture so much brighter and more color that my old LCD, have it connected to Home Theater works great with it. 3D is great, love how the glasses from the theater works with this Tv. LG is great.
+1point
1out of 1found this review helpful.
Review 16 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Pinckney, MI 48169, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Online Research
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Outstanding picture !"
PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have nothing but great things to say about this tv. Set up was a breeze, picture is awesome, Very easy to navigate smart tv. I would highly recommend this set.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 17 for 50LA6970
Overall 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Bloomington, IN, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Product Quality
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Awesome Smart TV"
PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Pros: Performance, Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
Beautiful TV with great features and soooo easy to use. TV sets itself up just like a computer right out of the box. I have Direct TV and it even automatically recognizes the remote. I can use any remote on the TV or Box. This TV is awesome! I am online instantly! It is so fast and the picture is awesome! Thanks for a fabulous product! Very much worth the money! Very satisfied. Would recommend!
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 18 for 50LA6970
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Good picture."
PostedJanuary 15, 2014
We are very pleased with this tv. The only problem is that we do not know exactly what each feature does or how to properly set each feature. The user guide is not very good. LG needs to supply a booklet with each tv that goes into details and functionality.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 19 for 50LA6970
This review is from55LA6970.
Overall 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Ambler, PA, USA
I've owned this product for:A few months
Primary reason I chose LG:Price
Would you recommend product? Yes
"Excellent TV"
PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use, Features/Settings, Quality
I have been owning this tv for 6 months, so far the experience has been superb in terms of performance, learning curve and picture quality. Magic remote needs more improvement and has to be more sturdy in terms of in hand feeling.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
Review 20 for 50LA6970
Overall 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
User Name: 
From:Austin, TX, USA
I've owned this product for:A few weeks
Would you recommend product? No
"Great TV with one MAJOR flaw"
PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: Style/Design, easy to use
Like jgibson521 said .. My TV also has a large White cloud like patch whenever the screen turns black or during dark scenes on anything thats playing on it.. It is very very annoying. I got my TV from sams club.. thought it was a defective TV replaced it the next day. Turns out the replaced TV also has the same issue.
Youtube app freezes quite often and I have to restart the TV but thats no big deal.
I am a avid movie watcher, gamer and tech guy. I am not happy.
The only reason I would not recommend this TV and gave few stars on quality and value.
0points
0out of 0found this review helpful.
1 2 3 4 Next>>